We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Provence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge Provence to your Saves list
Auberge Provence
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   25 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 2700, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 82 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Relaxing atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Auberge Provence is a nicely decorated guest house property fronting the ocean. Our room had a wonderful sea view and we enjoyed our one night stay in this very relaxing atmosphere very much. We were helped with daytime activities and an excellent restaurant reservation in a very professional manner. I was not able to connect to the WiFi which was a little bit disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraSteyn, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments. We are glad you enjoyed the guest house, the daytime activities and the restaurant recommendation that our manager arranged for you. We apologise that you were unable to connect to the internet, but we had just acquired a new computer and the wi-fi connection had not been set up correctly.It was done the day of your departure, so we were indeed sorry that you were not staying with us for a day or two longer, in order to take advantage of the free wi-fi service. We really hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    22
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
135
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My partner and I spent a few nights at Auberge Provence. The hotel is small, luxurious and is very beautifully finished. The rooms are exceptional right from the linen, furniture to the toiletries.

I did however find the place is lacking in atmosphere & also found it strange that you were not allowed to eat in the bedroom. We asked to have breakfast in our bedroom as we were tired and did not feel like having to get dressed etc only to be informed that eating was not allowed in the room and no effort was made to accommodate us on our balcony either.

The place all be it beautiful seems to be more stiff and missing atmosphere which is unfortunate as it could be the ultimate gem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraSteyn, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We thank you for your positive comments about the guest house, the decor, furnishings and amenities. However, we are concerned that we have been unable to trace your visit to us. Your review indicates it was a year ago in December 2012. Is that correct?
Nonetheless, we are concerned that you found it lacking in ambience, as we strive to make the experience as warm and welcoming as we possibly can and to not only meet, but to exceed any guest expectations there may be. We do, on request, provide continental breakfasts in the rooms and are able to set up tables on the balconies or in the private courtyards, where space permits. We apologise if this was not provided for you, but as we cannot trace the visit, we are unable to give a definitive answer as to why this may have occurred. We would love you to consider visiting us again, so that we may demonstrate that we are committed to providing the very best experience and invite you to email us directly in this regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This lovely gem of a B&B sits right on the cliff path overlooking the bay. Following a warm welcome we were taken up to the southern right suite which has an amazing view and you can't help but sit looking out the window for the sight of a breaching whale. The cliff path into town takes about 20 minutes where you can sit on the wall and watch the whales close up. For evening excursions a tuk-tuk taxi is available and very good value. Restaurant recommendations from the ladies who run auberge are worth listening to. The barefoot cook was great for lunch. Burgundys was lovely for dinner. With so few rooms you get a very personal service and if its in their power the ladies will get you anything you want. Thank you for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraSteyn, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. It is very encouraging to know that we are meeting our guests' expectations. We are happy that you enjoyed the amazing views and the whale viewing in comfort and style. We also appreciate your comments about the personal service from the management team, as well the restaurant recommendations and the tuk-tuk taxi service.
We really hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just returned from an amazing holiday in South Africa and had to write as one place in particular stood out - Auberge Provence! The warm welcome we received was wonderful - thank you ladies! The rooms with view straight out to sea with numerous sightings of mother whales and their calves is a memory to stay with me forever. And the breakfasts, well what can I say other than nothing at all was too much trouble and everything was perfect. Restaurants were suggested and all were fabulous, trips were suggested and all were fabulous, in fact the only thing I can say to sum up Auberge Provence is FABULOUS. We will be back!
Andrea xxx

Room Tip: The Southern Right and Fynbos Suite look right out to sea and well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a first class B&B on the shoreline in Hermanus. We had uninterrupted views of the bay from our balcony, and were lucky enough to have numerous sightings of whales from our suite. Staff provided a warm and welcoming environment coupled with excellent service. We couldn't have asked for better.

Room Tip: Top floor facing ocean (3 to choose from).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our daughter is spending a semester abroad at the University of Cape Town, so this year's vacation was in South Africa. We arrived in Cape Town around noon on a Friday, where she met us at the airport with her roommate. Off we went to Hermanus, where we had reserved two nights at Auberge Provence. What a perfect start to a wonderful vacation!!! The rooms were gorgeous and clean. Breakfast was sumptuous and delicious. And we really did see the whales from our balconies the afternoon we checked in! Margee could not have been more welcoming and helpful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stopped for one night at the Auberge on a spur of the moment decision. It was the holiday weekend, we had nothing planned, and the Auberge was one of the few better looking places to stay with availability.

Living in Cape Town and working in Rand, we thought that it was expensive, (circa R1,600 for a couple with an 11 year old in tow) so our expectations were high. The Auberge was easy to find and is located half way between the new harbour and the town, on the Ocean side of the street.

Being a Francophile and having travelled many times to Provence, I was very impressed with the authentic look and feel of the Auberge. It looks and feels like the real thing. Not faux or 'try hard'. From the layout and design of the building to the decor, paintings and exquisite Provencal linen, it is quite lovely. The garden area and pool outside are stylish and unobtrusive and the plethora of lavender bushes everywhere give this place some real French 'cache'.

We stayed in the 'Fynbos' suite on the upper level and our French windows opened out onto an unobscured view of the Ocean. It was absolutely stunning. This is a room of which it can genuinely be said that you can watch the whales from the comfort of your bed. You can. It was a marvelous vista, and we just loved it.

Breakfast was a triumph - freshly made and beautifully presented with a great choice.

Margie our host was extremely kind, efficient and helpful both with the administration beforehand and throughout our short stay.

There are only a few things which make this only a 'very good' and not 'excellent' review. Firstly, the room was cold when we arrived in the afternoon. The underfloor heating was on, but perhaps it had not been switched on early enough to warm up. I undestand that it is temperature and time controlled to avoid wastage of electricity (we have underfloor heating at home, and I know how it gobbles up Rands), but still, the room was cold. We sat for 2 hours wrapped in the fur blankets from the bed looking like Big Chief Sittingbull and Pocahontas, relaxing before our night out! By morning the room had warmed up a bit, but it was still not warm like we enjoy at home. So, BRRR.

Secondly, we could hear a LOT of what was going on in the room next door to us. Oh la! la! Maybe another layer of sound proofing could have spared our blushes all round....

Finally - the mini bar. Oh dear. Every single one of the mini tins (R10 a pop) was past the sell by date and the Coke tasted like it had come straight from the tin mine. One tin of tonic was from 2011. Margie was very kind in trying to sort it out and offered to go to the shop and buy replacements for us, but we didn't want them that badly.

Overall, a very pleasant experience and we will definitely come back - but this time in the Summer.

ps I was wondering about the name - L'Auberge Provencal, rather? (with correct punctuation, of course!)

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandraSteyn, Owner at Auberge Provence, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We really appreciate your positive comments about our building,decor, layout and position. A lot of thought and planning went into the development of the guest house, which included a few trips to Provence, before the final design, building and decorating of the house took place. So your positive feedback is very rewarding indeed. We are very glad you enjoyed the beautiful, unobstructed views from your room of Walker Bay and its famous whales.

Thank you, too, for the compliments about our breakfasts and the service from our manager, Margie. In particular, thank you for bringing to our attention the areas where our service could be improved. We have taken note of your comments about the heating of the room, the out of date beverages (which have been replaced) and the sound proofing. We endeavour to improve our service wherever possible.

We are also very happy to hear that you are planning to visit again in the Summer and are pleased to let you know that we are planning to serve light lunches in our pool courtyard, which will allow guests to relax at the poolside and enjoy long, lazy summer afternoons. We hope they will be a great success, along with our high teas in the afternoons. Thank you, too, for the suggestion of the change of name. We will definitely take it into consideration!

We thank you for your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Provence

Address: 25 Westcliff Road, Hermanus 2700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Auberge Provence 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the edge of the cliffs, overlooking the whale watcher’s paradise of Walker Bay is an intimate French Provencal retreat.Built around a romantic central courtyard, with a cool charcoal and travertine pool, you can enjoy sumptuous breakfasts under a grapevined terrace, on the seafront or opposite the fireplace in the stylish dining room. For a romantic getaway choose a suite with your own Jacuzzi or plunge pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Auberge Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Provence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.