We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zachary's Restaurant

Zachary's Restaurant
Lagoon View Dr, Eastern Head | Conrad Pezula, Knysna 6570, South Africa
044 302 3364
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 116 Restaurants in Knysna
Price range: $20 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Named after the Chairman's much-loved and well-travelled Labrador, Zachary's is stylish and contemporary and reflects the five star luxury of the award-winning Conrad Pezula Resort & Spa. Upmarket without being intimidating, sophisticated but not pretentious, Zachary’s offers seasonal menus incorporating vegetables, fruit and herbs from the hotel’s organic gardens and the bounty of fresh produce available in the Garden Route area, reflecting a clean, honest approach to food with a unique style of its own.The restaurant’s award-winning wine list has twice received an Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator.
Queenstown, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We visit Zachary's at least once a holiday. The food is really, really good and the wine list is extensive. Ambience is great, and so is the service. Highly recommendable for that special dinner.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Arrow69,

Thank you for your loyal support and recommendation. We are pleased that we impress you and hope to see you at Zachary's again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    6
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Callaway, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I guarantee you will not have a dining experience like this anywhere else. The staff is courteous and attentive, the sommelier is knowledgeable and the food is creative, local and superbly cooked! Not to be missed!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Autumn T,

Thank you very much for a wonderful review of our commitment to cooking locally and with absolute integrity. Your review is valued and appreciated.

Kind Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Paying alot for huge fuss, but terrible in my review.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Went as couple, 1st atmosphere was dead. Wine expensive and food, the starter and pudding super; but main course terrible to call it the least. If you want to ask high price, I suggest you give quality. Service was good, but main food and bill terrible !!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier12, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Centrino583,

This response is way overdue and I do aplogise for that. It is unfortunate that you did not have a wonderful experience with us. We strive for perfection and reviews like yours remind us that we can always improve.

Thank you for taking the time to write the review and being honest about your experience. We have done some changes over the past weeks and months which I think you will enjoy should you decide to visit us again.

Kind Regards

Gert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Hearty food, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We ordered pasta, pizza and salad and it was simple but delicious. The restaurant was busy but the atmosphere relaxed. If it wasn't pouring, I would have loved to sit outside to enjoy more of the gorgeous view. As it turned out, it was cosier inside!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, N.Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A definite must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Fabulous food, in fabulous surroundings, excellent service. The strange thing was we were the only people in the restaurant (6 of us) which was really quite surreal. Come on people, you must try this place.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zachary's Restaurant also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Zachary's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zachary's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.