We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively fish restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 34 South

34 South
Waterfront, Knysna Quays, Knysna 6570, South Africa
+27 44 382 7331
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 116 Restaurants in Knysna
Price range: $3 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Not exactly a restaurant... Not exactly a bar... Definitely not a deli... Well, not exactly a deli... It's an eating place, a drinking place and definitely a meeting place. And it's a gift shop, a clothing emporium, a food store, a fish monger and a bakery, too. And the finest wine shop this side of the grape curtain. And it's always on one, single line of latitude - the 34th parallel (but only on the Waterfront at the Knysna Quays).
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lively fish restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We didn't think that we would get a table because it was very busy and we hadn't booked. However the staff found us a seat close to the waterfront - just got a bit chilly by the end of the meal. Vibrant but somewhat frenetic atmosphere with a good choice of seafood - enjoyed king prawns!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    291
    102
    56
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Fresh Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The owner of the Knysna guest house where we are currently staying recommeded this place and said that the skewered Linefish was really good. We followed her recommendation and were very pleased. The service was fast and friendly. I might go back and try the sushi. Lastly, If you want to sit outside, be sure to make a reservation.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This used to be my first "port of call' over years - great T-shirts, good variety, top quality, now a waste of time and hyper expensive - avoid it !

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great place to eat at the Knysna Waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The place was very crowded, but the service was excellent as well as the food. We went back another day and had the same experience. A+

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Don't quite get it...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

People, including my local friends, love this place, but I have to say my food was just OK and the service was below average even for the region. I ate their twice (unfortunately); once solo, and was marooned to the sushi bar, as the only person sitting there. Which I get, but wasn't a great experience. The oysters weren't particularly good, which was sad for me given that their Knysna's specialty. This place would do in a pinch, but nothing special.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 34 South also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to 34 South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 34 South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.