We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, unaffordable prices” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zachary's Restaurant

Zachary's Restaurant
Lagoon View Dr, Eastern Head | Conrad Pezula, Knysna 6570, South Africa
044 302 3364
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 120 Restaurants in Knysna
Price range: $20 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Named after the Chairman's much-loved and well-travelled Labrador, Zachary's is stylish and contemporary and reflects the five star luxury of the award-winning Conrad Pezula Resort & Spa. Upmarket without being intimidating, sophisticated but not pretentious, Zachary’s offers seasonal menus incorporating vegetables, fruit and herbs from the hotel’s organic gardens and the bounty of fresh produce available in the Garden Route area, reflecting a clean, honest approach to food with a unique style of its own.The restaurant’s award-winning wine list has twice received an Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator.
2 reviews
“Great food, unaffordable prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Seriously been to some of South Africa's best restuarants and Zachary's is up there with the the best with regards to quality of food and taste. But the rediculous prices left me with a horrible taste in my mouth! R300+ per main meal only is unjustified irrespective of the quality! 4,5 / 5 for food, 1 / 5 for the rest of the experience as our booking was misplaced, our bread never made it to the table and our bill was wrong first time (they actually added a R750 bottle of wine I did not have). Fix the prices or the service (both if possible) and I will give it another go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    6
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Top shelf dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The staff at Leisure Isle lodge recommended this restaurant as a fine dining experience and they were not wrong. The night was outstanding. The service was beyond question - subtle but ever present and the food was just to die for. The knowledge of wines by the wine staff ensured that we sipped on the best wine that suited our tastes
The cuisine matched anything we have experienced anywhere in the world.
A surprise oyster starter with lemon sorbet got the evening off to a culinary delight. The poached oysters with trout caviar was something to behold and the seared tuna was cooked to perfection. The chef's presentation of the food was also amazing.
By world standards the value for the experience and food options was far less than could be expected in class restaurants of world standard.
Well done Zachary's for a most enjoyable evening on a night saddened by the passing of Nelson Mandela.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trying but not succeeding in a fine dining experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

On our visit to Knysna we wanted to try a fine dining experience and had found Zachary's on trip advisor so decided to try it. Sadly most of the experience was one which did not match the high price we had to pay for our evening.

We started by choosing to have a per dinner drink in Noah's, the champagne and 'cocktail' bar. We were given a wine menu first. We asked the barman for the cocktail menu, selected our drinks and were then told that he had no ingredients to make any of the cocktails in the cocktail list so could we instead choose from the wine menu. Odd considering it was a cocktail bar.

We then moved to have dinner in Zachary's. We ordered our food and were then told after ordering what the specials were and were also given two baskets of bread-no car crashes, but when you're paying top money these things do build towards your overall impression. Our starters arrived and both were well presented and reasonably tasty. It was however our main courses which were a let down. The ribeye fillet was full of fat (worst steak we've had since being in South Africa), so we asked for a replacement. We were advised they would provide a sirloin which would be less fatty. Unfortunately this was apparently sent to another table in error so the replacement steak was no better. That was after having watched the waitress try to serve our food to two other tables before bringing it to us. Our final dish was the interestingly priced chocolate cake at R110. It was nicely presented but sadly again the taste did not come close to being worth it.

The manager did kindly remove one of our main courses from our bill and also gave us our per dinner drinks on the house as well to make up for it which was appreciated.

Our advice though is to save your money and eat instead at some of Knysna's other delicious restaurants like firefly - a totally different experience for dining but much much better food. To qualify we've eaten at some of the worlds best Michelin star restaurants.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“An experience not to miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Starting with the decor and design which is very special you know this will not be any ordinary outing and it isn't. The service is exceptional, with great attention to detail. The food both delicious and imaginative. The chef pulls it all off with great presentation. The wine list is daunting in size and scope but with great guidance and insight from the sommelier, we enjoyed superbly paired wines that complemented the food (an early 2000's Sauvignon Blanc gives you a hint). All round a meal to remember and repeat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed the weekend at Pezula and decided to dine at Zachary's both nights as it would be easier than driving into town. And what a good decision this turned out to be! It was absolutely the best food we've had in this country (and we've been to a lot of the top restaurants). There was nothing to be faulted on any of the dishes on either night - every mouthful was amazing. Geoffrey Murray is my new food hero! On top of that we had the assistance of a very friendly and knowledgeable sommelier called Cecil. He did some stunning wine pairings which complemented the food perfectly. If you can only go to one restaurant this year, then make it Zachary's. Foodie heaven!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zachary's Restaurant also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Zachary's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zachary's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.