We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Panorama Lodge

Save Saved
You added Panorama Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Panorama Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   14 Galjoen Street | Fisher Haven, Knysna 6570, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 99 Knysna B&B and Inns
Burghausen
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place with great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed for three nights in November 2013. I have booked the Panorama Lodge because I was travelling with my family, who do not speak a lot of English and thought they might enjoy german speaking hosts. Well, they did. A beautiful house with a spacious lounge, beautifully decorated and very clean rooms, a deck with a fantastic view over the lagoon and knowledgable and very friendly hosts. Dieter and Tina also arranged restaurant reservations for us (a must in Knysna, otherwise you wont get a table in the good restaurants) and also made tee time reservations for special prices in the surrounding golf courses. Again thank you very much - next time in SOuth Africa we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
44
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent a week in the Panorama Lodge/ Knysna and it was fantastic! Tina and Dieter are great hosts and made it memorable holiday for the four of us. Dieter spent time with us whenever necessary to give us the best tips for daytrips, restaurants and beaches in the area. The views over the lagoon are breathtaking. We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Try the the new cottage which can take it up with any 5* accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortenberg, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Great stay
We stayed two nights in this splendidly located B&B. Way up in the hills around Knysna, you get to enjoy a spectacular sunset over the Lagoon from their deck. Dieter, the host, has so many tips of what can be done in the neighborhood that you can easily leave your Lonely Planet home. 
We felt as if visiting friends again, although this was the first time we stopped here. These hosts have a way of making you feel at home immediately!
On top of that, the accommodation was lovely, spotlessly clean and well maintained.
Recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Dieter was a great host. He sat down with us and gave us a map of the area and went over what he suggested we see with the time that we had. Their lodge is gorgeous inside and very clean. The view from the deck is fantastic! Breakfast was tasty as well. The room was delayed in having the heat on for our arrival so it was pretty chilly in one of our rooms, but the rooms were very clean and comfortable. I wish we stayed more than one night as it was a beautiful town!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Hosts were very nice and helpful. We were surprised with the lovely view. Dieter greeted us and spent time helping us with the area and what to do, etc. Very clean and homey too! I would definitely recommend this place to any family who wants a good value in a beautiful place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

They did not call it Panorama Lodge by chance. A wonderful view over the Knysna lagoon. But that is not (all) what makes this B&B special. The real treasure are the hosts. Dieter and Tina are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Very good advise on trips and restaurants. We loved our two nights there and we will be back for sure next time we are in the area.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

We spent 3 nights a Panorama Lodge Guest House on a B&B basis recently whilst touring South Africa and the Garden Route.

On arrival we were greeted by Dieter who made us all feel very welcome at once and showed us around the house. He assisted us with our luggage as well. Shortly after our arrival Dieter joined us on the veranda to show us the local map and the sights and places we should visit - which was great. He also booked us a table at a local restaurant and a boat trip during our stay. In the evenings he would also join us for a drink and chat about what we had done for the day. All very informal and genuine.

The accommodation was lovely, spotlessly clean and well maintained. The house itself is situated high on a hillside with fantastic views of Knysna and "The Heads".

Breakfast was lovely with a good choice of cold buffet items, as well as freshly cooked bacon and eggs.

We used the pool one evening for a quick dip before heading out to dinner and took advantage of sitting on the veranda watching the sun set with a cold beer/glass of wine also!

The only niggle we had was that on the morning we checked out we asked Tina if we could split the bill in to three - as we were travelling as 3 separate families, which seemed to be a problem. We did leave feeling a little let down by the way in which our request had been handled. We are certain this was maybe something to do with charges incurred for credit card transactions, which we would have been more than happy to have paid - but this was not explained to us.

Having said that - this is by no means a criticism of the accommodation, views, perfect sunsets and the hospitality shown to us during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Panorama Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Lodge

Address: 14 Galjoen Street | Fisher Haven, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Knysna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panorama Lodge in Knysna, South Africa, is situated on top of a hill in a quiet area. There are panoramic views of the Knysna Lagoon and Heads and in the distance the Outeniqua Mountains. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere in our Guesthouse (Bed & Breakfast), in Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa, in the Heart of the Garden Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Panorama Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panorama Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.