We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 34 South

34 South
Waterfront, Knysna Quays, Knysna 6570, South Africa
+27 44 382 7331
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 123 Restaurants in Knysna
Price range: $3 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Not exactly a restaurant... Not exactly a bar... Definitely not a deli... Well, not exactly a deli... It's an eating place, a drinking place and definitely a meeting place. And it's a gift shop, a clothing emporium, a food store, a fish monger and a bakery, too. And the finest wine shop this side of the grape curtain. And it's always on one, single line of latitude - the 34th parallel (but only on the Waterfront at the Knysna Quays).
Chessington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Great sushi! Enjoyable experience - would visit again. Convenient location and friendly helpful staff.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    358
    123
    65
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The restaurant was recommended by the staff at our hotel and we were not disappointed. Good food, excellent service. Enjoyed our experience with friends and family. Worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We came here for dinner as a family of 4. We had a great combination of local seafood and international comfort food. It tasted great, and was served promptly. Although son was an 'Oyster virgin', Dad praised the 34 South wild Oysters as the best he'd ever had! The waiter, Riccando, was kind and helpful and made sure to comply with our sometimes picky requests! A great Knysna restaurant at the waterfront. (Even though it lacks the waterside location).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“wonderful atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

we had 2 family evening meals here, having enjoyed the first night so much and went back. The staff were fun and the atmosphere was great. It was busy even out of season. Large portions of good quality food at a reasonable price.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, good food and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Fresh oysters, good wine and fresh linefish together with excellent service make for a great lunch. I can really recommend this restaurant. The sweets were the only disappointing part and are best avoided, but the rest makes up for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 34 South also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to 34 South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 34 South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.