We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pelagus House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Pelagus House to your Saves list
Pelagus House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   31 Marine Drive, Hermanus, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 82 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Liphook, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights as part of a tour along the Garden Route. When we arrived we were given a quick tour of the facilities and shown to our excellent room. Plenty of space and a side balcony with a view to the sea. We were informed that whales were still in the bay so we dropped our bags and rushed out in case we missed them. We needn't have worried as there were whales everywhere, for the entire duration of our stay.

Our room was scrupulously clean and breakfast was delicious. The staff were really pleasant and helpful. One of the staff asked us at breakfast if we were planning to go out on a whale watching boat. As neither my wife nor I have particularly good sea legs we hadn't planned to do this but this lady said we really should do this. We changed our minds on the strength of her recommending a really good boat trip which they booked for us (Southern Right Charters) which turned out to be magical.

Pelagus House was typical of the incredible value and quality found in B&Bs along the Garden Route and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: A sea view room adds to the experience if you stay here in whale season
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    17
    2
    2
    7
See reviews for
15
47
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simon's Town RSA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Very nice and perfect location, close to restaurants and shopping areas. Friendly and helpful staff. If you are lucky you can watch Wales from the hotel balcony or from the shore very nearby. Approximately 50 km to Gainsbaai where boats are available for wale watching and shark cage diving.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The primary reason for our stop off at Hermanus during our tour of the Eastern and Western Capes was to see the Whales, for which the town is well renowned. We were fortunate enough to have booked Room 1 at Pelagus which has a spectacular view of the bay area and upon our arrival we were treated to a Southern Right Whale 'playing' in the bay right before us, amazing! The hotel, service and breakfast were also great. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had booked a room through hotels.com and arrived in Cape Town a bit late due to some delays. We got a phone call from the manager as we were getting our luggage at the airport and when we told her we would be on our way shortly, she started screaming at us...literally! According to the fine print on the website, we were to have checked in by 6pm, the drive to Hermanus is just over an hour, so we would have been just over an hour late. We told her we would hurry and would appreciate if she could still maintain our reservation. She said "NO!" So we offered to stay in Cape Town for the evening and check-in the next day...she said "NO!" After a 15 minute conversation of going back and forth, telling me I should have read the website, she finally just said she "has a life too" and would not wait for us and will be cancelling our entire reservation. Now we are in Cape Town, heading to Hermanus for one of the busiest weekends, and have no place to stay. She didn't offer any help and didn't care about us at all...not the way to do business, unless you already have someone else in mind to take that reservation that would be paying more than us. Hmmmm...

Also, we checked our confirmation document that was emailed to us, and in no way did it say we had to check in by 6pm. It was only in very small print on the website...

Luckily, we found other AWESOME properties with great customer service. Thank you to Misty Waves for taking us in at the last minute and to the Hermanus Dorpshuys B&B. I recommend both of these highly!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pellanauta, Manager at Pelagus House, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
We would like to take the opportunity to respond to this very negative review and would like to start by clearly stating that we never have and never will “scream” at any of our guests as we value them far too much. Secondly the author (Craig W from Johannesburg) never made a booking with us – the booking was under a totally different name and came through as a booking made via Hotels.com. On the Hotels.com website for Pelagus House it clearly states “Check in time ends 6pm” under “What you need to know” and it also states “The front desk has limited hours. Guests must contact the property 24 hours prior to arrival for arrivals after 6pm” under the section “Check in information”. So in two different locations on the home page of Hotels.com (and not in fine print as Craig W is claiming) is our check in time and conditions clearly stated. We make provision for guests arriving late as long as we know prior to arrival. When we phoned this guest at just before 6pm to find out where they were we were informed that they would arrive at the guest house at around 9pm. The manager in question had a very hard time trying to explain to the guest that our reception is literally closing in a few minutes time and if we had known about their late arrival beforehand we could have waited for them but because they did not inform us of arriving after 6pm prior to their check in date it was impossible for us to accommodate them. The conversation did go backward and forward as stated and when the manager realised that no amicable resolution will be reached she informed the guest that we had no other choice but to cancel the reservation and refund him his deposit immediately – which we did. As for the comment of “having a life too” these were not the words used but the implication was that we have limited hours but still make provision for late arrivals if only we know before hand in order to arrange our after-hours activities to coincide with this. As management we recent the comment from Craig W as to selling the room at a higher rate to someone else. We were the ones that lost money when this booking had to be cancelled and we had to refund the guest. That room was not sold to anyone after that.
As for Craig W’s final comment on the confirmation document (we emailed to our guest one month prior to arrival), it clearly states “Please note that check in time is anytime from 2pm to 6pm” in bold font.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in the Nautilus House section of this property. We arrived on New Years Day after a long drive from Cape Point (traffic was a nightmare)
We were warmly welcomed by the owners and we were shown around the property. The location was excellent, the bedroom and bathroom were large and the bed was very comfortable.
There was an honesty bar in the room and the pool area looked very inviting if we only had time.
Hermanus was quiet after the busy New Year's Eve.
The breakfast the next morning as ok, we had much better breakfasts in other B&Bs during our trip

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yountville, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

Lovely old comfortable home located right on the bay. The owner and her daughter were very welcoming and got us settled and then disappeared. The perfect balance between hospitality without hovering. Because it was just us and our friends (we were at the end of the season) it felt as if we had rented a big old' comfortable home just for us. Highly recommend and look forward to a longer stay next time.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was our second visit to Pelagus/Nautilus House. Greeted like old friends by Anneline and Mara, we upgraded to the honeymoon suite and boy oh boy what a room - huge french doors that looked out directly over the ocean (entertained by a number of dolphins on our last day).
A lovely pool and jacuzzi is the centre piece between the two houses. The accomodation and public rooms are just absolutly immaculate .

Breakfast is more than ample and sets you up for the day ahead.

Overall, nothing is to much trouble for Anneline and Mara and they are extreamly helpful in suggesting local restaurants and will even make a booking. Parking on site is no problem with ample space and it is also very secure. The B&B is ideally located for walking into Hermanus and other attractions.

Will we be making another visit? - you bet.

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon suite - you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pelagus House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelagus House

Address: 31 Marine Drive, Hermanus, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelagus House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT AS OF 1 MARCH 2014 Pelagus Guest House is situated in Hermanus, South Africa - a picturesque little town, world renowned for its beauty, whales and champagne air. Our guest house offers you accommodation in Hermanus that has all the elements necessary for a stay that is truly special. Our position, our style and our dedication to the highest standards ensure that the accommodation we provide meets your expectations. A spectacular view of the ocean and the sound of waves greet you on arrival at Pelagus Guest House; you'll awake to the smell of a fresh sea breeze and seaside sounds every morning and you'll be able to relax on the patio and enjoy the vista of Walker Bay whenever it pleases you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pelagus House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pelagus House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.