We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambalala

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cambalala to your Saves list
Cambalala
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   46 Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 109 Knysna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ilexandra
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We spent nearly a week here over New Year's and enjoyed the beautiful garden, pool and gorgeous view. Fabulous breakfast on the terrace including delicious fresh fruit salad. The owners were very helpful in finding a doctor in spite of the holiday, getting special laundry done, and driving us to and from restaurants, even on New Year's Eve! I left a camera at a restaurant in Knysna and Nicole picked it up and mailed it home to me. We regretted having not chosen to stay at Cambalala to do the braai dinner on New Year's Eve as did the rest of the guests. Another night they opened up very nice bottle of wine for us to take out into the nicely furnished open tent pavillion. If I had posted a bit earlier I would have remembered many more nice things!

The rooms are really meant for couples with the bathroom separated from the bedroom only by a pretty transparent bead curtain. It made for a beautiful and light-filled space but it is all very intimate. There is also a guest toilet down the hall. We were friends traveling together and didn't mind but in an even more perfect world we would have preferred something with a bit more privacy.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
83
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is a truly amazing place to stay in Knysna. Modern and calm decor throughout and the most amazing gardens with stunning views from its elevated position overlooking Knysna. Too many extra touches to mention but surfice to say: this place will impress even the most discerning traveller.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed in Cambalala for three nights. The whole location is beautiful and the hosts were wonderful. The breakfast, especially the austrian bread, was perfect. I don't think that there is a better location at Knysna.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deutschland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Very nice B and B. Nicely appointed rooms, everything is very tasteful. The Garden is pretty with a great view and nice pool. The hosts, especially Nicole, were wonderful. They would even take you places and it generally felt like you were visiting friends. The minibar is inclusive and you can also enjoy a glass (or a bottle) of wine. The breakfast was very delicious. The only downside were the bathrooms, which are not closed of by a door from the rest of the room and it was quite pricey. but all together I would highly recommend staying at Cambalala when in Knysna.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed in Cambalala in January 2012 for two nights. What a beautiful location and what a nice and helpful owners! The atmosphere is cosy and relaxed. A rich breakfast (made by the owners) and a beautiful swimming (infinity) pool. Don't think about other hotels in Knysna; definitely go to Cambalala Guesthouse!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We have just spent two nights at this modern, stylish guest house. We treated ourselves to the luxurious honeymoon suite. Our room and bathroom were very spacious and equipped with ipod dock and tv. Breakfast included lovely bread from the local Austrian bakery, fresh fruit salad and eggs if required.The whole house is modern,airy and stylishly appointed with high quality fittings and furniture. Nice touches- mini bar and laundry included in the price. Our hosts, Nicole and Georgio Made us vey welcome with their hospitality and attention to detail. There is a stunning view from the terrace over knysna lagoon. We ate there on NewYears' Eve. We had a traditional Swiss evening with a meat fondue. Again stylishly presented and generously provided at a reasonable cost.

parking is avialable within the property. The guesthouse is situated on the edge of town may be a 20-30 minute walk. It is in a quiet residential area. A real plus. Free wireless internet is available in the lounge area

Room Tip: I think any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

This place is the best overall guesthouse that my wife and I experienced whilst in SA (tried 2 others whilst visiting the Garden Route) - from a fully stocked minibar, immaculate grounds, delicious breakfast, transport to/from dinner and first class hosts, this husband & wife team(+ Max) will not disappoint. Nice work and thank you to the Cambalala team!

Room Tip: check price difference between room types - worth opting for the largest room in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambalala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambalala

Address: 46 Circular Drive | Paradise, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambalala 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambalala is a luxury guest house ideally situated in Paradise with magnificent views over the lagoon. This is the perfect place to forget about the rest of the world and lose yourself in South Africa's favourite town. We proudly offer stylish and comfortable accommodation with the very best of service and hospitality. Each of the five double en-suite rooms emphasize comfort and exude style. High quality linen, underfloor heating, minibars, TVs, iPod docking systems, safes, Wi-Fi Internet access and Nespresso machines create suites that are left wanting nothing. Private balconies offer views over the beautiful indigenous garden and clear infinity pool which blends seamlessly with the panoramic lagoon views in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Cambalala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambalala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.