We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of On the Cliff Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added On the Cliff Guest House to your Saves list
On the Cliff Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   42 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 84 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Seaside luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stunning luxury accommodation overlooking the sea. We saw dolphins swimming towards the harbour both days of our stay. The huge balcony protected us from the wind. A delicious welcoming fire was lit for us in the lounge. The underfloor heating was great. We had a stormy day in Hermanus but On the Cliff Guest House made it a worthwhile stay. Definitely worth a revisit. Delicious breakfasts and flexibility with the option of a breakfast voucher if you want to take time out in a restaurant for brunch.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a stunning view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    40
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
100
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium & Argentina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed one night only. What a pity!! we stayed in many beautiful guesthouses in our trip in South Africa but this is our top. Rooms are big, immaculately clean, private parking, and an incredible view of the bay. We saw 2 whales from the balcony. Breakfast was delicious and the hosts, very warm welcoming. Internet was fast and free. And the bonus for us in winter was the floor heating. This was a very cold July in South Africa and we were cold everywhere... except in this guesthouse. Putting your feet on a warm floor when you get up in the morning is a delicate pleasure. So this place is just perfect and I surely recommend it.

Room Tip: ask for sea view (you may see whales from the balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed just one night at On The Cliff. It was clean, spacious and comfortable. The hostess was charming and made the stay memorable. The location is wonderful. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

The rooms were beautiful. The hosts were lovely and welcoming. My only regret is that we only stayed for one night. It is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed, and would recommend any one to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Like a five star hotel. Beautiful right on the cliff. Close walk to town or the tuk tuk will pick you up and take you back. Wonderful breakfast . Hosts are welcoming and very knowledgeable about the area. Would stay here again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights during Easter 2012. The room and service were outstanding - clean, comfortable, huge and the views better than we imagined. Charmaine is very welcoming and friendly without intruding, and the breakfast very good. We managed to forget jewellery in our room, and Charmaine took great trouble to get it back to us in the UK. Simply fabulous!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tregony, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

What a superb 5 days we had at On The Cliff House with our friends. Charmaine & Hylton were exceptional hosts and made us so welcome in their beautiful home. What a sight we saw on our first morning at breakfast in the bay, hundreds of dolphins interacting with the whales in the bay, Charmaine & Hylton were just as excited as us as we all rushed across to the cliffs. Our room was excellent with everything provided that you could possibly wish. Thank you both for making our stay in Hermanous so exceptional. Elaine & Trevor

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to On the Cliff Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Cliff Guest House

Address: 42 Westcliff Road | Westcliff, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Cliff Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seafront luxury guest house with sea views from all rooms. Sauna, heated pool, pub, gym, guest lounges, bicycles and more. Situated with the cliff paths directly in front of the house and beautiful views of the whales in season from your room. Shark cage diving, whale viewing, diving, horse riding, fantastic beaches and lots more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your On the Cliff Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Cliff Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.