We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate hotel with fantastic service and glorious views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Provence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge Provence to your Saves list
Auberge Provence
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   25 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 2700, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 82 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Yorkshire
1 review
“First rate hotel with fantastic service and glorious views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

We stayed at the Auberge Provence for 6 days. The Hotel is very well appointed with great rooms and superb views. Belinda and the team provide the most amazing service - they went to great lengths to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. We will certainly return again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    22
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
135
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

don't make the mistake we did and book the Lavender Suite. It's on the ground floor and therefore not so good for whale watching but as we were not expecting to see any in December (and didn't) that in itself wasn't a problem. However the Private courtyard leading out from ensuite bathroom and bedroom with own plunge pool wasn't usable as it was sandwiched between Auberge and next door so is rarely in the sun so the pool is too cold to use (and had a cover over anyway). Also whilst it's true to say "doors leading to patio with gate to cliffpath" the patio will be crossed by anybody going to or from the cliffpath and i imagine this would be even more annoying in the Whale season. You also get people walking on the other side of the patio wall to access properties further on looking into the room. I would still recommend the Auberge but choose another room. Belinda is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

One word first:: Belinda, the auberge's manager. Bree Van der Kamp from Desperate Housewives might well have been modelled on perfectionist Belinda from Auberge Provence. Nothing was too much trouble - she'd booked four restaurants for us, one for every evening and all of them were great, in particular Mediterranea (fabulous seafood) and B's, the butcher-turned-restauranteur place where juicy steaks are served with a lovely smile.

Breakfasts were, again, perfection itself, cooked by Belinda and served by her friendly and extremely well trained staff.

Our suite was huge beautifully appointed and had a small terrace with jacuzzi. The only thing I'd say is that it was off the street and a little bit noisy at night - maybe next time we'll go for one of the seafacing rooms but we have vowed to come back.

WIFI was available on tap, enabling us to keep in touch with work and family.

So a huge thumbs up to Belinda and Crew, can' wait to be back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

Hermanus was our first stop between Cape Town and Port Elisabeth. it is only a short and easy drive from Cape Town. The town is lovely. We were most fortunate to arrive at the same time as the whales and had an amazing view of them from the hotel window and from the delightful cliff top path in front of the hotel. We were very well looked after by Belinda and her staff and enjoyed ourselves so much that we made a detour to as to stop in the hotel again on our way back to Cape Town (and see lots more whales).

The whales were incredible. Mothers swimming past the front of the hotel with their babies and other whales leaping out of the water. The show was continuous.

I would certainly recommend Hermanus and the Auberge Provence to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

We found Auberge Provence by chance, just by driving past. If you are looking for a luxury guest house this is it. We had a fantastic room with a balcony overlooking the sea and we could sit up in bed and watch the whale blows in the ocean. Breakfasts were incredibly delicious cooked exactly how we wanted them and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2009

Only 20 metres from the Hermanus cliff top path, the Auberge has great views: we watched a whale and her calf in the sea below.

Our room was immaculate and the hotel's decor is charming.

All of the staff were friendly and the service excellent, and Belinda the manager couldn't do enough for us.

We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

We were there for the whale watching - truly outstanding. We had a fantastic family room - enormous and beautifully furnished. Great location - right on the sea front - whales in the bay in front of you - short drive into town. Great breakfasts. Belinda is an outstanding hostess - organising everything inc the whale watching trip and some great restaurant reservations. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Provence

Address: 25 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 2700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge Provence 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the cliffs, overlooking the whale watcher’s paradise of Walker Bay is an intimate French Provencal retreat.Built around a romantic central courtyard, with a cool charcoal and travertine pool, you can enjoy sumptuous breakfasts under a grapevined terrace, on the seafront or opposite the fireplace in the stylish dining room. For a romantic getaway choose a suite with your own Jacuzzi or plunge pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Auberge Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Provence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.