We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding guest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Gum Country Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Gum Country Estate to your Saves list
Blue Gum Country Estate
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Stanford | R326, Hermanus 7210, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 84 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“wedding guest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great family run accommodation , food good all rooms interesting and different nothing too much trouble . A really good wedding. Good Bri the day before and great setting . I would recommend the Estate and use it again.



  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Joe

Many thanks for the review - I appreciate the time taken. I am glad you enjoyed your time here and the wedding. I am glad you got to experience a proper South African Braaivleis cooked by a genuine South African! There is nothing quite like it in the world!

We hope to see you again soon

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    37
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
65
73
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

My fiancè and myself searched for months for a wedding venue. We are originally from JHB. So it was a mission non the less. But I must take my hat of to Anton from Blue Gum. From the minute we arrived, we were looked after like royalty. Drinks were brought to the pool for myself and my groomsmen. While my "now beautiful wife" was treated like an angel. Anton had his staff help set up from start to finish,for our wedding the day before.

We then had the most devine duck main course for our rehearsal dinner and then.....

The full wedding day was A Ma Zing...the food and service was absolutely the the best.... salmon and avo starters, with the best and I really do mean the best fillet steak. Cooked to perfection.

Our wedding day would not of been as PERFECT if not for Anton and his fully capable staff. Our every need was attended to.

Now, as for the accommodation...I have never been treated with such luxury, and my wife and I go away alot.

I hope you have as much fun and splender as we did.

And one last thing...Anton...we will be back in December, and we will be renewing our vows there in the next 10 year. Thanks for the most amazing stay ever.

P.S : Hermanus is one of the best places in Cape Town. Definitely a must see, stay for atleast a full weekend.

P.S.S: Anton - Thank you for helping out with every contact you had and all the help you gave us in the months coming up to the wedding, you were our life saver,especially us been up in JHB.

Thank
Enjoy
Nick Bailey

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Nick

Thank you so much for the lovely review - it was a privilege and an honour for me and my staff to be involved in your and Chantal's special day! It was one of the great perks of running Blue Gum, getting to witness two people joining their lives together and committing to each other! And, at least for the day, you were royalty in our eyes.

I shall pass on the compliments to the chef, I am happy the food met your expectations. Cooking 75 steaks perfectly is no mean feat!

We look forward to welcoming you in December for your anniversary - I shall make sure you are made to feel royal again.

Wishing you both a blessed future together (and many children)

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stopped at Blue Gum for 4 nights at the start of a 2 week long family holiday to South Africa and couldn't have been more pleased with the place. The service was superb, the food and wine equally superb, the rooms very nicely fitted out and the location a cracking place to relax and enjoy the peace. To top it all off Blue Gum also caters in a remarkably considerate way for young families, in that the family facilities are great - e.g. big open play area - but we were able to enjoy the place in such a way as to be of no disturbance to those without families, e.g. by doing early dinner for the children ahead of the main dinner service, and having the family-friendly rooms physically separate from the other areas. I had only dreamed that going on holiday with a 3 year old and a 1 year old could involve relaxation and indulgence but this is what Blue Gum achieves. Would highly recommend to those with families but equally to those without.

Room Tip: For those with young families bag the large room opposite the restaurant, has loads of space, is rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Chris

Many thanks for taking the time to review Blue Gum - I am so happy that you were able to have a relaxing time with us (quite a luxury when you have small children). I have 3 children of my own so I know it is rare to be able to feel comfortable and at ease at any establishment (be it accommodation or restaurant) so I am thrilled that Blue gum was able to offer this to you. We are tailoring the lodge to cater to the family market and to provide child specific entertainment and activities as well as meals, whilst still offering the weary parents a luxurious stay. We have another section of the lodge that is just for couples so we are trying to strike a balance.

We hope to be able to accommodate you again the next time you are in South Africa. Until then, safe travels

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This offers an oppertunity to relax and forget aobut the city life. service was excellent as well as breakfast. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained.
The gravel road can be bad if you drive a car. Sufficient to do in the area and on the farm. Nice get away place

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Elaine

Many thanks for the review - I am glad you enjoyed your time with us and were able to relax from the hectic life of the city.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed there for our 1 year anniversary and after a slight checking in problem the correct room was allocated to us and was everything we expected. We really enjoyed the farm feeling (insects and all) because it is great to break away from the city and just enjoy the beauty of our country and nature. The staff was really friendly and the stay great. Will definitely recommend to other couples - especially the honeymoon suite.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Fran9_H

Many thanks for the review, I am glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Apologies for the initial mix-up with the rooms, I do aim for everything to rum smoothly from the time guests check-in until the leave, but due to the nature of where we are situated we do experience the occasional hiccup with geysers, water, electricity, insects etc.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The location is stunning, the staff are friendly and the rooms are nicely decorated but the whole place is overrun with millipedes. I don't mean a few, I mean 10s of hundreds! They swarmed the outside doors and made their way into the halls, bedrooms, bathrooms and we're coming up the bath drains.
I couldn't sleep from sheer fear of the vast quantities. My sister, in another room was having nightmares, as it wasn't just our room that had the problem.
We also had a problem with no hot water in the room, rectified by letting us use another rooms facilities. Which turned out to have no taps on the shower!
They were polite and accepting when we refused to pay. It was a real shame that they are so over run with the tiny creepy crawlies because otherwise it's a lovely place full of charm.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCE, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear h_Crawford

Many thanks for the review, and my sincere apologies that it was more like a night from a horror movie than a relaxing holiday for you and your sister.

I appreciate that there are positive points to your review, I have passed these on to relevant staff. However, the stay was obviously marred by the millipedes. We affectionately refer to these creatures as "Songololos" in South Africa. They are found all around South Africa (including urban areas) but certainly not normally in the numbers you experienced.

Our policy is to thoroughly clean the rooms before guests check-in as well as when our guests are having dinner. A clean is also done the next morning when the guests are having breakfast (if they stay more than one night). Cleanliness is of out-most importance, so I can guarantee you lack of cleaning was not the cause. All my staff were busy sweeping them away basically 24/7. However, they just kept returning - from where? No-one knows. Today (2 days after you were here) there are very few to be seen. Thus your poor experience was unfortunately down to timing.

We have had a very wet summer and the water table is very high. This, I imagine, may be the cause. We are also on a very rustic piece of farmland. We are certainly not a sterile urban environment, we are very much a part of the nature here. Thus, unfortunately, bugs, creepy crawlies and insects are very much a feature of life that we (and most South Africans) have come to terms with. It is, obviously, a little strange (and scary) for people from a city environment or from another country when they are met with natures creepiest things.

I would like to point out to all that read this review that this is not a normal occurrence (as evidenced by the fact that this is the only review that has mentioned it in 7 years). This was a freak of nature and one that I really had no control over. Obviously it still caused you great discomfort and unease. Your husband did mention to my manager that there was almost a phobia type fear. Thus, I am certainly understanding of your comments.

Once again, accept my sincere apologies - and safe travels. Hopefully they will be bug free

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We absolutely loved our time spent at the Blue Gum Country Estate. From the friendly, welcoming service, to the exquisite room we stayed in- you can’t find a better place to spend a quiet, relaxing weekend away. We highly recommend it and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCE, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Hi SamanthaO

Many thanks for taking the time to review your time here at Blue Gum - we are thrilled you enjoyed your time here and hope to welcome you back very soon

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Gum Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gum Country Estate

Address: Stanford | R326, Hermanus 7210, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Gum Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Gum Country Estate is hidden in the valley that ascends towards the small town of Stanford, just outside Hermanus. The estate is a working wine farm and developing vineyard. This magnificent 130 acre piece of paradise is perfect for those seeking an alternative route and destination to the garden route or a relaxing break from the city. The delightful estate, nestled among ancient Blue Gum trees, overlooks the leafy banks of the Klein Rivier and encourages guests to relax in tranquil beauty and endless luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Blue Gum Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Gum Country Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.