We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE LOVED!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloe Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aloe Guest House to your Saves list
Aloe Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   53 Main Road | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 82 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WE LOVED!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent the last days of 2011 in Aloe Guest House and it was perfect! John, Leslie and their guests made us feel home! It's in the top 10 list of our trip! Cozy place, nice breakfast and ask John for Wine places and don't miss scuba with Sharks! Bets regards and kisses form your Brazilian friends
Gaby, Ricardo , Ana Paula and Fernando!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
34
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

John and Lesley were amazing hosts:-) From before my arrival until the the day I left I was very well taken care off with John making all my dinner and pampering reservations for me. There is only one way to describe their homemade short bread biscuits, melt in your mouth heaven. I needed a peaceful comfortable place to relax away from the cape town and that is exactly what I got. I will definately be back again!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Service is excellent. Ambiance is great. The rooms are cosy. The two mights were great. Too bad the weather was horroble. The get a little cols in winter. Annyway, when vorig Hermanus go and stay at Aloe.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riel, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Hermanus is a village where one must go out and search for whales. Aloe Guest House provides a perfect base camp for doing so. John is very helpfull: he points out the good restaurants, knows a lot about whales and gets your car cleaned while you are sleeping. The place is very clean and nicely decorated, with enough space for the whole family (2 adults, 2 children). A lovely place to stay.
And John: thank you for youre remarks on our route. We took the 2 trips you've adviced, and they were both worth the detour!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We found our host John with his Portuguese/Scottish/South African background to be the perfect man for the job. He was attentive and helping in every way. The place is spacious and clean and the the staff friendly. The open plan kitchen next to the dining room area allows the rich flavors of a curry being prepared to waft onto the senses and the aroma of breakfast on the make, beckons the wary traveler to a hearty wholesome meal. Aloe House caters for a variety of people. from a studio that has two bedrooms to secure fixings for mountain bikers. Beautiful swimming pool that is well maintained. Centrally located and an easy walk to the main whale watching area. We can recommend this place that provides value for money and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed at Aloe house for 2 nights during the ABSA Cape Epic. Probably my best Bed And Breakfast experience, fantastic rooms and the most awesome hosts. Thank you John and Lesley, your hospitality was fantastic, accommodation was superb and the meal you cooked us would have made Gordon Ramsay smile... thank you...Heath and the Cape Epic riders :-)

Room Tip: No fitness centre so couldn't rate it...., but a great pool...if the weather is good..the inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schönkirchen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We only wanted to stay one night on our way to Cape Town. But we quickly realized that this was too short. So we stayed two nights. What a fantastic place to relax! John and Lesley are such nice hosts with really wonderful recommendations what to visit and what to do.
On this way: thank you for everything!
Barbara and Sven, Germany

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloe Guest House

Address: 53 Main Road | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aloe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated 10minutes walk from the Hermanus CBD and all Main attractions. All Suites have a lounge which has a couch, TV’s with 15 channels & own decoder, safes, heaters and fans, hairdryers, panic buttons, fridges,Tea & Coffee Facility, crisp white linen,Electric Blankets,ports for Laptops + Free Wi-Fi. Mountain bike facility , secure parking and car wash. Our large sparkling pool and water features form a lovely view from the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aloe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloe Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.