We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as the first time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Knysna Country House to your Saves list
Knysna Country House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Fraser Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Greater Addo
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Just as good as the first time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was our second visit to Knysna Country House (I’ll try anything once, twice if I like it). We were booked into a family unit that consists of 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom and a lounge with fridge and coffee & tea facility’s. The pool looked very inviting from our private patio.

The hosts, Eric & Ypie are very pleasant company yet never “too much” and the breakfast is the perfect combination between healthy & yummie and to finish it off we had a stunning view of the Knysna Heads from the deck so all in all this won’t be our last visit!

Last but not least…This time around I finally saw my first Knysna Lourie …

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    70
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
48
163
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had two wonderful days in Knysna Country House. We felt at home with Ypie en Erik. The room was large en comforable! Ypie & Erik do everything to make your stay wonderful. The breakfast was very nice. The place is wonderfull.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendock Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed two nights, our room had lovely views over the gardens,Knysna and bay,the room was large and comfortable with everything you could possibly needwith the best shower in South africa.Ypie and Erik were the perfect hosts and i thank them very much for the way we were looked after us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

if you want to relax on your trip through africa i can recomment you to stay in the knysna country house! This bed and breakfast is situated on the hills beside Knysna and has a beautifull view over Knysna and the lagune in 5-10 minutes from centre and harbor with its nice restaurants. The dutch owners will help you with everything and give you all attention you need. Their intention is to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Breakfast is good, they have nice rooms and there is a good looking swimming pool and nice garden! You cannot wish more. I hope your stay will be as good as ours and we thank the owners for everything.

Room Tip: All rooms where nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had two wonderful days in Knysna Country House. We felt really ay home. We will thank Ypie en Erik for that. They have done everything to make our stay unforgettable. Of course the breakfast and especially the view was fantastic. They advised us very well where to eat and other possibilities in and around Knysna.
It was an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ommen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. Deluxe room Lovely large room, with spacious seating area with sofa and arm chairs,use of the internet etc fridge and safe. excellent bed/pillows. Large bathroom with toilet bath and separate double shower double sinks and shower/bath robes. Well signposted from the main road. Quiet and beautiful location.. Excellent delicious Breakfast. Ypie and Erik were very welcoming, advising on best places to eat and sights to see and nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed 2 nights with Ypie & Erik and as we travelled through the whole of
south Africa and stayed in several B&B's, we can surely say that this B&B was
one on it's own. Nice rooms, delicious breakfast and very friendly hosts.
If you want to go to Knysna and visit the heads... don't forget to head to
Knysna Country House.... Nice to know, children are also very welcome and
as a parent this is very important.

thnks again Ypie & Erik

Room Tip: They have a room that fits your situation, it is quiet everywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knysna Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Country House

Address: 30 Fraser Street, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Knysna Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Knysna Country House, situated in the wooded suburb of Hunters Home, is only minutes away from the Knysna and Pezula Golf Courses in Knysna, on the scenic Garden Route alongthe Indian Ocean coastline of South Africa. The spacious and sunny balcony overlooking the large swimming pool is the ideal place to enjoy the rich bird life and views over the Knysna Lagoon, town and distant mountains. Only 9 rooms, knowleagable, multi-lingual hosts and friendly and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Knysna Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.