We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view of yacht basin/or lagoon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Drydock Food Co

The Drydock Food Co
Knysna Waterfront, Knysna 6570 , South Africa
+27 44 382 7310
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 120 Restaurants in Knysna
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
port elizabeth south africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great view of yacht basin/or lagoon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

mmmm this is not the first visit always being good .presentation of food good but never constant.service bit slow and waited sometime for meal.my meal was cold. please this is a good spot give it a try,maybe they just had a bad day.there was only 2 & note only 2 tables in the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    133
    72
    36
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knysna
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“On the lagoon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Good waterside location, quite exposed but canvas blinds to keep most of the wind off as the weather was miserable. We went upstairs as it was warmer. Varied menu, Food was just ok.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Alternating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The problem I have with The Drydock is that both, food and service are never constant. I have dined here with guests and had the most amazing service and meal and just two weeks on, the exact opposite.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and fantastic view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stunning seafood and friendly staff. We also loved the view. In our four day stay, the family chose to eat at the Drydock twice for dinner.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great location, average food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I had booked at this restaurant 2 months in advance as we were visiting during the very busy Oyster Festival. On arrival, they had no record of my booking but luckily had one table for 6 left.

Lucien our waiter started out well, but eventually we were left searching for him and eventually ANY of the staff to order drinks, food etc...
I ordered sushi which was nice, but 2 others at our table ordered Kingklip which was so full of bones it proved to be inedible.
The oysters on special were good.
Overall, nice location but bad service and inconsistent food.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Drydock Food Co also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to The Drydock Food Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drydock Food Co, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.