We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Hill Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lavender Hill Guest House to your Saves list
Lavender Hill Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   22 Wilson Street, | Hunters Home, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 102 Knysna B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

For 5 years my partner and I have been coming here to rest and recuperate after a hard year and always find that we leave refreshed and recuperated with energy for the next year, quiet and peaceful central to all that we need with very friendly hosts who make you feel very welcome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
21
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Rented the self catering unit, and was clean, well maintained, had everything we needed, and was very central to most of the sites we visited in and around knysna. Our hosts were charming and pleasant. It was overall an awesome experience! Highly recomendable!

Room Tip: If self catering is one of your choices, then this is the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Lavender hill guest house is perfectly situated. Close to the beach and all view points. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in the self-catering apartment. It was small but comfortable. The apartment is adequate with the basic amenities and kitchen equipment present. However our fridge was not working. The owners arranged very quickly to have it fixed however it should have been checked prior to our arrival. The other problem was the lack of couches in the tv room. There were chairs in the tv room but u could not really relax or chill out on them. Lavender hill is worthwhile if u just want a place to sleep. There is no pool so u'd have to go to the beach to swim. For the price it was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great place to stay! Each morning the breakfast was excellent and the host and hostess, Cecil and Edith, were always cheerful and helpful. We stayed with our 12 year old son in the family suite and had all the comforts of home. The view of the lagoon from the private balcony was great. The location is close to all the beautiful sights and any shopping you want to do. We stayed 10 days and so the in house laundry service was greatly appreciated. It was prompt, reasonable and well done. We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Family Suite is quiet, and well appointed. The kitchen has everything you could need. The two bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilson002, Owner at Lavender Hill Guest House, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you Barbs for staying at Lavender Hill, Cecil and I enjoyed having your group and the wonderful energy you brought into our guest house. We look forward to having you again in the near future. A little bird told me it may be next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a wonderful stay @ Lavender Hill. Cecil and Edith were warm, kind and gracious hosts! Excellent Breakfast, beautiful and clean rooms, incredible views. An additional welcomed perk was their laundry service which was prompt and very reasonable. I look forward to a return stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilson002, Owner at Lavender Hill Guest House, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Pastor Lane
Thank you for the lovely review. Cecil and I enjoyed your stay in our guest house. Its not often that we have a group of 7 young men staying at Lavender Hill + doing the wonderful work you did in the township. May your group go from strength to strength.
God bless you all. Edith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great stay! Edith and Cecil are wonderful! Perfect place in a perfect city. Recommend highly. The room was comfortable - always clean. The breakfast was excellent. Was with a group of 10 and they took good care of us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great B&B with warm, friendly and hospitable hosts, Cecil and Edith. The rooms are clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Excellent location, lovely views and easily accessible. Breakfast is delicious and very accommodating. Don't hesitate you book, you'll miss out if you don't. It comes highly recommended

Room Tip: The front room is lovely and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Hill Guest House

Address: 22 Wilson Street, | Hunters Home, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lavender Hill Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying an excellent location in Knysna, close to the Knysna Heads & Leisure Isle for safe swimming and lovely walks , our 3 star guest house provides a wonderful destination guaranteed to deliver a memorable stay at competitive prices, and not forgetting 2 golf courses. Lavender Hill offers 2 Double rooms and 1 twin room upstairs each with a private balcony plus 1 Double room & 1 Twin room downstairs which lead onto a large deck overlooking our garden, abounding with a myriad of bird life for our guests to enjoy. All our rooms are equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, a bar fridge, heaters and fans. All rooms have flat screen tv's with dstv. A full English breakfast is served in our dining room or on the deck weather permitting. A two bedroom self catering apartment is available for a family of four or 2 couples travelling together. This large unit has a fully equipped kitchen with open plan lounge, with tv + dstv. In the comfort of Lavender Hill you are assured of warm personal service where you can enjoy your stay in our beautiful town.Braai's (barbeques) offered to guests staying longer than 2 days, please give tell us 24 hours in advance. Price on application.The property has secure off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lavender Hill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Hill Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.