We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is nothing like feeling home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Narnia Farm Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Narnia Farm Guest House to your Saves list
Narnia Farm Guest House
Off Wellbedacht Lane, Knysna, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 103 Knysna B&B and Inns
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
“There is nothing like feeling home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have been visiting Knysna for several years and enjoyed Narnia Guest House since then. Waking up in that environment has always been so enchanting. There is a spontaneous complicity between the guest and everybody else surrounding you to make your stay unforgettable. The Sohn family and the staff have created and maintained a gem that is unique. It is a perfect place to discover the true nature of Knysna, the spirit of the people and you will probably feel within yourself that emotion filling you heart that you have finally arrive d home

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wow what a place ! Narnia guest house is as magical as the name suggests. Perched high up on a hill side looking straight at the Knysna heads, this place is simply stuning. Waking up early in the morning is a must and standing staring at the view across the lagoon at the heads is wonderful. The shed itself is nice and comfortable, with a double room, a twin room and then a good sized lounge and kitchen. It really does have everything you will need and is only 10 mins drive from Knysna centre. Stella and the rest of the family give a great warm welcome. Definitely recommend to anyone looking for peace and quiet for a few days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Really excellent place. Firstly the views are superb and the location is really peaceful. Secondly, the reception we received from Stella and the family was really warm and hospitable.
We stayed in the Shed and I don't have anything bad to say about it. There was everything we needed in regards to amenities and the place was really comfortable. I would definitely go there again and again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol,England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Having read some reviews before our visit, we expected something special. Instead we found the Shed to be very quirky (understandable given the owner is an artist) and a bit rundown. There were no towels in our room so we needed to ask for them and the light in the bathroom did not work. The views of the lagoon from outside were wonderful, but I am afraid that is all I can say about the place. We also found that the cost was high for the standard of accommodation provided. We have travelled around South Africa for many years now and generally find that bed and breakfast establishments are of a very high standard in comparison to Europe. Sorry, but I cannot recommend this place

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narniagardenroute, Owner at Narnia Farm Guest House, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
I am sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay with us but wanted to just make a few points in our defence. I am usually at home to welcome guests but had waited for you for 3 hours (your friend John had said you would be here at 1pm) and needed to run some errands so I asked my housekeeper Mavis to show you around. She showed you all the units and explained that you could each have had one at the main house or take the shed which you did so I assumed you were happy. When I got home I went over to see if all was OK and when I heard there were 2 towels missing, I immediately replaced them. You didnt mention the light - if you had I would have put in a new bulb (worldwide they have a nasty habit of blowing without telling anyone!!). I invited you to use both the pool and the sitting room with wifi at the main house and offered to book you into a restaurant. Your friend came over to swim twice and he seemed to be enjoying himself. I can understand that perhaps the shed wasnt your cup of tea but to call it rundown just isnt fair. We have very recently painted inside and out, redone the garden, replaced bed scatters, glasses, lamps and cutlery and before your arrival had a cleaning company in for a thorough springclean. We have had many happy guests stay in the shed and in fact tonight there is a family in there positively raving about it! Perhaps it would have been better for us and you if you had voiced your concerns while you were here and given us the chance to move you to the units at the main house rather than wait till you got home to write a review that I honestly feel is unfounded
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Staying at Narnia was as close to nirvana as it comes. From the very moment we arrived, we were treated like family, given a larger accommodation than we paid for, got excellent advice on meals and sites, and full access to the house and spectacular grounds. The location is so beautifully maintained, with gardens and pool and patios, that it was difficult to even leave the grounds, but alas we had traveled there all the way from the US to view the local landscape and sites, so we pushed ourselves to venture out a bit each day. There is lots to do in Knysna and the surrounding areas, whether you want to travel just 10 minutes or are willing to drive for a few hours. Tell the Sohns we said hello when you go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 nights there in the Cottage. Stella is a very nice host and we were taken good care off. We travelled with our 2 year old daughter and she loved the gardens and the dogs to play with. Nice breakfast in the family livingroom and many good tips on what to do in and around Knysna.
The location is good. You have to drive to the restaurants in town, but that is compensated by the great view of the Heads end the estuary.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijk aan Zee, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had the most wonderful stay in Narnia Guesthouse. The hosts Stella and Richard are so very hospitable and friendly; we really felt at home in this little paradise. We stayed in the lovely furnished poolhouse, it has the most beautiful view over the hills all the way to the head. You can do self-catering (most luxurous because you don't even need to do your own dishes), but we loved the breakfast so much that we had it anyway. Stella bakes the best carrotcake I ever had! Good advice is given about restaurants and things to do around. I wish we would could stay longer! I will most surely rcommend this lovely and beautiful place to friends.

Room Tip: The poolhouse is lovely but actually everything around here is so lovely furnished and decorated, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Narnia Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narnia Farm Guest House

Address: Off Wellbedacht Lane, Knysna, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Narnia Guest House provides affordable bed and breakfast accommodation and self-catering accommodation in Knysna. Situated on top of a hill, we surrounded by majestic views of the Knysna Heads (famous entrance to the sea), Knysna lagoon, the Knysna river and the Garden Route's Outeniqua mountains, this stone and timber guest house nestles in an acre of award winning gardens, visited by 180 species of bird and small wildlife such as bush buck, lynx, monkeys and bushpig.You would be hard pressed to find a better location to stay. Just 2 kms from the town of Knysna with its fabulous shops and restaurants, beaches within 10 kms, forest walks closeby, Plettenberg Bay 30 kms away and both the Tsitsikamma National Park and Oudtshoorn easy day trips.The Guest House is eclectic and intriguing with a mix of building materials, most of which were found on site. The salt water pool is a delight in summer and boasts a view of the mountains very difficult to beat. Geyser water is solar heated, the owners collect glass and tin to recycle, the gardens are watered from dams and are fed with worm farmed compost and an organic veggie garden supplies whoever needs what is being picked on the day.This is a place looked after, with love, by staff who have worked here for over 15 years and looked after guests for 12. Bed and Breakfast guests are treated to a fun drum call by Nomic. Mavis and Natalie make sure your room is spotless and your flowers in the bathroom fresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Narnia Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narnia Farm Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.