We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captivating Elegance ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Alexander to your Saves list
The Alexander
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   30 Glenview Road | Pilot's View, The Heads, Knysna, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 109 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Captivating Elegance ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

From the moment you walk into the front foyer … you know you have arrived. The Alexander House is simply stunning.

Completely surrounded by style and elegance, Wayne Alexander has left no detail to chance. The room which I stayed (The Royal Honeymoon Suite) was pure comfort. Combined with a private balcony overlooking the cliffs and ocean, one felt simply special.

Many reasons to recommend The Alexander House but on the short list ....

Fantastic and personal service by the staff, Quality food and beverages, a door to door driver service and more.

I was not disappointed and I look forward to my next stay ....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Good day Ms. Cuen,

Thank you so much for sharing your views and experience at The Alexander House, Knysna. We truly appreciate it when our guests take the time to share their experience and express their appreciation through their revue on Tripadvisor.

It was an absolute pleasure making your acquaintance and hosting you at The Alexander House, Knysna.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Alexander House someday in the near future.

Kind regards,

TRAVIS & The Alexander House Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    12
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
145
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I would like to thank everybody at The Alexander for a wonderful time we spent there on holiday - the 4 night were without a doubt a highlight for us.
The friendliness of the staff are second to none and the attention from owner and staff alike from the minute we arrived till we left is unsurpassed. The service was excellent, and breakfast outside on the deck was great - freshly baked bread, muffins and croissants, a selection of cheeses, cold cuts, jams and preserves, followed by eggs to order and a variety of extras...
The amazing setting on the Eastern Head gives one the most beautiful views. The fact that it is outside the bustle of the town centre adds to the ambience of this lovely place - and is easily overcome by the courtesy driver taking guests to the restaurants in town for dinner - what a lovely touch.
It is a place I will recommend to anybody and I hope that I might one day return to this gem again.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and book one of the suites - we stayed in the Royal Suite and it was spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Good day,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to share your personal experience of The Alexander House and are very proud knowing that you enjoyed your stay and had a "wonderful experience" with us.

We hope to be of service to you and your friends and family in the future.

Kind regards,

TRAVIS and The Alexander House Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

What can I say about a very good such as Alexander !!! The view is fantastic and the service is good also the honeymoon suit I love it so much . I recommend any body want to have good time to come and say what 5 star gust house should be

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Good day,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Alexander House, Knysna.

We are very proud to read your review and to know that your experience was one that you will always remember with a smile.

We thank you for visiting The Alexander House and look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Kind regards,

TRAVIS and The Alexander House Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

What a fantastic place! We experienced excellent service from Wayne and his staff members. The rooms are lush sanctuaries from which guests can enjoy the breathtaking views. This is an establishment which I am glad to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to revue your stay at The Alexander House, Knysna, on Tripadvisor. It was an absolute pleasure being of service to you and look forward to welcoming you back someday in the future.

Kind regards,

TRAVIS and The Alexander House Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding views and well appointed rooms. Fabulous private deck although was a tad chilly to be sitting outside for long but we enjoyed it nonetheless. The facility aside, the hospitality we received was unsurpassed. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Good day,

Thank you for sharing your views regarding your experience at The Alexander House, Knysna, on Tripadvisor.
I find it rewarding to read the words "Knysna Gem" as your reviews heading because we feel like we are the lucky ones who are able to offer guests such an experience in a little piece of Heaven known as Knysna. To be referred to as "Knysna Gem" is wonderful affirmation of the 5 star standards we strive for each and every day.

Thank you for taking the time to express your views. We are truly proud to read your review and look forward to being of service to you in the future.

Kind regards,

TRAVIS and The Alexander House Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Went there for our honeymoon and what a treat! Fantastic place to stay and the views are amazing! Wish we could have used the jacuzzi more! Absolutely stunning place and the staff are so friendly! Breakfast in the mornings were amazing!! Cant wait to go back!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Good day,

Thank you fro taking the time to submit a revue of your experience at The Alexander House in Knysna. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back someday soon.

Kind regards,

TRAVIS & The Alexander House Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I recommend this hotel to every honeymooner it is fantastic romantic hotel they have a very nice service , very clean and amazing rooms , and very nice view, you won't leave your room because its very comfortable , go for it I do recommend we went there in April and we spent there wonderful time in our honey moon

Room Tip: The royal suit one of the suit that they offer to honeymooners just mention that you are honey noone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne A, General Manager at The Alexander, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Good day,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Alexander House, Knysna, on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate that you took the time to share your experience and are happy to learn that your experience was a good one.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Alexander House and being of service to you in the future.

Kind regards,

TRAVIS & The Alexander House Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander

Address: 30 Glenview Road | Pilot's View, The Heads, Knysna, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Alexander 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in a prime position on the spectacular Knynsa Heads with panoramic views of the Indian Ocean from the middle and top decks of the house, The Alexander takes style, ambiance and personal service to new heights. Each of our six suites and rooms has been individually created using lavish furnishings, decorations and objects d’art to provide guests with a uniquely sensual environment for relaxation and recreation. From the moment you are offered a complimentary welcome drink on arrival you can expect to be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Knysna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.