We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True hospitality in a stunning location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Paradisa Guest House

Save Saved
You added Villa Paradisa Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Paradisa Guest House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Watsonia Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 hotels in Knysna
London
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“True hospitality in a stunning location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Martin and Marilyn are amazing hosts, they go out of their way to make sure you have a perfect stay in Knysna. Villa Paradisa has an amazing view out to the Heads at Knysna. If you need any help finding things to do Martin and Marilyn are both fonts of local knowledge.

We decided to stay in on 2 nights and we were able to cozy up on a sofa with a bottle of wine and watch some telly, we felt like we were in our own home! Villa Paradisa has all the comforts of a 5 star hotel without any of the formalities, we loved it and we'll be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and have everything you need for a lovely stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
59
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Watsons Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Other reviews testify to the hospitality provided by Marilyn and Martin and this review is no different. A cold beer offered by Martin immediately on arrival indicated that we were indeed in good hands. They are superb hosts and genuinely enjoy their time with guests. We learnt a lot about the area (especially oysters) and their recommendations for restaurants were spot on, especially the Phantom Pass resort restaurant. Marilyn advised us on day sightseeing and her recommendations were perfect. One restaurant sent a free courtesy bus for our group of eight. Martin is an enthusiast in the kitchen and his chili mustard brought many requests for the recipe, which he gracefully provided. Breakfast was an event as Martin's creativity went to work to produce a stunning avocado dish, topped by a poached egg in a delicious sauce. No doubt Martin has many more surprises in his repertoire. Our rooms were large, comfortable, well equipped and all had fantastic views over Knysna Harbour and the heads. The property is on the commanding heights of Knysna so enjoys some of the best views. The two ladies who helped with cooking and housekeeping are truly wonderful and their warmth and hospitality really added to our stay. One couple in our party could not be accommodated and Marilyn kindly arranged for them to stay at Villa Afrikana, also a five star guest house located 50 meters away. The couple were extremely impressed with this property. And a lovely pool and jacuzzi are on the balcony.

Room Tip: All rooms have a different decor but are somewhat similar. The lower room is better if stairs are to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We were two families travelling together and stayed for 3 nights with Martin and Marilyn.It was such a lovely stay that we will remember it for a long time to come.The villa is extremely lovely and very tastefully decorated.All the three rooms have exceptional views of the lagoon and have large balconies.All thru our stay we felt as though we were visiting some close relatives.Not once did we feel that we were staying in a guest house.Everyday Martin used to cook up lovely breakfasts for us and everyday it was something new.My sons birthday came during our stay there and Marilyn ordered a beautiful cake with his name on it and decorated the table and cut the cake.It was so beautiful.We were a group of eight and our names were not the easiest for Marilyn to remember even so she had the names memorized and spoke to everyone with the names.After dinner we would sit down with Martin and chat and he would tell us about his experiences.

All in all it was one of the best stays I've ever had.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good but the best one is the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed with Marilyn and Martin for two nights on our honeymoon. It was an unplanned stay as the accommodation we had booked in Knysna turned out to be less than we had hoped for. Despite our last minute arrival (on a very wet evening!) Marilyn welcomed us sincerely and the warmth at Villa Paradisa swept away the disappointment of our initial accommodation.

The Villa is truly beautiful, wonderful views and romantic suites. The hosts are attentive and helpful - both in recommending local attractions and in cooking individual and tasty breakfasts. Martin's MacDevitt breakfast for us went down a treat!! Marilyn even insisted on giving us a bottle of champagne to take with us as we left Knysna and moved on to our next stay.

Marilyn and Martin and their lovely home was a perfect stop on a wonderful South African trip for us. Thanks guys!!

Kevin and Caroline, Dublin.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed here as part of our mini honeymoon. It was a beautiful place to stay and Marilyn was very helpful giving us advice about trips etc. Room was lovely and we loved the balcony where we could drink wine and look at the gorgeous views of Knysna.

Only downsides- I really didn't like the breakfast on the second day- it was covered with so much salt I had to leave most of it. Also it was a shame the pool wasn't heated as it was too cold to use properly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in villa Paradisa in Knysna and our experience was just amazing. It is a lovely boutique property with rooms and surrounding done up very nicely and you get best views of the Knysna heads right from your room.

Martin and Marilyn both are wonderful hosts and they did everything possible to made our stay special. We had last minute change in our schedule and reached Knysna by Intercape. We called them up from waterfront to arrange a taxi for us and to our surprise they themselves came down to pick us up to the hotel. They made all the arrangements and bookings for our sightseeing on garden route.


It was a wonderful experience and would highly recommend a stay during visit to Knysna.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at Villa Paradisa for two days during our honeymoon...and it was amazing. On our arrival, we were warmly welcomed by the owners, Marilyn and Martin. Marilyn helped us settle in and we immediately felt at home. This was going to be our piece of paradise for the next two days. We didn't event want to leave the guest house, as everything was perfect. We spent most of our time in the pool and the Jacuzzi, overlooking the entire Knysna area. The views were amazing!
Every morning, Martin surprised us with another interested, and very tasty, breakfast. (Definitely not your standard full English.) I think the home-made Ostrich patties probably were our favourites.
We loved every second at Villa Paradisa and I will gladly recommend it to anyone who travel to Knysna.
Thank you for making our honeymoon so special.
Jaco and Bonita

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are amazing and have the same perfect view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Paradisa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Paradisa Guest House

Address: 9 Watsonia Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Paradisa Guest House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular 5-star guest house commands amazing views of Knysna lagoon and Heads from its elevated position on Paradise Ridge. Villa Paradisa radiates an exclusive atmosphere and offers guests an indulgent stay. Guests can enjoy a refreshing swim in the infinity-edge pool overlooking the water, relax in the Jacuzzi with a glass of champagne, star-gaze at the African night sky from their own veranda or the poolside pavilion, or take pleasure in their luxurious bedroom with its stylish bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Villa Paradisa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Paradisa Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.