We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss eating here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SeaFood at The Marine

SeaFood at The Marine
Marine Drive | at The Marine Hermanus, Hermanus, South Africa (Formerly Seafood at The Marine)
+27 28 313 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 77 Restaurants in Hermanus
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Inspired by Mrs. McGrath's visit to the Harrods' seafood counter, SeaFood at The Marine is a must-try whether you're staying at The Marine or just visiting Hermanus. Offering diners a contemporary and relaxed environment, with an emphasis on fresh fish, SeaFood showcases a sustainable taste of the Walker Bay region. SeaFood's modern and inviting design and decor help create a setting that is warm, sophisticated, personalized and inviting. While the interesting open kitchen gives guests a close-up view of the activity in the kitchen, ensuring an unforgettably interactive experience.
Hermanus, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Do not miss eating here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very sophisticated,upmarket,and professionally run establishment
Great service ,world class cuisine,and great wine
Service and attention awesome...remember to reserve
Great value for money...especially if you are from abroad

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    31
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Elegant and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Lovely friendly restaurant with enthusiastic helpful staff. The food is delicious and an extra bonus is to see it all being prepared in the open kitchen. Desserts were irresistible!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

great seafood menu bit pricey but excellent service and food. would be smart to have asmall choice of meat andor veg food...for guests that do not like fish that much..was a bit of a struggle for us

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Majestic Marine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We hadn’t been to Hermanus for some time and decided to visit this lovely town yesterday for lunch and hopefully some whale watching.

The weather however was not great being a bit windy combined with some light rain spells when we arrived. Therefore, the whale watching part was short lived with only a couple of Southern Right whales in the distance. So we had to focus on the lunch part of the trip. Hermanus is offering many options for a nice meal, but for us the place to go is The Marine hotel with their lunch restaurant ‘Seafood at the Marine’. The Marine is a beautiful place, majestically located on the rocks overlooking Walker Bay and member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux hotel chain.

We were welcomed with a friendly smile by Nadia, who responded to my request to have lunch their without having made a reservation, that they would certainly make a plan. The menu is not extensive but offers a nice variety of choices for starters and mains. My wife chose the prawn ravioli as a starter while I chose the mussels in white wine. Both dishes were excellent and although my sauce could have been a bit more substantial, the taste was delicious. For a main course we both opted (like we most of the time do) for one of their ‘traditional’ dishes, being the Rich Man's fish and chips: hake in batter, with fries, mushy peas and tartar sauce. Although it was nice, this time we were a tad less enthusiastic about our mains. The two smaller pieces of hake were a bit soggy at the bottom, the chips were not that crispy (which we requested) and the mushy peas were not that mushy. The food was certainly not bad and we both finished our plates, but we had this better before. Combined with our lunch we chose a 2011 Newton Johnson Chardonnay, which was an absolute delight. It was all served by our friendly waiter Stanley who looked after us very well.

All in all we again had a pleasant visit to The Marine and we are looking forward to our next one. In conclusion, a four star rating for this visit but I rate this place five stars based on all previous, very pleasant experiences too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Moving through Hermanus we were greater with superb service and some beautifully cared for fish. A couple of our choice weren't available but we enjoyed our three courses none the less.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SeaFood at The Marine also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to SeaFood at The Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SeaFood at The Marine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.