We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing return visit; top marks:)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mosselberg On Grotto Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mosselberg On Grotto Beach to your Saves list
Mosselberg On Grotto Beach
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   253A 10th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 82 Hermanus B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An amazing return visit; top marks:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

After being getting married at the Mosselberg in Oct 2009, we returned for a three night 'nostalgia' stay with our 3 year old son and we had a wonderful time. Our only minor disappointment was that there were no whales frolicking in the bay this time (wrong time of year) - but you can't have everything!
We note in some reviews people refer to it being a 'guest house' rather than a hotel, which is a matter of opinion. Not sure (neither do we care) how the distinction is made - in our view it is definitely a hotel! We prefer small, boutique hotels; with six rooms in an amazing setting, Mosselberg fits the bill perfectly. The food excellent, the service attentive, the building stunning and the location absolutely amazing.
Linda and the team are brilliant; dinner recommendations and reservations are efficiently handled, as well as providing great suggestions for what to see and do around Hermanus.
The hotel is a short walk from Grotto Beach; it was really lovely to be able to take an easy stroll through some amazing plant-life/vegetation and get to the beach so quickly from the hotel.
Some interesting beach houses to look at on the way too...
Mosselberg's styling and architecture is very contemporary (which is why we love it) and has a great open plan, beach house feel. We stayed in the Southern Right suite, which is a massive, beautiful room with a balcony, superb sea view, an incredible bathroom running the length of the room as well as plenty of storage (including a separate dressing room). We had dinner on one night of our stay and it was lovely to be able to chat with Danae (the chef) about what to serve our son (instead of getting the standard "with chips" kids menu! The Mosselberg has a domestic rather than industrial scale kitchen usual in restaurants/hotels, therefore prep/cooking takes a little longer, but it is well worth it; both the food and service was very good. Breakfasts on the terrace are great too. All in all, a lovely place.
We're not sure when we'll return to Hermanus, but we definitely know where we'll be staying when we do:)

Room Tip: The Southern Right room really is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V, Manager at Mosselberg On Grotto Beach, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Guests

It is truly great to know that you had a wonderful stay with us at African Pride Mosselberg on Grotto Beach. Thank you for taking the time to write this review of our property.
Myself and the Mosselberg TEAM hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Sout Africa again.
Thank you
Take care

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
55
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We spent two nights at Mosselberg in the Sugarbird Suite and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. The design and décor, incorporating numerous modern and African works of art, has been facilitated by someone who clearly knows their stuff and as a result this luxurious guesthouse is both classy and comfortable. It reminded us of a smaller scale version of The House in Barbados, another wonderful hotel. It's a short walk to Grotto Beach which is great for a pre or post prandial stroll and a five minute drive to the centre of Hermanus. We ate here one of our nights and the dinner was very good with a small but perfectly formed wine list.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V, Manager at Mosselberg On Grotto Beach, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Mosselberg on Grotto beach!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Country House and the lovely walks on Grotto beach.
Please contact us if we can be of any assistance on your next visit to Hermanus, should you decide to come back in the near future.
Kind Regards

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

This place as all the right elements apart from, the fact that there is no air conditioning and if it's hot you have to keep windows open and even with bug spray, we have never been bitten so much! We were covered, especially our faces where we have never been bitten before.
Our other negative would be that the manager on duty during our stay was far from welcoming or friendly with no recommendations or info other than if you specifically requested something.
We would only return if there were air con installed and the only room we would want to stay in, would be the Whale suite, we were in the Wild Olive.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V, Manager at Mosselberg On Grotto Beach, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear salbags

Thank you for taking the time to post a response on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience with regards to the mosquitoes during your stay. Alhough we cannot control this, we do our best by providing insect repellent in the rooms. In light of your comments, we have now put additional burners in the rooms as well as close all doors, spray repellent and put the fans on during turndown.

We aim to provide the best GUEST service at our property and I have sat down with the TEAM to discuss your comments.

I hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Best stay in one of SA's best towns. From the moment we arrived we realized that Mosselberg on Grotto has something special and different to offer. The attention to detail is visible. Food is great and the rooms makes you feel like royalty. I will recommend this establishment to all travelers to Hermanus. It is not that often that you come across a hotel that is extraordinary but Mosselberg is definitely one of the few.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V, Manager at Mosselberg On Grotto Beach, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guests

It's Great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Mosselberg on Grotto Beach!
Thank you for your review, and we hope to accommodate you on your next visit to Hermanus again.
Please contact us if you have any questions.
Kind Regards

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

During December 2013 we stayed for one night in the Sugarbird suite.

Great stay, good location, great view. Walking distance from the beach.

We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Very good. Good wine list.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V, Manager at Mosselberg On Grotto Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guests

Thank you, for sharing your thoughts of your stay with us at AP Mosselberg on Grotto Beach!
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the one night stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent 7 nights at this wonderful hotel. Every aspect of our stay was indeed first class. Magnificent Sugarbird suite, great breakfasts and easy walking distance to the beach. Our boys loved the night-time turndown, the pool table and table tennnis. Hope to be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V, Manager at Mosselberg On Grotto Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Guest

It is always great to know that our Guests enjoyed their stay at AP Mosselberg on Grotto Beach!
Hope to accommodate you and your family in the near future as well.
Thank you for your review.
Kind regards

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stunning modern guesthouse with amazing attention to detail. Beautiful furnishings and works of Africa art contributed to a simply superb stay!

We were pleasantly surprised on arrival as we were expecting a run of the mill hotel and instead found something rather unique. Right on the beach, fantastic rooms, quiet location away from the main hub. Excellent seaviews, ideally placed for whale watching when in season. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda V, Manager at Mosselberg On Grotto Beach, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guests

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your recent stay at our beautiful award winning architect designed Country house, African Pride Mosselberg on Grotto Beach!
Thank you for taking the time to place your valuable review on this site.
We would love to welcome you back on your next visit to SA!
Compliments of the season to you and your family
Thank you
Kind Regards

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mosselberg On Grotto Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosselberg On Grotto Beach

Address: 253A 10th Street | Voelklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mosselberg On Grotto Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Pride Mosselberg on Grotto Beach is a luxurious 5 star Country House with spectacular views of the majestic Mosselberg mountains and the Blue Flag Grotto Beach in Hermanus. From June to November you can see the Southern Right whales from your bedroom lounge! Designed by an award-winning architect, Mosselberg Country House has a pool and a huge deck on the sea side. Each room has its own entrance, a sea-facing balcony and the option of king-size or 2 single beds. Bring the kids, there are sleeper couches available in some of the bedrooms. The rooms are luxuriously appointed with a bar fridge, coffee kitchenette, safe, TV, under floor heating, fans, and full en-suite bathrooms with twin basins and heated towel rails. Wake up to our world class, superb continental and English breakfasts, which are served on the deck or on the veranda around the pool. If outdoor adventure is on the cards; there is access to a mountain bike trail, fantastic walks and scenic hikes on the beach, in the Fernkloof Nature Reserve or along the cliff path. Mosselberg is also conveniently located 4.5km from the Hermanus Golf course and 24km from Arabella. With activities suited to all weather conditions, choose from a relaxing swim in our pool, read a book in the lounge or play a game of pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Mosselberg On Grotto Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosselberg On Grotto Beach Hotel Hermanus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mosselberg On Grotto Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.