We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poorest service ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Russel Hotel

The Russel Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Russel Hotel to your Saves list
The Russel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Long & Graham Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“poorest service ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

service most terrible. i will never recommend anybody to go there. ksjdhgafiuhwfgiuhabewifheaoigvhefoahgksdjfnvksafhgouiwrhgojhewkgvjnasoihvoaehvborehvoehboenbaernobjhetrgherwohglaerjsnvoiejhvoiejhgoiejh

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizemari H, Manager at The Russel Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Antois W,
Thank you for you valued review. We are however confused. According to our records, you cancelled your reservation before arrival, which means you never stayed at The Russel Hotel.
So saddened that you rated our service poor as you never gave us the opportunity to render our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    31
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
14
6
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The service was very good. The rooms were neat and comfortable.
The hotel is perfectly situated - just out of the hustle and bustle but within walking distance of the restaurants etc.
Last but not least the rates were good value for value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizemari H, Manager at The Russel Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Louis M,

Thank your for your feedback on taking the time to review us.
Good service and cleanliness is very important to us! We trust that you enjoyed your stay and will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Convenient position central to Knysna Oyster festival events
Large Clean and comfortable rooms
Efficient and friendly staff
Breakfast area looked great even though we did not eat there
Parking lot could get a bit congested but at least secure !


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizemari H, Manager at The Russel Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Sharon C,

I hope and trust you enjoyed the Oyster Festival! Yes, congestion of trafic and parking is known to Knysna during the Oyster Festival weekends, and that does not exclude our parking lot!!! Two weekends a year it is very busy as you know! Hope to see you and your friends next year again. Luckily, as you stated, we are very close to town, and can walk where you need to!!

Thank you for taking the time to review us and also commenting on our service and room standards.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We used a City Slickers special but was a bit dismayed that while we were waiting to check in the room rate was offered to someone at the same price we had received it for----so it was not a "good deal" for us. Admittedlly we did have breakfast included in our "deal".

I know the tendency is to have all rooms "no smoking" but taking the weather into account I would suggest trying to make a smoking "room" inside the hotel for those "rainy times"
Staff were always pleasant and helpful and would definitely suggest the hotel to my friends

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I showered and while washing my hair slipped on the slippery bath surface ,luckily I hit against the metal handel breaking my fall allowing my time to grab on.I have a nice bruise on my butt.I believe that if I was
not a strong guy I would have no been so lucky.This could be very dangerous .I was given quiet a shock

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The price paid for the vouchers, and the value indicated on the vouchers did not add up to a booking directly with the hotel. If booked directly with hotel i could stay 4 nights instead of the 2.

The bed was worn out.
No bar fridge in room.
Maybe a wider choice of tv channels.

Staff was very friendly. Loved the breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizemari H, Manager at The Russel Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Fritz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel. We do apologise for any inconvenience caused, and would sincerely recommend that you take up any problems with value, bookings and quallity of beds directly with management when you are staying in the Hotel, so that any problems you might experience might be dealt with immediately.

I do persume that through your review you stayed on some kind of voucher system. Our vouchers are normally sold at a very, very decreased and special rate, and staying for cheaper in the Hotel would not be possible, except if we ran a special during the same time, in-house. But in all, we would have dealt with the problem of 'value', while you were here.

Regarding the DStv Commercial Bouquet , we have a variety of 40 channels (as stated in the room-info-book) and could have changed channels according to your interests.

As being a 3 Star Hotel, I apologise for not having a bar fridge.

Thank you for the positive feedback about the friendly staff and lovely breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel reception was very nice & friendly. The room was clean, and we had safe parking for the car. The breakfast was also very nice, big variety to eat. It was only one night but it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizemari H, Manager at The Russel Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, even though you only stayed with us one night! Thank you for commenting on our service, which is very important to us and we always try to improve on! We trust that you will make use of us again and maybe stay longer!

Regards
Management!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Russel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russel Hotel

Address: Cnr. Long & Graham Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Russel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Russel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Russel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.