We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well managed, highly recommendable place for a quiet, relaxing stay next to the indigenous forest for nature lovers.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat to your Saves list
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Farm 118 | Edge of Indigenous Forest, Garden Route, Knysna 6576, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Mauritius
1 review
“Well managed, highly recommendable place for a quiet, relaxing stay next to the indigenous forest for nature lovers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Lovely hikes which can be organised on the spot. Can be lovely with or without kids. Well equipped, with small kitchen and barbecue. Chimney also well appreciated in winter. Cottages are very private and the shower outside under the stars, is a great experience. The management was very helpful as well. The possibility of being close to Knysna and beautiful beaches while staying in a quiet place is great.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    17
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
135
189
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Tranquil and beautiful. A true outdoors experience that will stay with us forever. We will definitely recommend to anyone and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOSSEL BAY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

One experience here the times, long ago, of romantic living in the virgin forest and the warm welcome make a stay here indescribable pleasant!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLettenebrg bay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

The little cottage has everything you would need. They are truly built on the edge of the forest. At night you can hear the forest come alive. There is so many activities to choose from. We decided to walk down to the river, almost killed us coming back - just because we were not in shape, but would do it again in a heartbeat. If you need to break away to clear your head and find some of your soul again, do yourself a favor and spend a day or two at this amazing spot.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Bring along your books, hiking shoes and lots of red wine!!!! Please make sure that you book either breakfast or dinner at the Red Barn Restaurant close to Forest Edge, the food and atmosphere is something special. Forest Edge will defenitely see us again, what a magical place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackenfell, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We could't have chosen a better place for our fourth year wedding anniversary! The "froggy pond" cottage had everything we needed! The service is beyond excellent. Ronel and her staff are one of a kind! We will definitely be back and we will telling everyone we know about Forest Edge!
All you have to do is sit back and enjoy the nature!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We were looking for much needed peace and quiet to bring back the focus we acquire in our lives far away from city life, bustling noises and constant decision making. What we found was all the building blocks to recovery, spread out on a holiday makers table accompanied by a friendly smile on arrival. Staring into the distance from our outdoors shower I felt like this is how life should be. We loved the eco-vibe, living with nature and handling life giving water with due respect. An in and outdoor fire place is fabulous to set the desired mood, a lit lantern on the veranda to lure closer the fireflies and all this from the comfort of a lazy hammock next to the forest's edge. BEAUTIFUL !!!!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat

Address: Farm 118 | Edge of Indigenous Forest, Garden Route, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Edge is ideal for Honeymooners, Mountain-bikers, Birdwatchers, trail-walkers and nature-loving families. We specialise in romantic getaways to help you destress and re-connect. Ideally situated to enjoy the trails, forest rock pools and picnic spots or to just chill on your veranda with binocs, a book or sundowners. There are 5 free-standing exceptionally well-equipped, comfortable, self-catering cottages; 2 Standard and 3 Luxury cottages. The luxury cottages include complimentary WiFi and Full Satellite DSTV and have a Queen instead of a Double bed in the main bedroom. We offer breakfast baskets by prior arrangement, to be delivered to your cottage for you to prepare when it suits you - convenience at its best! Although there is no spa on site, we have several mobile massage and beauty therapists that can attend to your needs right in the privacy of your cottage. Come rejuvenate in the Magic of the Forest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.