We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Simola Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Simola Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Simola Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Old Cape Road | Simola, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“What a resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We arrived here with our tour and we were in block B 4 A. What a great design. All good comments below are correct.

Our suite has twin beds extremely comfortable, bathroom shower and bath, twin sinks. All clean and bright. Kitchen lounge area huge with floor heating and a gas fire, which one does not need if floor is on. Also in bedroom an air conditioner. The lights in all rooms are also amazing.
As usual we requested non smoking and the room was clean and fresh, bedding also.

We had breakfast in the morning, which was simple and tasty, service was good.

Restaurant at night, the food was buffet first night with roasted pork, chicken, beef, fish and assortment of baked vegetables. Delicious salad area and desert was yummy choices. The meat was very tender. We will have a la carte tonigHt.
Again I have to comment on the staff, how open and friendly they are, with attention to detail under the watchful eyes of the young handsome manager. The whole place. Is a great place for folders all over the world, they would not be disappointed.

All the front desk staff are helpful and caring, only to happy to book tours etc for you, they have a shuttle also

Didn't have time for spa, sorry I missed it. Others in our group were very pleased with service and comfort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Manager at Simola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your much valued comments.

We are always happy to hear from people who have had such a wonderful experience with us at Simola. Our aim is to provide excellence in all departments, and to this end your feedback and compliments are invaluable.

We hope that you will be able to visit us again - and this time fit in a spa treatment.

With thanks
Simola Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    24
    12
    10
    7
See reviews for
27
50
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

+ very clean rooms with complete facilities such as oven, microwave ref etc.
beautiful view of the golf course and lagoon. they also gave us a warm welcome with drinks and smiles.

_ i tried the spa but it was fully booked until i was accommodated late in the afternoon and the one who attended to me seems to be in a hurry. so, it didn't make me feel relaxed which a spa should.
the waitresses at breakfast were busy chatting with each other rather than paying attention to the guests' needs.
we also had difficulty bringing down the stairs our luggages after checking out. wonder why no one came to assist us.

Room Tip: choose rooms with golf couse and lagoon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Manager at Simola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review on Simola Hotel & Spa, we value all comments and suggestions revceived as we strive for excellence in the travel and tourism industry.

We are happy to hear that your overall experience was a great one. We take seriously the issues raised and will endevour to correct and improve upon them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed at Simola during the Knysna Oyster festival. Had a ground floor unit on the hotel side. Arrived very late in the evening after delayed flights. The route is not well lit and was an uncomfortable drive into the estate if you dont know the way. Try arrive early. When I woke in the morning the room had no net curtains - although I reported this to the front reception they promised to fix this but I had to keep my curtains closed for the duration of the stay as my room was adjacent the walk area for all residents. The window in the bathroom was broken and you could not shut it properly. Other than that the underfloor heating which heats up in a jiffy was great as weekend was really cold, also there was a nice gym which I made use of. Spa facilities were well priced and the food was probably the highlight of the weekend with no reason to eat out. Great food, a little bit of let down on the room though. There was a special running for the weekend so not badly priced.

Room Tip: rooms next to the board walk tend to get noise from people arriving and leaving every morning. Try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Manager at Simola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Reviwer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Simola Hotel.

I am sorry you were not informed that the net curtains you refer to were at the outsource laundry. Although we have an in house laundry, all curtaining is sent out, unfortunately we were let down on the return delivery of same.

We are very proud of our 'table' at simola, and are pleased that you found the food of excellent quality as we aim to give our guests a full service facility. The Spa & Gym are regularly maintained and serviced, and again we are pleased that you made use of these facilities.

From your review, I ascertain that you were in a "B" room, may I suggest, that should you visit us again, you spend the little extra for a one bedroomed suite. This will afford you greater luxury, a fire place, outdoor built in gas braai, kitchen, lounge and full block out and net curtaining. We do offer superb packages and special deals on these units, with or without golf and/or spa treatments, throught the year.

We value our guests reviews, and thank you again for your input, as we strive for excellence at all times.

Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape St Francis, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Last week I took "1st timers" to the Simola Hotel and Spa for two nights in the suites with golf. We arrived like we were part of the family - welcome sign, welcomed back by name and all. The suites allow you to unpack and spread out with all you need to live on your own (if you wish) - Bar-BQ, kitchen, etc. - space and comfort! The views from every room are amazing - but then Knysna is pretty amazing! Then came the golf. My one friend had never played there before and as an 'improving golfer' she was comfortable. Go as a golfer or simply GO!

Room Tip: ask for the golf course view! You sit way above it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Manager at Simola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your positive response to Simola Hotel & Spa.

We are truly glad that your '1st timers' enjoyed the experience, and hope that they will come againand bring more 'first timers' with them.

We strive to make our guests feel like family and especially our loyal return visitors.

We hope your golfing experience was successful and enjjoyable, and look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had the privilege to attend the Glenfiddich Whisky and Food pairing event at Simola, during the Oyster Festival; it was truly spectacular. You could not have asked for a lovelier venue ,and the wonderful ambiance were further enhanced by a delicious menu, boasting poached Norwegian salmon with pear ,a lovely fillet steak and the most delicious banoffee pie for dessert . Everything was prepared and presented with excellence; and to make the evening even more spectacular was the great host Tami ,which enlightened the audience about Glenfiddich whiskey . This evening was perfect ,well done Simola, for a fabulous event !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the glowing review of our Glenfiddich Food Paring Evening.
We have had such positive feed back, that we are already planning another.
We hope you will attend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The suite was fabulous with everything one would need, with views over the golf course and Knysna that are spectacular! Staff helpful and friendly.Comfortable beds,fully equiped kitchen,BBQ facility on the veranda...golf course looks spectacular.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of Simola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is 1 beautiful place... The spa, the views and the hotel are exceptional. As a guest you are spoilt as the golf course is 1st class and from every angle you have a view of the beutiful knysna scenery.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Simola Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simola Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Old Cape Road | Simola, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#18 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Simola Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Simola Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simola Hotel And Spa
Simola Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simola Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.