We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep with the Elephants” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Knysna Elephant Park Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knysna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knysna Elephant Park Lodge
Save
You added Knysna Elephant Park Lodge to your Saves list
National Road (N2), Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Sleep with the Elephants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We spent a night at the Knynsa Elephant Park Lodge. What unique experience! Where else can you sleep in the same building as the elephants.
Our room was great, just as you'd want it. Small kitchen if you wanted to self cater, we didn't. Everything else was just as you'd hope. The lounge area was great, it overlooked the elephants so you could watch them whenever you wanted.
They didnt make much noise until about 6.30am, so you get a reasonable nights sleep

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Caterham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

What a wonderful experience and a great way to meet and learn about the elephants before going off on safari. Staff were friendly and knowledgable. The room was a higher standard than expected; the luxury rooms were booked and we were told that ours would be more basic. The communal area was comfortable and a great place to see the elephants indoors at night. It was raining when we arrived so our first introduction was to wet and muddy elephants. The next morning was beautiful for our walk with the elphants, a totally different experience. It was lovely to feed the elephants and to see their different characters. The restuarant was unexpectedly open for "Valentines" day. We had a lovely three course meal; it was so nice not having to drive out which was what we had expected.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Took the family whilst staying in knysna. Great day out and so interesting, a must see when you are in Knysna the involvement with all the family was very educational and the kids enjoyed feeding the young Elephants

Room Tip: Kids enjoyed feeding the y lung Elephant's
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

What can I say I was hoping this was going to be an amazing experience for me and it was. The room and communal lounge was lovely seeing the elephants was amazing and I have to say it was not very smelly. It was a little bit noisy in the night but the rooms were well back so there was no smell or loud noises. Again the one we were not able to walk them back to the boma because they went off to give elephant rides and we were not told when they would be coming back so we were in our room when they returned. I was disappointed that we did not get to ride on them but I was told they were full. It was amazing going out with them in the morning for a walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at the Knysna Elephant Park for two nights in a luxury room. The accommodation is of a high standard - quality furnishings and lovely finishes. We were very pleased with the accommodation as soon as we stepped into the room. Even the standard rooms are great. Our room came with a private jacuzzi and was very spacious and clean. The communal lounge from where you can watch the elephants sleep at night is a very unique experience. The staff are well-trained and provide great, friendly service. The experience with the elephants is truly special. Keep up the great work and service! Thank you for a memorable stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are of a good standard. The main difference between luxury rooms and standard rooms is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanton Zürich
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at this lodge incidentally and never regretted it! Really the authentic african feeling if you do not have the time to visit Addo or one of the other parks! It was lovely to do the morning walk with the elephants before the other tourists arrived! We also had supper at the lodge, which we had to order before 17.30. The food was placed in an oven near our room to keep it warm and we enjoyed a wonderful evening on our private balcony overlooking the farm!

Room Tip: Our room war right next to the elephants' sleeping den and we could look at them in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We went and stayed for one night last week and it was a great stay. We were in room 4, one of the cheaper ones, but it didn't feel cheap at all. It was very spacious, nicely decorated, chololate on the pillows etc. Anything more luxurious wouldn't really feel like staying with the elephants. The view over the sleeping quarters of the elephants was amazing. There are plenty of sofas, cushions, blankets and a tea/coffee making facility in the lounge, so one can sit warm and watch the elephants eat. We originally went to show our three year old some elefants, but my husband and I were even more impressed than our son;-) And if you stay there you can go on as many tours as you like! It really was worth it and we will certainly return if we ever are in that part of the country again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Knysna Elephant Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knysna Elephant Park Lodge

Address: National Road (N2), Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Knysna
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knysna Elephant Park Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.