We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had the most wonderful and memorable experience at Forest Edge far exceeding our wildest expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat to your Saves list
Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat
3.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Farm 118 | Edge of Indigenous Forest, Garden Route, Knysna 6576, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
1 review
“We had the most wonderful and memorable experience at Forest Edge far exceeding our wildest expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We arrived at dusk to the most romantic forest cottage set at the forest's edge. Ronel is extremely well organized and had already switched the lights on for us. The cottage, built in the style of the woodcutters of old, was immaculate and luxuriously appointed. Everything and all information we needed was provided for in the cottages. It was incredible to shower outside under the stars and this set the tone for the rest of our stay.
The grounds are immaculate and we felt extremely safe. A 10 km hike into the heart of the forest exceeded our wildest and most romantic fantasies!
I would most certainly recommend this very special place to anyone and will definitely return very soon! Congratulations to all at Forest Edge for making our stay so special!
Hedley Peter, Citrusdal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    17
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
135
189
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Forest Edge is Definitely a Nature-Lovers Retreat where one can be one with nature and just let the atmosphere and clean fresh air rejuvenate and cleanse one's MIND, BODY, SOUL & SPIRIT.

You will feel like a new person and ready to take on the world. Ronel is so Humble and polite and really takes her time to get to know her guests. Her staff is very kind and friendly and always goes that extra mile to make us feel special. My wife and I will definitely be back. Jerome and Chantel Walker

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised to find Forest Edge exactly the way it was described to us by Friends, not to far from the town of Knysna but far enough to have a full night sky of stars and be right on the door step of the Forest that makes you think 'we should come here more often'
A wonderful Getaway that is very well kept with professional Owners/managers that welcome you when you arrive.

Room Tip: They all have their own character so just enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The owner was very polite and gave us some free extras on arrival due to difficulties whilst paying (on our end, not Forest Edge's fault). The setting is very picturesque, but still very safe, and perfect for those who love walking and wildlife. If you want a luxury 5 star hotel then this is not for you, but if you want a pretty cottage where you can braii every night, see millions of stars and enjoy wildlife then Forest Edge is perfect! Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We toured the garden route for our honemoon, out of the five places we stayed forest edge was by far our favourite. The staff was very friendly and the feel of the cottages is so cosy and romantic. I will definitely return to Forest edge.

Room Tip: All the cottages are pretty much the same. We stayed in froggy pond ans as the name suggest we looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed there for 2 Nights and thought it was absolutely amazing! You feel like you're far away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Friendly staff and animals. The cottage has everything one needs including DVDs you can watch on a cold evening. Definately one of the better places we've ever been.

Algie & Rowena Jooste

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

we had a great 3 day stay at this establishment. very comfy little cottages with all the amenities we needed. great for the kids with safe grounds and jungle gym etc. and 2 donkeys to visit. walks in the indigenous forest are magical. 5 cottages makes it a good place to be with friends/family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat

Address: Farm 118 | Edge of Indigenous Forest, Garden Route, Knysna 6576, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Forest Edge is ideal for Honeymooners, Mountain-bikers, Birdwatchers, trail-walkers and nature-loving families. We specialise in romantic getaways to help you destress and re-connect. Ideally situated to enjoy the trails, forest rock pools and picnic spots or to just chill on your veranda with binocs, a book or sundowners. There are 5 free-standing exceptionally well-equipped, comfortable, self-catering cottages; 2 Standard and 3 Luxury cottages. The luxury cottages include complimentary WiFi and Full Satellite DSTV and have a Queen instead of a Double bed in the main bedroom. We offer breakfast baskets by prior arrangement, to be delivered to your cottage for you to prepare when it suits you - convenience at its best! Although there is no spa on site, we have several mobile massage and beauty therapists that can attend to your needs right in the privacy of your cottage. Come rejuvenate in the Magic of the Forest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Forest Edge Nature-lovers' Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.