We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abalone Guest Lodge

Save Saved
You added Abalone Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abalone Guest Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   306 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 80 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Godalming, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. very comfortable, Fabulous views of the bay with whales easliy visible. Staff could not do enough to please, nothing a problem. Restaurants and taxis booked, snacks and meals served on request. Good laundry service especially if you are driving the Garden Route and living out of a suitcase. Lovely pool -everything spotless.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perlemoen, Manager at Abalone Guest Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for the beautiful review. Please come and visit us again!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    51
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
164
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Really warm welcome. All staff very friendly and kind to children. even made special breakfast to tempt youngest. Great location. Cliff path behind house. Whales came right up to rocks. Breakfast on verandah watching whales in bay - what a memory

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perlemoen, Manager at Abalone Guest Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for the beautiful review. Please come and visit us again!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We regretted only having one night to spend at Abalone Lodge. The location was ideal, we could enjoy lots of whale watching from the deck and from the cliff walk, which is a perfect way to get into town. The facility was spotlessly clean, the welcome was warm and efficient. We opted for an easy dinner there rather than heading back into town, and Erica made a delicious pizza and salad. Great breakfast! We would highly recommend this facility, and suggest a longer stay.

Room Tip: Our ground floor street side room was more than adequate, but no view. We spent so much time out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perlemoen, Manager at Abalone Guest Lodge, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for the beautiful review. Please come and visit us again, at least a week!!!! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elinmai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This lodge is a gem of a guest house which is enlivened by the excellent hospitality offered by the staff there. We stayed there for one night on our honeymoon and are glad that we did.

There is ample parking space at the lodge. Whilst the lodge is a good 20-30 minute walk out of the middle of town, the journey can be made for most of the way along the terrific coastal path which hugs the shoreline (45 mins). From this path, you can see the great crashing of waves against the rocks an excellent opportunities to spot whales frolicking in the sea. Take a pair of binoculars though! Also be aware that the footpath eventually diverts onto the main road.

The staff are helpful when it comes to booking restaurants and offering wine at most opportunities! The breakfast was delicious and the lounge area was great for socialising or relaxing with a book.

The wi-fi did not really work during our stay and perhaps this is something that can be rectified to make it an ever better service.

Whilst the spa, gym and pool facilities at the lodge were appreciated, we did not get round to using them due the short length of our stay.

Since it was our honeymoon, the lodge also delivered some champagne and delicious cheesecake to out room, which was gratefully received!

Thanks for an excellent stay.

Room Tip: We did not stay in a sea view room, but imagine that it would be very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Abalone and we do recomand it. Staff great courtesy, excellent rooms and location, excellent services quality made our stay unforgettable. Thank you Abalone! Mirko and Barbara - Genoa (Italy)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Abalone Guest Lodge.
Staff and service were excellent, we were made to feel very welcome.
Excellent location, beautiful outlook - able to see whales whilst having breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The perfect place to stay with service second to none. Wonderful location. Beautifully clean. Excellent breakfasts and facilities. All this tied together by the most helpful and friendly staff who made it their job to ensure that our stay was memorable. It certainly was!!
Erica (particularly, but not exclusively!), advised us as to all things local, and booked boat trips, restaurants and taxi`s for us. Nothing was too much trouble.
If we ever travel to South Africa again, we will definately returnThe Abalone Guest Lodge.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view allow you to make the most of the whale watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abalone Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone Guest Lodge

Address: 306 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abalone Guest Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abalone Lodge, situated on the magnificent ocean front of Hermanus. Abalone Guest Lodge offers luxury accommodation for travel, business or leisure. Abalone Guest Lodge has direct access to the well-known Scenic Cliff Path that makes Hermanus the Land Base Whale Watching Capital of the World. Abalone Guest Lodge is situated on Siever’s Point, a landmark seafront position midway between the town centre and the beautiful Blue Flag beaches of Hermanus. We recently added a sauna treatment room and gym for your comfort. We look forward to welcoming you to our tastefully decorated en-suite accommodation that offers you every luxury as well as unrivalled views of the ocean and the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Abalone Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalone Guest Hotel Hermanus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abalone Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.