We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House on Westcliff

Save Saved
You added House on Westcliff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
House on Westcliff
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   96 Westcliff Rd, Hermanus, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #45 of 80 Hermanus B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

House on Westcliff was perfect for our trip to Hermanus. It was like a home away from home. The thatch ensures that the rooms are cool in the full summer heat and lying in the garden by the pool was a real treat (from what we saw, there are not many gardens in Hermanus B and B's). The location was great and after breakfast we would take a relaxing stroll to the cliffs which are a minute or so away. What incredible surroundings!! The breakfast was fresh and delicious ... made to order. We had a great stay and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We had a wonderful stay. The B and B was exactly as described. The rooms were spacious and had a wonderful African theme which made a nice change from rooms that could be anywhere in the world. Beautiful garden, which was great for relaxation. The hosts were warm and the breakfasts were delicious. Given the incredible quality, the price is excellent value for money. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

we did have a lovely stay in Hermanus. The guest house is a bit out of town but this didnt bother us because the walk along the cliffs is great. The staff are lovely but the atmosphere at breakfast was a bit stiff. there were 4 couples eating and it was just awkward. A bit of music wouldnt have gone amiss and I felt really uncomfortable with Mira, the owner, standing there for the whole time. I felt a bit conscious of being watched or something. Mira was lovely but I didnt like the breakfast experience at all because of that.

The house itself is lovely, the garden is gorgeous and so pretty. It's very rugged and this adds to it's charm. The room where you eat has great character. The bedroom we stayed in was disappointing. Small and in need of refurbishment. It just smelled musty and old. There wasnt much room to do anything. However, we didnt mind this too much as we didnt go to South Africa to stay in the bedroom. The bathroom was nice.

The staff kindly booked us for Great White cage diving and hooked us up with a very enthusiastic & responsible operator in Gaanbai who's name escapes me. We had a wonderful time, expensive though! We we arrived back Mira & HOney showed a genuine interest in whether we had a good time. This was a definite positive of the place.
We saw lots and lots of whales in Hermanus, near the town. We ate in The Fisherman's Cottage and The Harbour Rock. The former was lovely but does not deserve to be rated above the Harbour Rock, which was mouth watering. The views from the water and breath taking and it was definitely one of the nicer restuarants that we ate in in South Africa. Westcliff on Sea was nice, but at 160 euro for 2 nights, it could have been better.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

I stayed at House on Wetcliff in February 2010. The place is charmng. The room had all the comforts, including an indvidual garden entrance, without being overpowering. The garden is beautiful and has that special air of tranquility . The breakfast is prepared indvidually from the freshest products. House on Westclif in Hermanus is a jewel on the coast. Do not miss it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Location:
Nice location. A bit outside of town, but a nice cliff walk during the day, and a safe road walk home in the evening. Great for viewing whales. No view from the house.

Room:
Poor. Very old fashioned. In need of refurbishment.

Breakfast
Quite good.

Staff
Friendly. Helpful.

Would i stay again? No. The location or staff cannot compensate for such a room. It is not dirty, but maybe like staying in a student rental house in terms of furniture and decor.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

Lovely location with easy access to cliff walks. Breakfast good. The garden room was musty, transferring its smell to our clothes. Rooms ready for a makeover

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Although quite a distance outside of Harmanus this was ideal as the cliff walk into the town was spectacular with lots of whales visable en route. We also ate in a great restuarant in the old harbour, easy walking distance (although a little dark). The lady was very helpful in booking this for us.

The main room was lovely with a fantastic African feel. However I was disappointed with the quality of the room, I think it maybe needs to be freshened up. I may not have noticed had we not have had such a fantastic experience in other S African guest houses.

Many other people I spoke to enjoyed their time here, but I could not help but feel we could have chosen better.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to House on Westcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House on Westcliff

Address: 96 Westcliff Rd, Hermanus, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — House on Westcliff 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your House on Westcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House on Westcliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.