We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the nature lover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Protea Guest House to your Saves list
Protea Guest House
7 Protea St, Knysna 6571, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 103 Knysna B&B and Inns
Kempton Park, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for the nature lover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My husband an I were looking for accomodation that was simple and comforatable but yet extraordinary. We found just that with Protea Guest House. Situated in the forest with a spectacular view of the lagoon that will take your breath a away. We experienced the true warmth of the South African culture when we were welcomed by the owner and received much assistance from her. Adri, thank you for the lovely stay we had we enjoyed every minute of our magical vacation in Knysna.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    18
    0
    4
    0
See reviews for
8
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Protea House is a perfect place to stay when you visit Knysna.
The price is very convenient and the view is magnificent. You can cook in the fully equipped kitchen or stroll down to the waterfront only few minutes drive away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My first stay at Protea Guest House and every one after,was such an awesome expirience,and i received such a warm welcome from Adri the owner.
The rooms are spacious and i just love the deck and the view over the lagoon is breathtaking.
Must say that if your ever looking at staying in Knysna on your holiday,Protea Guest house is the place to be.
It really offers so much,and not even to speak of the WOW forest like garden that surrounds you,when you sit on the deck while having a very nice breakfast,along with all the birdlife
.
On my recent stays at Protea B & B I personally stayed in 2 of the rooms,and must say the kitchen is fully equipped for self catering.
I have recently visited Protea Guesthouse and will be seeing Adri early next year 2013.

Keep up the good work Adri,your B & B is a wonderfull place.
To me it feels like home.


See you soon.......

Room Tip: All rooms are really great. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

one of the more beautiful B&B we encountered along our trip with a real jungle feeling and a private breakfast that is served on a porch overlooking the lagoon.
We received a very warm welcome from the owner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I am a tour guide and whenever I overnight in Knysna, I personally stay with Adri in Protea Guest House each and every time.
Paradise, one of Knysna oldests neighbourhoods, offers a really peaceful stay with lovely overgrown forest-like gardens filled with birdlife, giving one an idea of what it must have been like in the early days.
Each cottage offers great views over the Lagoon below with simple, clean & comfortable accommodation of a 3 star standard.
See you next week Adri x

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for a couple of days in Protea Guest House and were given the Loeri lodge. This one of three completely separated from each other units and has two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Ideal for four people to stay there. Large livingroom annex fully equipped kitchen for self catering.
We were there on a Bed and Breakfast arrangement and every morning, on the dot, Daniel, one of the kind staff members, climbed the stairs to our unit with a basket full of the ordered eggs, bread, orangje juice and marmelade. Under good weather conditions having your breakfast on the woorden deck, with a great view was a splendid start of the day. Cleaning of the unit is fine.Towel change each day. Adri, the owner has got some great tips for nice things to do and see in Knysna, the Heads, Leisure Island and Brenton on Sea. Also her suggestions for restaurants of your likings are great. A few things to bear in mind. There is free wifi in the main house. If you are lucky you can use wifi inside the unit, otherwise you have to move a bit closer to the router. When we were there some furniture on the wooden deck and the deck itself needed attention from a carpenter for some minor maintenance. There is a very good and fast laundry service available and if your car needs washing, suprise Daniel with a box of sweets (after the job has been done) and he will gladly do an excellent cleaning job for you. We enjoyed our stay with Adri very much.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here and cannot find a bad word to say about all aspects. Ardri and her staff are very hospitable and the rooms are clean and well serviced. I particularly enjoyed the feeling of being part of the forest and a bonus was the breakfast delivery. I am surprised by the negative comments - a couple perpetual complainers methinks. Alejandro should be thankful the tv didn't work - SA television programs are appalling. All in all a pleasing and tranquil stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Guest House

Address: 7 Protea St, Knysna 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a tropical garden with abundant bird life in a quiet lane. We are a full bed and breakfast with a self catering option. The timber cottages have lovely views over the lagoon. Winding stairs lead to three separate cottages, each with a private sun deck and barbecue facilities. Well equipped kitchenettes offer a self-catering option. Breakfast is served on your own sun deck. Walking distance to town center and restaurants. Laundry and e-mail facilities available. Children are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Protea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.