We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FrancolinHof

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
FrancolinHof
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   FrancolinHof Guest House | 44 Tenth Avenue, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 80 Hermanus B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is maybe the nicest B&B I have ever stayed in. Just wonderful. The rooms are really spacious and the decor is inspiringly-tasteful and understated. It's just a great place to relax - we didn't want to leave. The location is superb; if you sit on your balcony you feel you are 'in' nature. We got up early to climb the mountain of which FrancolinHof is at the foot, and felt like a million dollars when we returned for the delicious breakfast. Great memories!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful feedback and we're so glad you had a good time. An early morning climb up to the beacon is a wonderful start to the day - you deserve a good breakfast when you get back.

I hope you will both visit Hermanus again one day

All the best to you both for the rest of 2013.

Warm regards
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We 4 girls spent one night here, and wish can be longer. The guesthouse and the rooms are warmly decorated, spacious and clean. It’s situated at the mountain side, with a beautiful little garden. The host are very friendly and helpful too. Breakfast are of high quality as well.

We found the guesthouse based on Trip Ad’s recommendation, and it turns out a wonderful stay! Will recommend travellers to stay here for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for writing our first review from Hong Kong!

We enjoyed having the four of you to stay with us and thank you for recommending us to other travellers. Much appreciated.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in South Africa and will one day return.

Our best wishes for the rest of 2013.

Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We recently stayed in beautiful Hermanus at Francolinhof, the hosts Mary and Jean were just wonderful, more than helpful with any query or question and willing to impart local knowledge from where to have a sundowner to the best places to eat and visit. I highly recommend this B&B, it's quiet location, it's spacious rooms and the quality of the breakfasts were fantastic. The complimentary port was an unexpected bonus.
If I get to South Africa again I would seriously consider staying at Francolinhof.
June
from Sydney Australia

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the National park, the mountains and the coast were in full and spectacular view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello June

I think I missed this lovely review that you have taken the trouble to write. You were here at a good time for sundowners - a little chilly to be on the cliffs in the evenings at present!

I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our suggestions helpful.

Warm regards and I hope that one day you will return to Hermanus!

Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

FrancolinHof was recommended by friends and it didn't disappoint. A perfect location with possibly the most stunning views of the sea and mountains. We stayed for 4 nights in the Sugarbird room which was quiet and spacious, and the bed was extremely comfortable. There was a good continental and cooked breakfast with Mary's delicious homemade sweet treats to follow. Mary, the perfect host, was always on hand to offer suggestions of restaurants and places to visit. We thoroughly enjoyed our time and would definitely stay again when we return to Hermanus. Jean and Mary’s hospitality was second to none and we would certainly pass on the recommendation to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review and I'm so pleased that you were recommended Francolinhof when you came out for the 60th birthday bash.

We enjoyed meeting you both while you got to experience Hermanus with your friends. It is a great pleasure to have such adventurous guests who explore a little further than the centre of the town. You certainly made the most of your time here.

Our very best wishes to both for the rest of 2013 and I hope that we will meet again in the not too distant future.

Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had previously visited Hermanus to view the whales but this was our first overnight stop. I made the reservations 11 months in advance & exchanged many emails with Mary prior to our stay, one concerning my requirement for soya milk as I am lactose intolerant. Not only did Mary provide the milk but also yoghurt & margarine!! This is just one small example of the care & attention given to us during our stay.

We were met on arrival by Jean & shown to the very private Owl room on the ground floor. We then relaxed in the garden & enjoyed a sundowner. Breakfast the following morning was truly delicious with a great selection of fruit, cereals, cold meat & cheeses & a vast selection of cooked food. In particular the white bread was the most delicious that I have ever tasted! ;-)

Before breakfast on each day we enjoyed the wonderful local walks. Francolin Hof backs onto the mountains which are covered in feynbos & there are many walks. The beautiful beach is a 10 minute stroll down the road & you can then follow the cliff top walk right into Hermanus.

On the Monday evening Mary & Jean entertained us to a Braai, enjoyed also by the other 4 guests. This was one of the most enjoyable evenings of our 3 week vacation.

Our room was very spacious & the bed extremely comfortable. I can't praise Mary & Jean enough. Special people in a special place. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello Nick and Mel

It was lovely to meet you both and share so many laughs. I was determined not to run out of your milk and the result is that I have sufficient left over to float the Queen Mary. We're very pleased you enjoyed your room - and the breakfast, of course. And then there's the most delicious that you've ever tasted ...

Thank you for your kindness and generosity - it is so much appreciated.

Our very best wishes to you both for the rest of 2013 - will we meet again next February?

Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

5of5 for the View
5of5 for the Furniture, Room and Bath
5of5 for the Breakfast
and 6of5 for the Host.

Mary and Jean (the hosts) were very charming and caring.
They organize all tours in the area for you and suggest good restaurants and winefarms etc.
We would love to come back to Hermanus and the Francolin Hof as the area is breathtaking beautiful.

Thanks again for these excellent two days.

Room Tip: We had a room at groundlevel and enjoyed the sunset at the terrace that belongs to it. I think the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Joerg

Thank you so much for this lovely review - we enjoyed having you to stay. It is always special when a guest books for one night and spends two. I'm pleased you enjoyed the patio - it is especially wonderful when there is a brilliant sunset.

Our best wishes to you both, for the rest of 2013 - and hopefully you'll one day return to the Cape.
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. It is situated away from the town centre but well worth it for the stunning views of mountains and ocean. We had great breakfasts and Mary served us tea and cake on arrival.Mary and Jean are a lovely couple and so friendly. The room was lovely and clean and spacious and had a balcony with great views.Mary's recommendations for food and activities were spot on. We loved Greyton and Genadendal villages and had a great meal at the Fisherman's Cottage.We have done the Hermanus cliff top walk a couple of times previously but did it again as it is so enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francolinhof, Owner at FrancolinHof, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Richard

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for FrancolinHof. We have just come back from a walk on the Cliff Path - the sunset tonight is spectacular and we sat on a bench with a drink and enjoyed it from Siewerspunt. Next time you visit Hermanus you'll need to take a picnic basket an do the same!

I'm so pleased you were all happy with our suggestions - and that you visited Genadendal. it is an interesting Moravian Mission Village and easily missed. You made good use of your time.

Our very best wishes to you both for the rest of 2013 and I do hope we'll meet again in the future.

Warm regards
Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to FrancolinHof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FrancolinHof

Address: FrancolinHof Guest House | 44 Tenth Avenue, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — FrancolinHof 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning views of both the sea and mountain from all luxury en suite rooms, individually decorated with best quality furnishings and toiletries for your comfort with attention to detail. Relax on your patio or balcony. Very near to the beautiful beaches, Cliff Path and walks on the mountain start in our garden. Bordering Fernkloof Nature Reserve, FrancolinHof is surrounded by indigenous plants (fynbos) and a wide variety of birds. Peace and tranquility near Hermanus centre. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FrancolinHof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added FrancolinHof to your Saves list