We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really pleasant stay and great people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Potting Shed Accommodation

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Potting Shed Accommodation to your Saves list
The Potting Shed Accommodation
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   28 Albertyn Street | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 82 Hermanus B&B and Inns
1 review
“Really pleasant stay and great people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a quiet get away to Hermanus. I found that the location in terms of sea view not to be the best. But it is well within walking distance from the centre of town and the sea. The Potting Shed in itself is really a lovely guest house, clean, mod and great breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Hi Greg,

Thank you for your review. For a sea view we offer self catering apartments - 3kms from the guest house. Unfortunately our guest house rooms don't have a view - but the sea is a 5 minute walk away (at the end of our street). Glad you had a good stay though and enjoyed the breakfast - that's always good to hear - as I'm the cook! :)

All the best,
Annamarie & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    85
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
69
168
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ried Im Innkreis, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed at the upstairs studio with a separate entrance, own patio and braai. Perfect for having a glass of wine and watch the stars on the deck chairs. Very beautifully decorated accommodation. Shops, restaurants and beach in a walking distance. We can definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Wine and stars - perfect combination! :)

Thank you for your lovely review. Hope you will visit again one day!

Annamarie & Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

It was a great experience. We did not expect such a great accommodation in Hermanus. Everything was new and stylish. To walk to downtown takes about 10 minutes. If we travel South Africa again - we come back :)
THX !

Room Tip: the room beside the pool ist the best of all !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, October 29, 2014
Thank you Chris,

Hope you will be back again soon.

Annamarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

the only bad thing was the shark cage diving - bad weather, no view - but the trip has started. pure rip off.
but the potting shed was very good.
it was a good stay. staff a realy frendly and helpful.
i can only recommend.
the room well equipped and very clean

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi Ursula,

So glad you had a nice time at our guest house. Sorry to hear about the shark trip... Can't remember if you booked it through us?? We get quite a good rate on shark trips. Unfortunatley, the weather and sea conditions are out of my control, but if there is a risk of danger the trips are cancelled and if you dont see sharks they give a voucher for another trip.

Annamarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I found this venue on Tripadvisor and was not dissapointed. The standard rooms are small but well designed and appointed. The decor is fresh and inviting, the linen and beds extremely comfortable and the service efficient and friendly. The en-suite wet rooms with 'rainfall' showers were an absolute treat. We enjoyed the breakfast specifically, the fruit salad was fresh with a choice of cereals and yoghurt, the bacon and eggs was tasty and well presented and the pancakes were a nice change to the normal breakfast you would be served in such establishments. The location is withing walking distance from the town during the day, but I must warn against walking at night (we did and were followed by some unsavoury characters although we made it back safely I had felt uncomfortable). Security at the property is visible so one feels very safe on site and there is off-street parking. The small pool area was welcome on the hot day as was the beautiful cliff walk into town. I would not hesitate to recommend The Potting Shed as excellent value for money and comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi Chandre,

Glad you had a nice stay at our place. Thank you for revieving us. Sorry to hear you didn't feel safe walking at night. Guess it's the way of the world - nowhere is 100% safe anymore. Fortunatley the crime rate in Hermanus is low. We've been here 10 years and most of our guests walk at night - not one of them has had a bad experience walking to/from The Potting Shed...but we all have to be aware and careful. We are fortunate now to have a Tuk Tuk service in Hermanus to taxi guests around...have to say it's most useful on those chilly, wet nights.

Annamarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had such an amazing time staying at Potting Shed Self catering. We were 80 meters from the beach and woke up with the sea in our ears every morning. Would definitely recommend to anyone. Thank you!




  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hello Misha,

Thank you for taking the time to review us - so glad you enjoyed staying at the self catering apartment.

Hope to see you again soon,
Annamarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

+ nice and individually styled rooms with spacious bathroom
+ clean and quiet
+ very kind hosts and good breakfast
Lies nearby the walking trail along the shore and nearby the civic centre with the different restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pottingshedaccom, Owner at The Potting Shed Accommodation, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi Robert,


Thank ou fo ryour lovley reivew - glad you had a good stay.

All the best,
Annamarie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Potting Shed Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Potting Shed Accommodation

Address: 28 Albertyn Street | Northcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Potting Shed Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value for money, clean, comfortable, friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Floodlit pool area with BBQ, wooden sun loungers. Lounge with full DSTV, fridge, microwave,and piano. Parking in private courtyard. All rooms have en-suite shower room, free WI-Fi, satellite TV, overhead fan, wall heater, tea/coffee making facilities,safety deposit box & hairdryer. Deluxe rooms are larger than standard room with fridge, outside private patio & BBQ. Studio room is accessed via private staircase with deck (sun-loungers, undecover seating and mountain view). The Studio room also offers a kitchenette with (fridge,toaster microwave/grill - no oven), free Wi-Fi, full DSTV package,air-con, safety deposit box, hairdryer. Bathroom has bath and shower. Walking distance to town and restaurants. Self catering by the sea also available 3 kms from main Guest House where children of all ages are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Potting Shed Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Potting Shed Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.