We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Rex Hotel to your Saves list
The Rex Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 Gray Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Kroonstad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I overnighted at the hotel and were disappointed in the service and staff friendly ness. The rooms are very nice and modern but as for the quality of stay I would not recommend it. We had to take our own bags to the room on arrival, the kettle did not work, the shower was blocked and when we were leaving I called for a porter to assist us but after waiting 20 minutes we took our own bags. Not what you expect from a 4 star hotel.

I don't recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Nick M,

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. Your review of our hotel is of great concern to me and I am really sorry that you left us with this impression of our service and facilities. Your experience is certainly not the norm for us and I can assure you that the issues you mentioned will be addressed.

While it is difficult to try to make amends after the fact, I do hope that you will consider staying with us again, as we would like to prove that we are just as good as the rest of the unique “Knysna” experience.

Regards,
Masuda Mohamed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    72
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
51
90
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Really glad we chose this hotel, was great value for money. We opened the door to a beautiful lounge area, with a very modern kitchen and big dining table. The bedroom had a safe, and huge wardrobe, and to the side in a tiled are was a stand alone bath, and next door to this the bathroom and wet room. Breakfast was nice, and staff were helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Ilovemarmaris08,

Thank you for writing a review. I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Masuda Mohamed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. Bathroom, room and lounge are modern with latest amenities. Very comfortable night sleep after tiring day. Only thing din't like about them were their breakfast and lack of room service for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Ms Choudhary,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Guest comments help us to improve and uphold standards, and I will certainly use your comments on the restaurant for this purpose.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Loved this little gem of a place. Lovely decor. Spacious. More than what's required. Lovely little touches, welcome card, chocolates and turn down in the evening. Close to waterfront. Breakfast was amazing. Staff friendly. Def go back. Pity no pool. Kitchen window needs a curtain as the light shines into the room brightly all night. Loved our stay

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi Cindy T,

Many thanks for your comments and the great feedback. We will most certainly continue to keep up our standards. I have forwarded your comments on the pool and the kitchen light to our owners for consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Knysna.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at The Rex for 2 nights; it is a small timeshare hotel. We nearly gasped at the beautiful "apartment size" rooms that included a living room, kitchen, bedroom and bathtub AND shower. Everything was meticulously clean and shiny and tastefully decorated. We even had an outside deck! On the downside, the bedroom was small, but that would be my only negative. Amenities included hairdryer, in-room safe, flat screen TV in the living room, and robes - hanging in the closet waiting for you. There aren't any internet stations, but you could use the "front desk" internet if needed. We ate breakfast in their restaurant and the food was great. Service was a little slow, but they were very busy. Great coffee! The hotel is just about a block from the waterfront; take the time and go there to visit the shoppes and restaurants with great food. While you're in Knysna, don't miss going to the Featherbed Nature Reserve. Walk down the trail from the top of the mountain and see the sea caves - amazing!!! I definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I understand from other travelers that some of the rooms are smaller than what we stayed in. Guess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Hilthd2000,

We would like to thank you for visiting us as well as sharing your lovely experience on Trip Advisor. We hope that you visit Knysna again in the not too distant future, as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to The Rex Hotel.

Regards,
Masuda Mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed only 1 night in one of the 2-bedroom, 2-bathroom apartments and wish we could have stayed longer. The décor was clean, simple, and elegant, and bedrooms and bathrooms well-appointed. The bed and linens were very luxurious and comfortable! Based on other reviews on this site, it appears we definitely got one of the much nicer rooms. Breakfast was also quite good, served in the café downstairs of the hotel. Location was perfect, as one block walk from the waterfront and near several shops and cafes.

Room Tip: we had a 2-bedroom apartment which seems to be one of the more luxurious rooms at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Sarah o,

Many thanks for your feedback and recommendations on Tripadvisor. We strive for guest comfort and a good night’s sleep, and I am glad we achieved this for you.

Our hotel is indeed situated most conveniently from the Waterfront. We hope you will visit us again on your travels through the special place that Knysna is.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Firstly, I need to point out that there are a number of comments about the room sizes at the Rex and ours was on the small side. However, we were only staying for one night and as such didn't really care. It would appear that there are basic small rooms and suites available, if staying for a while I'd recommend getting a larger room.

Overall, the Rex was clean and comfortable, we certainly had a good nights sleep although he air conditioning was a bit freaky and made quite a bit of noise. Bathroom was small and only had a shower and we didn't seem to have any provided toiletries (lucky we had our own)

It does have it's own car park, which is a big plus in the area and feels secure as well. The lift to get to it can be quirky and I'd recommend stairs as a safe option. Despite the desk clerk insisting on showing us a key card worked (pretty obvious) they didn't always and it took several attempts to get one that did on the morning of our departure.

Breakfast was great and plentiful, with the weather being hot it was nice to sit outside and enjoy the morning sunshine. I would imagine it to be more of a challenge in the winter but still a great atmosphere overall.

Overall the Rex has the potential to be a great boutique hotel, but it's let down by just a few finishing touches like noisy air con and no toiletries etc. Almost a great stay but in the end average. But if you're looking for a one night stopover in the area, it would suit fine.

Room Tip: It's OK but not spectacular. If staying for a longer period get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masuda M, General Manager at The Rex Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Stuart_Goble,

Thank you for your review on trip advisor and we value your comments.

My sincere apologies for the noise of the air conditioner and the lack of toiletries. While I can’t remedy this for you after the fact, I can assure you that I have taken it up with the relevant departments.

As for The Rex Hotel, I can assure you that we will try our best and work hard towards being the best boutique hotel in Knysna. Your feedback certainly helps us with this.

Yours Sincerely,
Masuda Mohamed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rex Hotel

Address: 8 Gray Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Knysna’s most elegant and sophisticated accommodation offerings, The Rex Hotel promises its guests superior service and exceptional comfort. Located on the World Famous Garden Route, The Rex Hotel is one of the most exhilarating getaways in its class. Capturing the essence of four-star luxury, the impeccably appointed Rex Hotel offers travelers a gateway to world-class restaurants, blossoming forests and the shores of the serene lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rex Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.