We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish and sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 34 South

34 South
Waterfront, Knysna Quays, Knysna 6570, South Africa
+27 44 382 7331
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 124 Restaurants in Knysna
Price range: $3 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Not exactly a restaurant... Not exactly a bar... Definitely not a deli... Well, not exactly a deli... It's an eating place, a drinking place and definitely a meeting place. And it's a gift shop, a clothing emporium, a food store, a fish monger and a bakery, too. And the finest wine shop this side of the grape curtain. And it's always on one, single line of latitude - the 34th parallel (but only on the Waterfront at the Knysna Quays).
George, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great fish restaurant nice ambience, fresh fish and sushi belt. It is located in the famous waterfront of Knysna lagoon. Lots of lovely shops

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    358
    123
    66
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great seafood and sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went on a packed Wednesday and seemed to be the end of the rush. Our waitress Gabby was great, explaining its the start of the busy season and while its great its so busy, wishes she could interact with her customers more, which is a lovely sentiment. We chose to share the seafood platter for 1 and a 20 piece sushi platter. They ended up coming out at different times but the platter is so huge they both wouldn't have fit on the table. Our favourite part of the platter was the calamari, and there is plenty of food especially for one person. The sushi was freshly made and very tasty. Great place and clearly very popular.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
2 reviews
“Great Meal and Brilliant Services!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Came here for dinner over the busy weekend to treat my friend visiting from CPT. We ete from the delicious sushi menu. We had great service from Sasha. Very professional, and we would love to come again the next time she visits.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Repeat Customer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

34 South has become one of my 3 regular hangouts. Great prices and good food. Being a local, it's always interesting to see how visitors react. A friend from Japan chose to go back there a second time during her 5 day visit. More recently, a Durban friend chose them 3 times (also over 5 days) which says a lot for customer satisfaction in a town where we have so many good restaurants to choose from. Nazeem, Candice and Mike were terrific waitrons (yep, i'm getting to know everyone's names). Another Mike, a manager, must get big credit because he's always busy yet somehow finds the time to shake your hand and have a conversation. Excellent service. Thanks.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good place to eat for seafood and sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

good food at a reasonable price and great location. the staff are good and the location on the waterfront great on a good evening

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 34 South also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to 34 South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 34 South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.