We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Ambience, Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chatters Bistro

Chatters Bistro
9a Grey Street, Knysna, South Africa
0443820203
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 115 restaurants in Knysna
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Ambience, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The christmassy feeling that you get when you enter the place with little things like offering a stole/blanket type thing to keep us warm to being really informative about food in general (Pizzas and wine in particular). It was a fantastic experience. For some reason the owners of the place didn't really come to our table and ask us about our experience , which was kinda disappointing coz they had gone to every table surrounding us and the fact that we wanted to tell them how much we liked the place. But it was kinda made up by the energetic and bubbly girl who took our order. I don't remember her name and I'm not supposed to remember her either (I was on my honeymoon .. I should have eyes only for my wife :P). She made several trips to and fro figuring out exactly what would make the already fantastic night awesome...

The food was nice, the candle lit table along with the broader ambience of the place was nice, the pretty girl taking our order was nice. It was a perfect evening for us.

Btw if there are any vegetarians reading this .. There were quite a few options for vegetarians as well which was kinda the icing on the cake!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    130
    70
    10
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice pizzas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Pretty nice pizzas and an overall nice environment. Perhaps a little too much emphasis on the wine list over the actual food menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Great people, nice atmosphere next to fireplace...delicious wood-fire pizzas...love the wine...best in town...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caoe Town
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pizza Supreme”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Quaint, great atmosphere and the best pizza I have had in a long long time. Staff are caring, you even get blankets for the cold winter air.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Changed BYO policy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Being a local and a regular visitor to many restaurants in Knysna we enjoy friendly atmospheres, good food and the ability to BYO (obviously with payment of corkage fee) To our surprise we arrived one evening to be told in no uncertain terms that our wine was not allowed- no corkage anymore, not even for locals - drink only their wine. So as not to spoil our evening I perused their wine list but after seeing the "new" loaded prices decided to take our business elsewhere. I think this is a very shortsighted approach by Chatters as most restaurants in Knysna allow BYO and patrons rarely abuse this practice. Rather put your corkage up if you must. The way it was handled was most embarrassing as the waitress, on seeing our bottle, let out a shriek before running off to call the owner, so much so that all the other patrons stared at us as though we had committed an unspeakable crime. We were also not informed of their "no byo" at the time of booking

We have always enjoyed our meals at Chatters and having no problem with byo -till now. Will be trying out the new Pizza restaurant (Calcacio's) opening this month on Thesen island next to the Turbine hotel. Mario's also deliver a great pizza and you can byo!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatters Bistro also viewed

Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Chatters Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatters Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.