We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular location spoilt by appalling service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Senza Knysna

Senza Knysna
The Heads, Knysna 6570, South Africa (Formerly Cornuti Knysna)
0443840408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 120 Restaurants in Knysna
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Spectacular location spoilt by appalling service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant wasn't full and after over 10 minutes of no-one acknowledging our presence, I needed to request some service and was rudely informed that the waitress was getting to us. Wine list really boring but two starters that we had were good. Bad service though spoilt it for me.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    79
    46
    36
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very expensive and disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Not great. If you want to pay R100 for a pizza with extremely little toppings and have a nutella dessert with no nutella ( just plain chocolate sauce) then this is the place for you. The dessert looks great but tastes like cardboard...
Strawberries in this place also means 1 strawberry cut into 6 pieces. The pizza was good but not worth R100... Feels like my money has been wasted. Service - well there isn't really any.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness, South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Such a Pity”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Location, Location, Location. Pity the owners of Senza think that location will overcome all evils. The service was so awful, that we didm't even leave a tip. We were served by a sullen waitress who would have cracked her face by smiling, or even being pleasant to us. She thought she was doing us a favour by serving us. The food was very ordinary, the decor and menus shabby. I had happy memories of this restaurant from many years ago when it was under different owners and a different name, but this place has gone to the dogs

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great view, great food shame that the food took an hour to come”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Setting is great looking out over the heads and knysna lagoon especially in the evening, get a seat on the veranda for best view. Service ended up being a bad competition between 2 waiters who made it clear they didn't like each other, this meant our food took an hour and although it was well presented it took ages. We did ask and got a complimentary bottle of wine for the delay.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great setting, great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Im not quite sure what the others here are going on about because we had a very memorable evening here. The staff were very friendly and the food was great, one of the best pizzas I have had in a very long time. If you manage to get a deck seat you will enjoy one of the best settings for a restaurant. I highly recommend this restaurant if you're passing through Knysna

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Senza Knysna also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Senza Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senza Knysna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.