We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need for change” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simola Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Simola Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Simola Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Old Cape Road | Simola, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Knysna
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Need for change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed in simola for a week with my family and friends, end December to early Jan, very huge fantastic rooms, with modern working facilities,lovely staff, excellent views, our major disappointment was BREAKFAST, There was no variety at all, mince, sausage, bacon eggs, mushroom,..I could even dish it with my eyes closed the whole week. I hope they will change soon.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Many thanks for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us in knowing how to improve on our services.
Our breakfast buffet offers over 100 different items to choose from such as:
a cereal station, a pastry station, a Continental station with fresh fruit platter, cheese platter, sushi platter, Norwegian hot smoked salmon, a selection of yoghurts and poached fruits, a mezze station and our hot buffet selection. With such a variety of foods to choose from now, we hope to be able to welcome you back for breakfast in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    24
    12
    10
    7
See reviews for
27
50
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bray
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The most amazing views from the restaurant and the very spacious rooms. The bathrooms looked amazing unfortunately the showers had no power and were leaking and we had ants in the sink and bath tub. But other than that all was fine. Service in the breakfast was a bit slow but the huge choice on the buffet and excellent quality made up for it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate your feedback and shall certainly address the areas you have mentioned in your comments with the relevant departments.
We hope that your experience does not deter you from returning in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back to Simola Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driebergen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

In january we stayed 1 week in this hotel together with friends; accommodation is fine, breakfast is poor (cheese and meat are presented uncooled in restaurant and are not fresh), majority of restaurant-staff is trainee.
During our stay housekeeping did search our suitcases (locks were broken) and took away a Rado watch; management didn't feel responsible anyway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.
1. With regards to our buffet breakfast, it is prepared entirely fresh every day and our Chef most certainly does not re-use any food the following day. Our most recent TripAdvisor comment makes reference to the excellent quality of our breakfast, and yet another guest also posted that we have the “best breakfast in the Southern Cape”.
2. There has been numerous correspondence between yourself and management with regards to your wife’s missing watch which you only reported on your day of departure. We did a thorough investigation and questioned all staff who had access to your room during your stay but this did not yield any conclusive results. A safe is provided for your convenience and in our welcome letters we remind all our guests to make use of them for their own safety. The registration card which you signed on arrival has a Conditions of Residence which also states that the hotel cannot be held liable for any loss or damage to property. In light of this, we advised you to claim from your travel insurance and/or household insurance.
We regret that you felt compelled to give us bad publicity as threatened in one of your communications, however we honestly feel that we did everything we could to resolve the problem and wish you well in your insurance claim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a lovely golf resort and the accommodation is really spacious and comfortable
It is a good thing to know that there is a kitchen and dining area room for 6 to eat
Taking your own tea and coffee is a good idea and we did eat in the room as a family one night
The restaurant is fine for one night but there are some lovely restaurants in Knysna worth going out for.
The golf course has deteriorated badly since our last visit - the greens were in shocking condition.
The only explanation given to us was the over use of visitiors!!!
The whole resort now looks like it needs a little TLC

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course and not a forest facing one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Roms Division Manager at Simola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of Simola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your comments and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Knysna.

With regards to your comments on the golf course, we have addressed your concerns with the relevant people and are happy to report that every effort is being made to manage the situation with our golfers. As we have such high volumes of golfers on our course on a daily basis it is difficult to monitor the problem, but we have now put notices on the carts kindly asking players to assist us by ensuring that they repair their pitchmarks and rake their bunkers, thereby contributing to the enjoyment of others.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Book this if you want romance & privacy.
The rooms are built like apartments with private parking in front. A short stroll away from main building. Reception & all other facilities. We stayed in room 6a block E right at the end with far reaching views over sea, mountains, golf course . Balcony was huge with 6 seater dining table & large gas barbeque.. The kitchen was equipped with cooker/ceramic hob/microwave 2 fridges freezer & 6 place settings china & enough glassware to open bar!!
We chose to self cater as eat out lots normally with our jobs.. Plus the quality of meat & fish is amazing.. We bought great wine..& coffee..Woolworths best selection

The town is near by & very well designed with lovely little shops on water front..
We're going to book for a few months next UK winter...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your valued comments on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Simola Hotel & Spa and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have stayed at Simola in Knysna a few times over the last few years. This year we (wife and I) were there for over 2 weeks in an upstairs, Logoon facing 1 bedroom apartment. Our experience this year has been exceptional. Views and apartment are spectacular, overlooking the Jack Nicklaus Golf course and on to Knysna heads. The golf course is excellent...with around 90 odd bunkers!! Beautiful condition.
I think the most improved element of our stay is the food and service. Big welcoomes back, drinks on arrival and nothing too much trouble. The breakfast has always been the best on the garden route...and continues to be. Heaven 's eggs are freshly cooked as you look on!! Dinner is great as well..with a excellent Menu.
All in all - a first class experience! we'll be back next year

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Rooms Division Manager at Simola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your glowing review of Simola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. Your positive feedback has been forwarded to all relevant departments as we strive for continued improvement.
As always, it was our pleasure to have you with us and we look forward forward to welcoming you back for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This hotel is situated in a very beautiful spot with beautiful views of the Knysna Lagoon and the Knysna Heads. Although the rooms are very well appointed and comfortable and spacious, there was a serious problem with the service at the hotel. In one of the rooms that we booked we found only one large towel for the two guests staying in the room and upon enquiry we were told that they only give 1 large towel per room although the other room had two large towels. On the last night we stayed we were not supplied with water and biscotti as had been the case the previous nights, upon enquiry we were told that they had run out of water and biscotti! Also the room service took long at times and the service in the restuarant was also slow on several occasions. Although this hotel was quite a bit cheaper than other five star hotels in the area, we soon realised that it was also not of the same quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full view over the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simola_Hotel, Manager at Simola Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Good morning and thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, posted 02 January 2013.
We greatly appreciate your comments and have made specific note of the areas in which you felt disappointed, particulary with reference to service standards. We endeavour to maintain a professional and efficient standard of service at all times and therefore value constructive criticism, such as yours, to continue to strive for excellence.
As a valued guest, we hope that your experience does not deter you from returning and that you will allow us to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Simola Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simola Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Old Cape Road | Simola, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Knysna
#18 Luxury Hotel in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Simola Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Simola Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simola Hotel And Spa
Simola Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simola Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.