We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for one night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Russel Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Russel Hotel to your Saves list
The Russel Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Russel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Graham Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 28 hotels in Knysna
Haifa, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good enough for one night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed there for one night only on our way to Port Elizabeth.This small hotel makes a better impression outside than inside.The rooms are very basic though clean.The so called air conditioner( half broken ) could be barely felt on a cold, rainy day. The bathroom should be refurbished - plumbing problems. Our group arrived late in the evening and after receiving our keys we were told that there won't be anybody at the front desk at night which made me feel quite insecure at night.My room was on the 3rd floor.There is no lift in the hotel .We were lucky that our luggage was brought by the porters.What improved my impression was the breakfast which was very substantial and tasty. A pleasant touch was added by the fact that your omelette is prepared after you fill in the order form where you specify the way it should be done.It's not only prepared to your personal liking , it's always fresh and hot.Their guava juice was delicious as well.To sum it up, for only one stay it's not that bad.Would I stay there again? Probably not.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizemari H, Manager at The Russel Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am so sorry that you had a negetative experience at our Hotel. We pride ourselves in being the best 3-star hotel that we can be and I can assure you we take all negative reviews very seriously.

I just want to point out that we do have security throughout the night and we have CCTV cameras recording every minute of the day and night. We do have a staff member on duty throughout the night, should a problem arise. I do apologise that this was not pointed out to you at the time.

We have our air-conditioners serviced on a regular basis and regarding the plumbing, I am not sure which room you refer to, but we had it checked as well.

I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast though.

If only you told us there and then of your discomfort, we could have made your stay much more pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
9
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed here over the winter holidays for one night, based on availability, price, and Tripadvisor reviews. I also wanted to be able to walk around the town, and the location seemed/was good for that. The front staff was welcoming and professional.

However, the cost of the room ($130) far exceeded its quality. Bed was not comfortable. The window-unit air conditioner sputtered on but did little to cool the room adequately. The shower construction resulted in water spewing onto the floor. The bathroom sink warned users away from washing veg in it (what?!) And there was no Wifi, the one and only place we stayed on our vacation without it.

I would definitely look elsewhere and would spend a bit more to greatly improve the quality.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizemari H, Manager at The Russel Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your review.

I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at The Russel Hotel.

We were unaware of all the defects you pointed out on Tripadvisor about our hotel. If only we new which room you occupied and if only you told us of your unsatisfactory stay, we could have made it a much more pleasant one.

Having said that, we had a look at all the accusations and I can now assure you that everthing has been taken care of, whether it was true or false!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langebaan, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

As a regular to the Russell Hotel, on a monthly basis, for almost six years, we can without doubt recommend them to any traveller looking for accommodation in Knysna. The hotel is exceptionally clean, rooms are comfortable, the service is excellent, the staff is friendly and what we appreciate most is that the management respects one's privacy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The service I received was excellent and staff are friendly and very helpful. My room was clean, neat and comfortable. The breakfasts are very tasty and well prepared and there is a variety to choose from.

The hotel is very centrally situated and the Waterfront, restaurants and other attractions in town are within easy walking distance.

The hotel is situated opposite a school and during the school term the road outside is extremely noisy from early in the morning. But not being one to lie in and sleep late, it was not an issue for me.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is centrally situated there are no rooms with spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We felt welcome the minute we stepped onto the premises. Excellent service, we received an additional room for our kids which they enjoyed, it was opposite ours. Which gave us peace of mind. Friendly staff. The place central to shops, garages, beaches, Waterfront and shops. Scheepers Family

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

After a long day on the road i look forward to my stay at the Russel hotel. I'm greeted by name, and the heater in the room has been put on for me. The staff all go out of their way to make me feel welcome and the french toast and crispy bacon in the morning is the best in town!

Lee-Anne.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011 via mobile

We came down for the popular Oyster festival 2011 as my husband was running the half marathon. I found this place on the internet and it looked reasonable. It is reasonably priced, staff are indeed friendly, rooms are clean however my biggest gripes was 2 things. 1. is that the walls are very thin so you can hear other guests very clearly and 2. You could hear noise filtering down from the main road where 2 of knysna's main nightclubs are situated. In addition we heard cars racing up and down the road outside. Overall I would rather pay a little bit more and get some place a little more up market in order to get a decent night's sleep!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Knysna hotels
Luxury, Pool, F...
Show More
2.7 mi away
Knysna Country House
Knysna Country House
#10 of 28 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
1.2 mi away
Premier Hotel Knysna
Premier Hotel Knysna
#13 of 28 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Knysna Quays
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
0.0 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Quiet, Romantic...
Show More
0.5 mi away
The Rex Hotel
The Rex Hotel
#15 of 28 in Knysna
4.0 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Russel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Russel Hotel

Address: Graham Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Russel Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Russel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Russel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.