We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS STAY WITH AN ECLECTIC COLLECTION OF MOST INTERESTHING IN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo the Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bamboo the Guesthouse to your Saves list
Bamboo the Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No 9 Bolton Street | Hunter's Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 102 Knysna B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“FABULOUS STAY WITH AN ECLECTIC COLLECTION OF MOST INTERESTHING IN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were a party of 3 and chose to stay at Bamboo Guesthouse and a wise choice that was. If you are looking for the unusual combined with good service then Bamboo Guesthouse is your stopover. Rooms were nicely sized and most comfortable, the hot and cold of the shower took a bit of controlling but added to the adventure. Spend time walking around and take in the most unusual things that are everywhere. They are for sale, which was most costly for me. Jaynie and Gordon great hosts and are a mine of information of what to do and where to go. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will undoubtedly be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review, and for purchasing our artwork!! It has been fun shopping for replacements and we know your lovely home is the perfect home for the great pieces your wife cleverly picked out!!!
Warm regards from the Bamboo Family
Jaynie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    68
    5
    8
    4
See reviews for
79
173
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a great stay here for two nights. It is an unusual and quirky hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Many thanks to Amber for all her help with various things and Gordon for finding some good onward accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hello Mel and Terry, great to get feedback from you, thank you so much to taking time to post your review. We hope you are bearing up with the cold snap what clings to your home!
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future
Warm regards from the whole Bamboo Family
Jaynie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, AK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at the Bamboo on our recent visit to Knysna and really enjoyed it! What made this place so special for us was the owners Jaynie and Gordan, and the staff...everyone was so friendly, helpful and kind. If your looking for a place to stay where you instantly feel like family this is the place! We also were lucky enough to enjoy an awesome meal cooked by Gordan, which gave us the opportunity to sit and talk to other guests by the braii. Thank you Bamboo for an awesome stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thanks Aimee and Justin for taking time out to review Bamboo on Trip Advisor, we appreciate and depend on feedback! Our braais are a wonderful way to chat to all our guests and exchange wonderful stories!
Would love to welcome you both back some time soon
Warm regards from the whole Bamboo team
Jaynie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Bamboo offers rooms in buildings grouped around a sub-tropical 'jungle' garden of bamboos and other plants. We enjoyed this different type of surroundings. The room was comfortable and well appointed, the breakfast was excellent and the staff very helpful. The location was convenient for the centre of Knysna and close to birdwatching areas around the lagoon. We hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you Elizabeth for your positive review, feedback is very important to us! We loved meeting you and Charles and hope to welcome you back to Bamboo in the future!
Warm regards from the whole Bamboo team
Jaynie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witbank, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

On our way to Mosselbay we decided to stay over in Knysna and had to look for accommodation at the last minute.

We were a bit skeptic to book in at a place we found over the internet the afternoon we wanted to book in, but everybody was so friendly and helpful.

When we got there we could not believe that this magical place was situated between other houses, it felt like we were surrounded by nothing, it was so relaxing and beautiful. We even got engaged on the porch, I guess the time and place was just perfect.

I would truly recommend the place to anybody and we are sure to head back when in Knysna :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We love feedback and your has that something a little extra special - congratulations once more on your engagement .... We look forward to welcoming you back as Mr and Mrs!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Highly recommended to anyone who wants a break in a fun, quirky, friendly place. Felt like a home from home. The decor is beautiful, like walking into a little peace of the jungle with your own houses

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks Peter, for the 5 star review! Loved having you Laura and Neve with us in February and hope to welcome you all back here again! All the very best for 2013, greeting from all the bamboo team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a great time at this eclectic little gem of a place. If you are looking for something formal and buttoned-up this might not be the best guesthouse for you. It is hand crafted and with tumbling gardens and walkways filled with all kinds of little treasures scattered around (flowers growing in a bathtub, repurposed plastic bottle bird feeder). Everyday we had great conversations with both the family in residence and other travelers who were passing through.
The staff extended themselves to us to make sure we were oriented in the area and had great activities to do in the surrounding area and even took the time to make some recommendations for later on in our road trip.
Our room had everything you need to be comfortable and was nicely curated with real african folk art and contemporary pieces too. There was a good and safe place to park, and accessible bar at all hours, and a wonderful breakfast everyday.
We felt like we had tons of privacy in our cabin and then when we wanted to socialize we could just wander right down to the bar lodge and see who was around...never a boring conversation to be found.
If you love to meet new friends, hang out with a real family, and be in a space that was crafted by hand and with love then this is for you.
And if you are really lucky you will get a hug upon check-out;)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks Rachel, what a great post on TripAdvisor! We thoroughly enjoyed you and Ben - hope you will both come back in the not to distant future! Love from the whole bamboo crew to you both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bamboo the Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo the Guesthouse

Address: No 9 Bolton Street | Hunter's Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo the Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique accommodation on the Garden Route, minutes from Knysna town centre, Bamboo Guest House offers a magical B&B experience in garden cottage rooms and courtyard suites, all in the tranquility of a tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bamboo the Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo the Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.