We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whale's Tale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whale's Tale
No 29 11th Avenue | Voëlklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 80 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

LIke most people we stayed at Hermanus whilst driving from Cape Town. THe hotel/guest house was gorgeous!! Although I would recommend you have a car as this is a short drive from the town part, just one straight road to the town so is very easy to find, Is only a short walk down the road to the beach where you can see many kite surfers, lovely beach and not too busy.
Out room was lovely, we were on honeymoon so had one of the better rooms, had a huge shower and bath, and queen bed. We had a balcony that had the most lovliest views right out to the beach. They supply all towels, and tea and coffee making facilities in room.
When we arrived they had already booked us in to restaurants for the 2 nights we stayed, some poeple do not like this, but we found this a good service - the restaurants they booked us in were lovely and it saved us finding a nice one, as after a busy day we didn't want to go from restaurant to restaurant finding one we liked. They chose 2 brilliant restaurants, however if you do not want them to do that you just tell them at check-in and they will cancel. They leave you much to your own devices, if you need someone you just ring a bell otherwise tthe staff are not visable.
They have a honesty bar, alchohol and soft drinks. They also have a pool table in the bar area. There is a small pool, which is perfect after a busy day to just sit around with a beer and reading a book before heading out for dinner.
In Hermarnus we went diving with Sharks, the hotel has all the details for this and can make arrangements to book you in, the company was brilliant, he has been on a few Discovery Channels in the past.
I would recommend this place but for only 3 or 4 days.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

Like most visitors to Hermanus, we were en route from Cape Town to safari. Hermanus was our second stay along the route.

Whale Festival was on whilst we were there, which we thought would be good, but it just meant that the town was full of fast food stalls and there were some live bands on at the beach. It would have been nice to see Hermanus in 'normal mode'. That said , we had a nice couple of days.

Whale's Tale is bigger than a standard B&B, smaller than a hotel. Great accommodation- rooms were clean and bright with great bathrooms. The open plan dining area for breakfast was really sociable with most couples sharing the large table. The space downstairs with self-serve bar etc was great for sitting up with a glass of wine after a night out - or for postcard writing in the late afternoon.

Whale's Tale is about 5-10 mins in a taxi from town - not a problem as there is a very reliable taxi firm recommended and it didn't bother us to use this one night and drive (forgoing the wine) the other night.

When we arrived we were given a warm welcome. Dinner had been booked for us in Hermanus for both of our nights but it was very easy to cancel if you'd prefer to make your own plans. Likewise, with the whale/shark watching tour for the following morning.

No complaints at all.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

This was the second stop on our trip from Cape Town to Shamwari. We were greeted with a big smile and welcome from the assistant manager who then gave us a guided tour of the hotel and then collected our bags from the car and took them to our room. This is a delightful hotel in a nice location a short drive from the main town centre. There is a lounge area with pool table and an honesty bar, we visited at a quiet time and pretty much had the whole place to ourselves. Another couple who were staying at the hotel at the same time as us struggled to get a taxi to Hermanus in the evening despite there being a direct line to a taxi company on the internal phone. They should really let it be known that you have to book a taxi a long way in advance. The breakfast was very good with a good choice of hot and cold foods. All in all a very relaxing hotel, well decorated with excellent service. My only concern about this hotel was that the key that opened the corridor door (shared by another room) also opened our bedroom door. I e-mailed Teresa (the owner) and she replied with the following: Thank you for your lovely note, always much appreciated. As for the key, luckily we realised this after you left, somehow by chance and have changed the locks. We look forward to another visit from you in the near future and will endeavour to make your stay with us another most memorable stay.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Key problem
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

This is a very well decorated place, a pleasure to look around- communual areas are interesting with books/pictures/nice nic naks bonuculars to use, and a nice bar area etc.. the rooms are lovely with underfloor heating in the bathrooms. The breakfast was top class very well presented and attentive. It was personal with the owner coming around to talk to guests about thier trip etc. We went duing hal season and the irst ime we walked out on the terrace we saw whales in the sea but you do need todrive down to the centre to get a closer look. On arrival the welomer said she had already booked us on a whale trip if we wanted to go, and also had booked us into a restaurant ( the mediterania)for a specified time of 7pm which we could accept or decline however we were not used to this as we usually like to eat out later, but due to the restricted taxi service ( who was very efficient and friendly) we decided to go along with the booking rather than risk trying 'anywhere' and it did turn out to be a very good restaurant we were happy to have stuck with it- very good quality dining. But do note that this taxi s supposedley the only one runing from there so you may get straded? But for some people who would like to eat at leisure this may be too pre-planned for you? The whale watching boat trip turned out to be cancelled the day we were meant to go and we expected as much as we had heard the weather getting worse and worse so windy! But in retrospect we were glad really as we managed to go on another one a few days later near port elizabeth with much better weather which was actually alot cheaper too! so dont automatically accept that booking they make for you which costs R800 each person!!

  • Liked — The rooms and breakfast
  • Disliked — the pre booking of restaurants and trips!.over powering they should ask on arrival?
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

We stayed at the Whale's Tale a few weeks ago, and like other posters were initially very favourably impressed. However there was a sting in the "tale" (excuse the pun!). We had a lot of cash with us as we had to pay dollars for a tour we were planning on taking shortly afterwards. This we left in the room safe, which had a digital combination locking system, but also could be unlocked with a key. We left in a bit of a rush the following morning to go on a whale watching trip but 10 minutes down the road realised we had left our money in the safe. We immediately phoned the owner who assured us that no-one would go near the safe and we could collect the contents after the trip. Needless to say on our return we found the safe opened and empty. The owner and two staff members had access to the back-up safe keys, but each person denied having opened the safe, and the owner implied that we may have been attempting some kind of insurance scam. There was very little we could do about it as we were due to leave South Africa to continue our tour the day after. The whole episode was really upsetting and extremely expensive. Based on this experience I would strongly recommend avoiding The Whale's Tale and its sister house "Les Baleines". There must be lots of other nice places to stay where you're not going to be ripped off.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

This is a new property and it is beautifully decorated.It is modern and light. The rooms are very clean and well appointed. However you need to be aware that this house is on a hill quite a bit away from the beach and on a housing estate.You certainly need your own transport as it quite a few miles from the main town.The nearby beach is lovely and the whole area is certainly worth a visit. We did not visit in the season for whales. If you stay in the whale season you may be disappointed in the hotels location due to the distance from the sea.You cetainly would need good eye sight!!!!! Be aware that there is a problem with a taxi service if you wish to go out a night .We could not get hold of one and the owner of this house was not helpful.If you want to stay in a house on a housing estate and don't mind using your car all the time this place is fine. However , I will be returning to Hermanus because it was so beautiful but we will be staying much closer to town.

  • Disliked — The location
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biggi1
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

Whilst in South Africa on my recent Birthday treat, I had the pleasure of staying at the Whale’s Tale Hotel in Hermanus.

The accommodation is an oasis of cool, light colours, tastefully chosen décor and soft furnishings, clean and fresh atmosphere. Beautiful, selected objects to feast your eyes on are dotted around the living spaces. Our bathroom was truly breathtaking (please note pictures!!!), the bedroom area large with a bed to match!

I loved the breakfasts – beautifully prepared and tasty as well as filling.

The Hotel is positioned in a quiet location and easy to find.

Hermanus itself was a bit of a disappointment. It turned out to be a typical sea side resort and unless you go in the ‘whale season', it is just like any other sea side town. I found the restaurants very much a let down, too. However, I would go back if only just to stay at the Whale’s Tale once again! If you like uncluttered spaces, beautiful décor and design, this is the place to go.

  • Disliked — the clean and bright decor
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Whale's Tale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale's Tale

Address: No 29 11th Avenue | Voëlklip, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whale's Tale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Whale's Tale to your Saves list