We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guesthouse!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo the Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Bamboo the Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bamboo the Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   No 9 Bolton Street | Hunter's Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 99 Knysna B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Guesthouse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Bamboo and we were made to feel very welcome by Jaynie, Gordon, Granny and Amber. They were always happy to help organise activities and to recommend good restaurants to visit. The Bamboo breakfast is excellent with good coffee, fresh fruit, home made muesli and hot food from an extensive menu which includes the usual hot breakfast dishes as well as pancakes, french toast and eggs benedict. Delicious! We stayed for 12 nights in the honeymoon loft suite which comprises a large bedroom and separate private lounge/kitchen area with sofa, dining table, sink, microwave, gas hob and fridge. The room is on the first floor with a balcony that overlooks the jungle garden and walkways between the other rooms of Bamboo. We had plenty of space to relax and enjoy the tranquility of the guesthouse. Bamboo is also well positioned to visit the Heads and is a short drive to the centre of town. We have no hesitation in recommending Bamboo to anyone who wants a relaxing stay in Knysna and we will definitely stay at Bamboo when we are next over from the UK. Thank you! Dan & Gretchen

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thanks Gretchen for your wonderful post on TripAdvisor! Appreciate your kind words and will remember the four of you as the most perfect guests! It was pure pleasure having you stay with us for so long and always remember you with a huge smile. We look forward to the next "honeymoon"!!
The very best of everything you all hope for in 2013 from all of us... Granny sends love!
Warm regards from everyone here to all of you and especially on this very hot day - sorry to rub it in!
Jaynie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    60
    3
    6
    4
See reviews for
72
157
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We were in a group of 12, touring South Africa on motorcycles, and stayed here for one night in early November 2012.

Hosts Jaynie and Gordon run a unique establishment. Gordon has done an amazing job with the design of this garden – it really does re-create the feel of a tropical forest (as you can see from the travellers’ photos). Boardwalks lead off to various rooms tucked away in the ‘forest’, all with private deck/entrance. Added to this are a lot of interesting sculptures, mosaic work, etc., dotted everywhere –all very intriguing!

Jaynie, Gordon, the family and crew were all very hospitable and helpful. We enjoyed one of their fabulous braais (at a very reasonable cost) for dinner. Some really delicious (and perfectly cooked) kingklip was appreciated by the fish-eater/s. Breakfast was great as well.

For those wanting to stay in the centre of Knysna, it’s worth noting that the guesthouse is about a 10 minute drive from the Knysna waterfront (but well worth it).

We would strongly recommend Bamboo Guesthouse to anyone thinking of staying in the Knysna area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Hello David and Co!
Thanks for taking time out to write the review for us and your very king words! We LOVED having you all here. What a great experience for us, all the stories .... a great laugh and truely memorable time was had by all!
The very best wishes for a healthy and happy 2013 from all at Bamboo, we would love to see you all back here again
Warmest regards
Jaynie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon's Town, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

What a special place!! Bamboo Guesthouse is one of a kind -- beautiful and unique rooms spread out in a lush "jungle" of a garden with lovely trees and bamboo and bird life. Our hosts, Jaynie and Gordon, made us feel like family from the moment we arrived. They are a mine of information of what is going on in the area so you need go no further than the office for suggestions and help with booking day trips and activities to restaurant advice. There is even an excellent in-house masseuse to help you de-stress after a long journey. Delicious breakfasts every morning with everything from yummy home made meusli and yoghurt to eggs benedict, Bamboo has it all! Loved our time there and can't wait to go back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Hi Karen and Gary
Thanks for the kind words about Bamboo - we love having you here again with us and hope we dont have to wait years for your next visit. Thanks for the wine too.... we think of you every time we take a sip!
Happy New Year to you all from all here at Bamboo
Warmest regards
Jaynie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We came across Bamboo through a flyer at the Tourist information Office in Knysna and decided to take a look. We were welcomed by Gordon and were overwhelmed by the beautiful (bamboo) garden, friendly atmosphere and great rooms. We were shown several rooms and decided to stay for 2 nights. We especially loved the tips given by Janie and Granny. We had a fabulous dinner at a 'local' restaurant close to Bamboo (best burger ever, ask Janie where!) and had a great day at the beach of Leisure Island. Granny also tipped us about the great views and wonderful lunch spot near the Heads. All in all a great a place to stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Hi Guys, Thanks for the kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your time here with us and that you could make it 2 days here! Mo's is still serving up great food and we love the fact that they are so close to us - handy hey?
We hope you are having a great Festive season with your loved ones and send special wishes to you both for a awesome 2013 - may all your wishes be granted!
Warm regards - its blisteringly hot here today
Jaynie, Gordon, Granny and all the team at Bamboo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We absolutely loved the Bamboo Guesthouse in Knysna. From the moment we arrived, the owners, Gordon and his wife Janie looked after us like we were family. We also had the pleasure of meeting Granny, who happily shares a welcome drink with guests and chats away into the night. The grounds themselves are really unique - individual guest houses surrounded by a leafy jungle and interconnected by raised wooden decking. Our room was homey, colourful and very comfortable. We had a memorable evening at this leafy Shangri-La -- only a shame we did not stay longer. Don't miss it if you're passing through Knysna.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Hi and sorry for the long delay in reponding to your wonderful review - Knysna has become a hive of activity with a record number of visitors this year.
We hope you return to South Africa soon and spend at least two or three days with us this time - one is definately not enough!
Warm regards and special New Years greetings from all of us at Bamboo
Jaynie, Gordon, Granny and the team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just spent two nights at Bamboo guest house on our honeymoon and absolutely loved it- we wished we could have stayed for much longer. Our Loft suite was just divine with a gorgeous fireplace, huge bath and lots if little chill out areas including the balcony and around the pool. The garden is just like a magical Forrest and you are always greeted by their various delightful cats and dogs. Breakfast is delicious and they have a lovely bar area in the evenings for a drink. Jaynie, Gordon, gran and Preston were all so friendly, warm and helpful they made us feel so at home. We can't wait to come back one day and stay longer. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
A honeymoon is certainly one of life's most special occasions........that we at Bamboo succeeded in adding that extra spice to yours is very special to us! We too cannot wait to see you guys back at Bamboo one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monster, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at this guest house after visiting the beautiful town of Knysna.
When we arrived at the guesthouse we were amazed by the gorgeous garden.
After checking in, we went to our room which was more like a small house/cabin so much bigger than expected. The room was decorated with african artswork and beautiful animal skins.
We were given a very nice diner with several of the other guests who we're staying at the guesthouse as well.
The efforts the people did to make us feel at home was so nice! It was a perfect stay.

Room Tip: Stay for dinner instead of going into town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynie C, Owner at Bamboo the Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
So long as our efforts are rewarded by having added that extra dimension to your Knysna stay then we are doing something right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bamboo the Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo the Guesthouse

Address: No 9 Bolton Street | Hunter's Home, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo the Guesthouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique accommodation on the Garden Route, minutes from Knysna town centre, Bamboo Guest House offers a magical B&B experience in garden cottage rooms and courtyard suites, all in the tranquility of a tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Bamboo the Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo the Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.