We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Excellent Evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbour Rock

The Harbour Rock
Site 24A, New Harbour, Hermanus, South Africa
+27 28 3122920
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 77 Restaurants in Hermanus
Price range: $9 - $27
Cuisines: Sushi, African, Seafood, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
England
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Excellent Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Booked a table following the recommendation of other guests where we were staying and we were not disappointed. We were lucky to be able to get a window table overlooking the harbour which added to the evening. The service was excellent and could not be faulted, we requested some slight changes to the menu and this was no problem. We had the Thai menu and requested our food spicy hot, it was delicious and could not be faulted. This was our last night in Hermanus and eating here was a lovely way to spend it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    143
    40
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great views and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Had a very enjoyable family meal at the Harbour Rock. Stunning views of Harbour,sea and mountains. Relaxed atmosphere with indoor and outdoor seating. Excellent personal service from waiter. Good choice of food. Sushi was the best, fresh and tasty.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very nice, characterful restaurant specialising in seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a very enjoyable meal at the Harbour Rock one evening during our stay in Hermanus. They catered very well for the three vegetarians in our group of four, though it was a little embarrassing having to smile through the long list of meat and fish options the efficient and friendly waitress offered us! The oriental food they offered was good, the setting down-to-earth in a good way and the service pleasant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent personal service from attentive waiter.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Ate here last night. It had been booked by our B&B and came recommended. Took some finding in the dark but imagine the setting is idyllic. It was blue moon night and the clouds thinned for the moon to have an outstanding effect on the swelling waters. Waiter was superb at this busy restaurant. Good choice of food. Lobster Bisque delicious, good wine selection, tried both fish and steak dishes which were very tasty. Great atmosphere and a sushi selection available if wanted.... It appeared to be very popular. Draft Castle beer also on tap!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
2 reviews
“Was that a Club Steak?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nice setting and table was reserved as expected having a view of the harbor. The service was good and the waiter very friendly. The sushi starter was good and fairly priced. But, O Boy, the mains was a disaster, maybe we should have stayed with the seafood dishes, it being a seafood restaurant, but they had such a tempting chef’s choice black board menu that we couldn't resist. A 300g rib-eye steak (on the bone) at R150 was served with about 6 thick cut chips and a red wine sauce. The rib-eye was less than 1 cm thick, making it hard for any chef to prepare medium rare. The steak was surrounded with 2cm fat and so many sinews that it was un-eatable. We only complain after settling the bill, don't expect any free lunches.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harbour Rock also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to The Harbour Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbour Rock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.