We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much of a tour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oyster Tour

Oyster Tour
Quay Four Restaurant | Thesen Island, Knysna 6570, South Africa
+27 82 892 0469
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Transportation in Knysna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Knysna Charters offers hourly lagoon cruises to the famous Knysna Heads, as well as a spectacular Sunset Cruise and Oyster Tour. Indoor Oyster demonstrations are also available. We also have kayaks available for hourly rental.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not much of a tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We went out for the sunset tour and while it was nice to be on a boat for a bit, we didn't really get much else out of it. We didn't learn anything at all about oysters or the oyster business in South Africa. Based on our experience, this definitely wasn't worth the money for a few oysters and a glass of wine on a boat.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plett, Owner at Oyster Tour, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hi there,

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your sunset cruise with us. It may also be a case of cross-communication. Although our TripAdvisor activity is listed as the Oyster Tour (something we are trying to work out), the cruise you joined us on was the Sunset Cruise, which is not the same activity as the Oyster Tour. We do serve complimentary wine and oysters on the Sunset Cruise, but we don't do the oyster demonstration and educational on the Sunset Cruise.

We do feel that our Sunset Cruise is extremely well-priced ... R370 ($35 currently) per adult for a 90 minute cruise, inclusive of wine and oysters, is hard to beat elsewhere, worldwide. We did a quick comparative study, and found that similar cruises world-wide generally started from $48 per person.

We hope you'd consider joining us on an Oyster Tour next time you find yourself back in Knysna.

Safe Travels,
Knysna Charters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    12
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must Do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Our sunset cruise around the lagoon in Knysna was one we will remember forever.

The family that run this are simply gorgeous and were very knowledgable about the area and what we were looking at.

The oysters and the wine they provided were delicious and the whole experience was relaxing and enjoying.

You have to see Knysna from this view point - simply stunning

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plett, Owner at Oyster Tour, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your positive feedback!

It was a pleasure to be able to share our little piece of paradise with you, and we trust that you enjoyed your holiday in Sunny SA. Hope to see you back again in the future!

Wishing you happy and safe travels,
Knysna Charters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We did the sunset cruise on a beautiful day. It was very relaxing with wine and oysters provided to ensure it was so. The family who run the cruise were very hospitable and ensured that we were well looked after.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plett, Owner at Oyster Tour, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your positive feedback!

It was our pleasure to be able to share a little piece of Knysna paradise with you, and we trust that you enjoyed your holiday in Sunny South Africa. Hope to see you back again in the future!

Wishing you happy and safe travels,
Knysna Charters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My wife and I did the sunset cruise and it was beautiful. The fresh oysters and wine were fantastic and the little fun facts we found very entertaining. I wouldn't recommend this for children but something romantic for couples, definitely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plett, Owner at Oyster Tour, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your positive feedback!

It was our pleasure to be able to share a little piece of Knysna paradise with you, and we trust that you enjoyed your holiday in Sunny South Africa. Hope to see you back again in the future!

Wishing you happy and safe travels,
Knysna Charters Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great informative tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Thanks Steven it was very interesting and informative great fun as well !! Very friendly and great knowledge of the local area

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oyster Tour also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Oyster Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oyster Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.