We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Guest House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Castollini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Castollini to your Saves list
Villa Castollini
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Brenton-on-Sea Road | Brenton Hill, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 102 Knysna B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Guest House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had three nights at this delightful family run guest house, the staff were very friendly and very welcoming from the moment we drove up. Lovely Italian style rooms, everything you could want in a charming holiday area. The breakfast was yummy, with everything cooked fresh from a full english to eggs benedict. Nothing was too much trouble but as in all South Africa a car is a must as up a hill and too far to walk to town.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
25
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Villa Castollini provided the perfect venue for our daughter's wedding, 30 September 2012. All the guests had a fabulous stay and the preparations for the ceremony on the beach and the reception at the Villa were professionally overseen by Nan, her staff and the recommended service providers. Even a 9 hour power outage didn't cause a ripple on the day.To top it all, the weather was just as ordered! We will have wonderful memories of Jessica's wedding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We spent two nights at Villa Castollini as my sister was celebrating her wedding there as well.
The accommodation was neat and tasteful and the view from our room took my breath away.
Breakfast in the morning was a treat with our own personal chef - Nan.
The wedding took place on a cold grey day but the manner in which the wedding reception was setup, one would not even know that it was a cold winters day - Nan and her team went out of their way to make everything perfect for my sister's wedding! Thank you to Nan, Patrick and the team for a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We got married at the Villa in January this year and couldn't have asked for a better venue.

* stunning views
* great service from Nan, Patrick and the team
* beautiful, comfortable rooms
* relaxing atmosphere
* great swimming pool
* reasonable bar prices

And a big postive for us is that you can take your dog, as long as they are well behaved and socialised. Our dog had a ball with the resident dogs.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sole suite which has an amazing view over the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

As regular visitors to South Africa, this is our favourite destination to start the holiday: The tranquil setting with its stunning vistas immediately demands you relax and breathe in the wonderful healing nature of the venue. The proprietors, Nan and Patrick, are the perfect hosts achieving a great balance between attention and discretion: Their attention to detail is first class. The food is always very fresh, of excellent quality and well presented. Our stay was faultless!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Our experience here was excellent. The room was amazing, great views, prime treatment by Nam and Patrick. They make the place even better!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Nan and Patrick run this beautiful B&B in a delightful way. They are very welcoming and friendly, yet leave you to enjoy the privacy you want. The rooms are stunning. We had the cheapest room which was still wonderfully equipped and spacious although, if it's a view you're after, it may be worth paying a bit more to see the lagoon. The views over the lagoon are breathtaking - a nicer spot for an al-fresco breakfast is hard to imagine. Yes, it's more expensive than some other places but the old adage of "you get what you pay for" certainly rings true. We were guests at a wedding which was held at Villa Castollini - Nan and her team did a wonderful job and I would recommend it as an option for anyone looking for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Castollini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Castollini

Address: Brenton-on-Sea Road | Brenton Hill, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Castollini 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Castollini sits perched high up on the prestigious Western Head of the Garden Route town of Knysna. This remarkable Tuscan styled 5 star guest house is known for having one of the most spectacular and breathtaking views in South Africa. If your idea of a great getaway is a haven of privacy, luxurious and comfortable accommodation, superb breakfasts, warm and nurturing surrounds and hosts that offer genuine hospitality and a "nothing is too much trouble" philosophy, then the Villa has to be your first choice. The management, staff and our friendly resident dogs will ensure that you have a wonderful stay at the Villa. "Enter as Strangers and Leave as Friends" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Castollini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Castollini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.