We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The jewel of Knysna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Alexander to your Saves list
The Alexander
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   30 Glenview Road | Pilot's View, The Heads, Knysna, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 102 Knysna B&B and Inns
Sandton, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The jewel of Knysna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Everything about The Alexander is quality. From the irrepressible Travis and the entire staff, to the tastefully decorated suites and amazing sea views (sigh)...

we spent our first night in the amber room which exceeded my expectations I must admit, (the pictures don't do it justice) the partial sea view was no bother at all.

The next 2 nights we moved up to the penthouse suite with its ample private deck and pool...fab, fab, fab! Gazing up at the heavens to the sound of gently crushing waves is a thing of beauty.
Because the guest house doesn't do lunches or dinners, Travis was kind enough to proactively pre book a couple of restaurants for us to choose from (nice touch, since it was the busiest time of the year)
The courtesy shuttle driver was very pleasant and was right on time, every time.
I can go on and on about this place but the best way to believe me is to visit and experience it.
We are definitely going back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    9
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
111
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

"Simply the Best' is The Alexander's motto, and while that motto may sound overhyped, its pretty much true. I have been lucky enough to stay at many superb hotels around the world, but entering The Alexander took my breath away. The views are superb. The rooms are exquisitely and lavishly furnished, with touches to satisfy both the feminine side (e.g. plush bathrobes) and the masculine geek (e.g. true surround sound speaker systems).

Tip: Don't miss the breakfast, which in our case were cooked personally by the owner himself. The scrambled eggs were heavenly - thanks to "the pampered chef!"

Thanks also to Travis for helping us with our arrangements during our brief stay - hopefully, we upped the % of guests reviewing! ;)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hello Elija00,

Thank you for your revue on Tripadvisor. We appreciate that your enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Kind regards,

Travis & The Alexander House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Alexander is different from any other guest house or hotel you can stay at, in terms of service, value, cleanliness and location. Not only was the staff very friendly and welcoming but they were also forward thinking. They knew exactly what sort of activities and restaurants were matching our expectations. We also received a very fair offer for two fabulous suites. We can highly recommend The Alexander for couples, families or even single travellers - it suits everyone as the service is so personal. The best way to put it is this: We felt like staying at our best friend's place.

We hope to be back in the future!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I cannot fault this guest house, everything was perfect. The first thing you notice when you enter is the beautiful decor. The service is second to none, Memories was just so wonderful and really looked after us in fact Wayne and his whole team made us feel so welcome. The breakfast is amazing with so much choice but the omelettes are definitely worth a mention, delicious!! We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was just perfect with our private decking and jacuzzi, there is something so special about sitting in the jacuzzi under the stars sipping wine a memory we will never forget. We drove around 1500km during our weeks stay in SA staying at 4 locations this was by far our favourite everything was just perfect. Thank you for a wonderful stay we definitely left feeling like we had made friends.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

From the moment you walk into the front foyer … you know you have arrived. The Alexander House is simply stunning.

Completely surrounded by style and elegance, Wayne Alexander has left no detail to chance. The room which I stayed (The Royal Honeymoon Suite) was pure comfort. Combined with a private balcony overlooking the cliffs and ocean, one felt simply special.

Many reasons to recommend The Alexander House but on the short list ....

Fantastic and personal service by the staff, Quality food and beverages, a door to door driver service and more.

I was not disappointed and I look forward to my next stay ....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Good day Ms. Cuen,

Thank you so much for sharing your views and experience at The Alexander House, Knysna. We truly appreciate it when our guests take the time to share their experience and express their appreciation through their revue on Tripadvisor.

It was an absolute pleasure making your acquaintance and hosting you at The Alexander House, Knysna.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Alexander House someday in the near future.

Kind regards,

TRAVIS & The Alexander House Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I would like to thank everybody at The Alexander for a wonderful time we spent there on holiday - the 4 night were without a doubt a highlight for us.
The friendliness of the staff are second to none and the attention from owner and staff alike from the minute we arrived till we left is unsurpassed. The service was excellent, and breakfast outside on the deck was great - freshly baked bread, muffins and croissants, a selection of cheeses, cold cuts, jams and preserves, followed by eggs to order and a variety of extras...
The amazing setting on the Eastern Head gives one the most beautiful views. The fact that it is outside the bustle of the town centre adds to the ambience of this lovely place - and is easily overcome by the courtesy driver taking guests to the restaurants in town for dinner - what a lovely touch.
It is a place I will recommend to anybody and I hope that I might one day return to this gem again.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and book one of the suites - we stayed in the Royal Suite and it was spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Good day,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share your personal experience of The Alexander House and are very proud knowing that you enjoyed your stay and had a "wonderful experience" with us.

We hope to be of service to you and your friends and family in the future.

Kind regards,

TRAVIS and The Alexander House Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What can I say about a very good such as Alexander !!! The view is fantastic and the service is good also the honeymoon suit I love it so much . I recommend any body want to have good time to come and say what 5 star gust house should be

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Alexander House, Knysna.

We are very proud to read your review and to know that your experience was one that you will always remember with a smile.

We thank you for visiting The Alexander House and look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Kind regards,

TRAVIS and The Alexander House Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Address: 30 Glenview Road | Pilot's View, The Heads, Knysna, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Alexander 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in a prime position on the spectacular Knynsa Heads with panoramic views of the Indian Ocean from the middle and top decks of the house, The Alexander takes style, ambiance and personal service to new heights. Each of our six suites and rooms has been individually created using lavish furnishings, decorations and objects d’art to provide guests with a uniquely sensual environment for relaxation and recreation. From the moment you are offered a complimentary welcome drink on arrival you can expect to be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.