We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation and whales!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abalone Guest Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Abalone Guest Lodge to your Saves list
Abalone Guest Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   306 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 82 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great accommodation and whales!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived very tired after travelling for 24 hours but were given a warm welcome and even had a pot of tea made and brought in to us, there are facilities in the room to make your own hot drinks. The next morning it was absolutely magical to sit on the terrace eating breakfast watching the whales. The breakfast was very good, help yourself to juice, cereals, meats cheese etc. and then have a full english breakfast cooked to order. Our room had a garden view and also partial view of sea and was very close to cliff path. The bed was very comfortable and the under floor heating in the bathroom was very good. We were advised of a really good restaurant to eat that night and they also made the booking for us. It is a little distance from the centre of Hermanus but if we ever come back then this is definitely the place we would want to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    63
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
189
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our party of 6 stayed here for 2 nights in last week of August. We had a very warm welcome and all 3 rooms we had were very high standard. As others have said Abalone is as close to the shore of the bay as you can get and great for whale watching. Guesthouse is a good walk from main centre at Hermanus which is ok in daylight but probably not recommended at night. We got a 6 seater tut-tut taxi back from town both evenings, which was fun and cost very little. Breakfasts were very good and the honesty bar in the lounge was a nice touch. All in all a guesthouse we'd have no hesitation going back to or recommending to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for three nights after a week in a Kruger game lodge. The welcome was warm and efficient with all the advice we needed on where to eat and what guests had thought of the restaurants in Hermanus. We went to three and found all of high quality.
There is of course no comparison between a bush camp and Abalone: different worlds. We found it very comfortable, totally secure and with access to a glorious garden, spectacular views of the bay and the whales, plus some of the loveliest birds we've ever seen at close range. Also, to have a spotted eagle owl swoop into the garden and "sit" on the border edging for almost two hours was astonishing.
The staff were all positive and efficient; we enjoyed conversations with the manager and the waitress from Worcester: a long journey for a weekend home. She talked about the owl with us and how her son loved the beaches. These details raise a very good place into the excellent category because they bring humanity into efficiency.
Thank you to everyone at Abalone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herent, Brabant, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Warm welcome with a glass of wine, very nice rooms and a host that helps you out immediately for whalewatching trips, walks, ..., and "lost" bags. Best breakfast we have had on our tour and an address to note for the next visit. Hopefully we can come back and visit Abalone lodge again next year in March!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

As other reviewers have said, this is a lovely hotel very close to the on-shore whale watching (noting that high season is winter/spring) and with a really friendly welcome from the staff. I would add that there is a lovely cross-section of birdlife in the hotel garden and nearby ‘fynbos’ vegetation. If I were to be picky, the distance of the hotel from the town centre isn’t ideal in the evening, though taxis are easy to order and good value. So five stars it is.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms we had were delightful, and closest to the clifftop walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

After along busy 2 week drive from Cape Town to Zambia over 6500km my wife and I were privileged to spend a relaxing weekend at Abalone Guest Lodge late in July 2012. The weather was not great but that just added to the relaxation as we were able to use the rain free opportunities to walk directly to the cliffs and view the Whales and there were many. During the rain we relaxed and read in warm comfortable surroundings with very friendly management assisting us. The breakfast was great and we drove into town, just too far to walk with showers threatening, to eat the other meals. There is a lot of choice available to savour the cuisine of the area. We had already explored all the other attractions e.g. Shark Diving on previous occasions so were very happy with this opportunity to relax and enjoy the luxury.

Room Tip: Direct Access to the beach which is private is preferable to the street side rooms where there is le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was a real gem. The hotel was excellently positioned for fantastic cliff walks and brilliant whale watching opportunities. We were made very welcome with a complimentary wine and an extensive choice of activities and restaurants which were efficiently explained and booked for us.
The room was secluded, clean and restful. Breakfast was excellent. When I left my glasses there tehy were even posted to me. This is a fantastic hotel and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abalone Guest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abalone Guest Lodge

Address: 306 Main Road, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abalone Guest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abalone Lodge, situated on the magnificent ocean front of Hermanus. Abalone Guest Lodge offers luxury accommodation for travel, business or leisure. Abalone Guest Lodge has direct access to the well-known Scenic Cliff Path that makes Hermanus the Land Base Whale Watching Capital of the World. Abalone Guest Lodge is situated on Siever’s Point, a landmark seafront position midway between the town centre and the beautiful Blue Flag beaches of Hermanus. We recently added a sauna treatment room and gym for your comfort. We look forward to welcoming you to our tastefully decorated en-suite accommodation that offers you every luxury as well as unrivalled views of the ocean and the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Abalone Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abalone Guest Hotel Hermanus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abalone Guest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.