We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive by South African standards but worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whale Rock Luxury Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Whale Rock Luxury Lodge to your Saves list
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   26 Springfield Ave | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa (Formerly Whale Rock Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 84 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expensive by South African standards but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Arrived early but that presented no problem. Warm welcome from a Dutch lad who wasn't too keen to carry baggage for two old farts but was helpful never the less. Excellent accommodation. Superb breakfast. Friendly people (aren't they all in SA - well nearly all).

Room Tip: Ground floor, garden view suite - a little more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    43
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
40
84
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loch Lomond
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed here for one night on our way down the garden route but I wish it had been longer it was a lovely place to stay not to far from the town etc the place had the biggest swimming pool that we had seen on the garden route and also one of the biggest rooms

Room Tip: Room 8 was near the pool and very big
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 2 nights as a family with our 3 boys. We were given 2 interconnecting rooms and were very presently surprised. The rooms were great, clean, modern and large and the staff friendly and very helpful. The facilities were also great. The only thing that wasn't good was the weather! Would defently recommend and hope to return in whaling season and sunshine!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

WRL is a large and beautiful thatched house in Westcliff. We were shown to a massive bedroom suite (room 4) which has two large double beds and bathroom and overlooks the garden from the first floor.

We were only staying for one night at the end of our Garden Route drive from PE. We called WRL the night before our stay to ask them to make a restaurant reservation based on their list of suggestions which they had supplied a few days earlier on our request. Their recommendations were very comprehensive and the restaurant we chose is the subject on another review; excellent BTW.

The following morning breakfast was served in a large dining room overlooking the garden with as many options as you can think of, plus some specials.

The two young dutch interns who greeted us on arrival and who were also present at breakfast were attentive, incredibly polite, and just kept the 'show on the road'. Well done to them.

All in all, a place you really should consider if you are planning a stay in Hermanus

Room Tip: If you would like a big comfortable room, then go for No.4. Apparently the hotel is about to refurbi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights. Very neat and tidy, clean rooms. We stayed in one of the rooms attached to the breakfast area. Bathrooms were clean and newly renovated.

The breakfasts were great with good options. Staff were friendly and helpful. The pool was massive and there were plenty sundecks outside.

Place is situated just outside centre of town about 5 min drive.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Very nice location , at 200 meters from a Township. During week end only two very young employe including one with 3 weeks of work so no help for any local information. They have not been able to help us to "built" our next day around.
We left the next day with total indifference from all 3 employes.
On Monday morning we have been awake at 7:30am by the noisy shoes from the lady working at the office in front of our room
The town next to the lodge as very few interest

Room Tip: Do not take the room n°2 in front of the office
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We stayed for nine days and could not have been happier with the spacious room superb shower and comfortable beds.
The surroundings were like a picture postcard, with mature trees, lounge chairs surrounding the pool, the description "Luxury Lode" describes' it exactly.
.
The staff could not be more helpful and advised us where to go to get the best value.
The Hermanus Golf Club was ten minutes away, and as good a course as you could wish for.
We dined out at six different eating places in the town only ten minutes by car, the nearest one was five minutes walk away and was one of the best Fish restaurants we had ever been to.

Rupert and Liz Webb from Cheshire, England

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny" We had room 6 and were quite happy with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whale Rock Luxury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whale Rock Luxury Lodge

Address: 26 Springfield Ave | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa (Formerly Whale Rock Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Whale Rock Luxury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whale Rock Luxury Lodge is considered to be one of the most beautiful buildings in Hermanus and recently had a complete internal makeover into a warm contemporary style. Situated across the road from the New Harbour and the start of the cliff path, it is but a 3 minute walk down to the edge of the cliff and a 5 minute drive to the centre of town. The Lodge has 11 beautifully decorated en suite Rooms & Suites, extensive and well manicured lawns and gardens, a koi pond and probably one of the the largest swimming pools in Hermanus and it is solar heated! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Whale Rock Luxury Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whale Rock Luxury Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.