We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Vibe Knysna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Island Vibe Knysna to your Saves list
Island Vibe Knysna
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   67 Main Street, Knysna 6750, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
1 review
“A nice place !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The staff is nice ..good location near the waterfront...you can meet a lot of others person from the rest of the world around a barbecue or in the pool but better on december :-P ..a lot of activities and tours.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Good day!

We are glad that your enjoyed your stay and barbecue! Please come and visit us again soon!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    29
    8
    5
    6
See reviews for
5
17
20
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hostel is good placed in Main Street, not far from bars and pubs.
If there is good weather- just jump into the pool and have barbecue with the other travelers..
Shower is hot and everything is clean enough to feel comfortable :)
The best thing: you get insider information for what you can do and the staff has an advice for the best township tour you can do!!!!
The drinks in the bar are cheap, so good start to go out afterwords.. :)

Room Tip: The dorms are great:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Good day!

It's great that you enjoyed your stay with us! You are welcome to visit us again anytime - hopefully soon!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Excellent service, good staff, very friendly, security very good, parking very secure. Walking distance to all amenities. Good value for money too. I sleepy in a very clean dorm, perfect toilets, very clean bending.

Room Tip: Perfect location for everything you need to do in Knysna
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Good day, Alain!
Thank you for your great review! We are so happy you had such a great stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We didn't like this place at all. Our bed stinks, the bathroom was dirty and there is just no atmosphere. It was rainy during our stay so maybe it is better when the sun is shining. I liked the guy who is working at the reception by the way. He was kind and although it was raining he braaied for us!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Good day! We are deeply sorry about your experience. We are graded 4-star, and have been for consecutive years. We try to live up to this standard, but we obviously did not during your stay. We sincerely apologise and hope that you will return soon to experience our 4-star reputation!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hey guys. We stopped over in Knysna for 2 nights in July. I was traveling with my 3 girls, which can be a challenge. When we checked in at Island Vibe Bev advised us where to go and what to do. Also, the safety talk was great. We were told where to walk during the day and where not to at night. We booked into the house which was great because we had the place to ourselves and felt like we were in a home away from home. The house had the comforts that a family or group would look for. We were taken on a tour of the Knysna Heads which was great. Orin was very informative on the tour. The Bar and outside area is nice and social and we got to meet other people from around the world. I can really recommend Island Vibe. Great value for money. Well done team!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Good day, Dallas!

We are so glad you had a great time at Island Vibe! Please come and visit us again for more in-house tours and a drink at the bar!
We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Had an awesome time in this hostel, great employees and management. Had a really fun time over there, rooms were fine. We organized a beer pong tournament with the hostel and we just had a great time overall, was a crazy night for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are so glad you had a good time at Island Vibe!
We hope you return soon for more beerpong!

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We are a family who needed cheap accommodation .it was cheap but as they say pay for what you get. It was not the cleanness place and no towels.I understand it is a backpackers but with a couple of kids who wants to travel with wet towels .Other backpackers we stayed at happily gave towles for a small deposit .the place was so noisy .once again I understand it is a back packer but even security could not control the party goers at 3 am and they ended up locking them in the room for for the rest of the night as they kept coming and going to their rooms banging doors and being really loud .
The parking is limited .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie B, Marketing at Island Vibe Knysna, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
I am so sorry that your stay was not up to standard. We have addressed your concerns with the staff and sincerely apologize for the problems you faced. We hope that you will return in the future for a relaxing and enjoyable time.

Kind regards,
Island Vibe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Vibe Knysna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vibe Knysna

Address: 67 Main Street, Knysna 6750, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Vibe Knysna 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Venere, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Island Vibe Knysna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Vibe Knysna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.