We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in the country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Gum Country Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Gum Country Estate to your Saves list
Blue Gum Country Estate
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Stanford, Hermanus 7210, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 82 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Johannesburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We attended a family wedding at Beloftebos and needed somewhere close to stay. Luckily we stumbled on the Blue Gum Country Estate. We stayed in very comfortable and large rooms with a veranda with a view of the mountain. The estate is in a valley with a small river running through it and beautiful views. Hospitality was excellent and I would recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Bestmob

Thank you for the very kind review, we are glad you happened to stumble upon us - that is often the best way to find the best places. I am glad you all enjoyed your stay, it was a great pleasure meeting your wonderful family - we hope to see you very soon. When you tire of the hustle and bustle of Joberg give me a shout :)

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    32
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
62
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked the honeymoon suite for our 25th wedding anniversary. It was a good choice if a bit expensive.

The room was huge - lovely view, very large & private patio. Nicely furnished. It had a big bath in the bedroom - something that is very unusual in Europe but seems to be a design feature in South Africa. Lovely touches like candles by the bath, cheese, crackers & either sherry or port in the bedroom.

Two small negatives - very dim lighting such that you would strain to read a book & an overly friendly cat that decided out patio was his/her main hangout. Really these were small negatives.

Anton [our host] gave us a bottle of bubbles on the house to help celebrate out special occasion. An unexpected but very appreciated gesture.

We were the only guests so had the dining room & bar to ourselves. The food was good. Well priced.

Anton & Tarryn too over the estate in 2011. They are working really hard to make it a success. Anton & Margaret could not have been more helpful

Would we return? Yes.

TIP - It you stay on a Thurs, Fri, Sat or Sun - try to book Marianne's for lunch. It's in Stanford village. Important - you will need to book this restaurant well ahead. Lovely food, Amazing hosts

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Vicki and Derek

Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind review. We were glad we could host you on your anniversary and welcome you back as return guests!

We are always striving to improve our offering and service here at Blue Gum and welcome any constructive criticism. On your notes - firstly let me apologise. The cat that harassed you is my cat, Frank. He has migrated from our house down to the lodge because my toddler terrorizes him. He is very fond of eating cheese platters and knocking over lights - but he has now been adopted by our chef and is happy at his new home.

In terms of the dim lighting - our lights work on dimmer switches - the dimmer may have shorted out. We have sorted out the problem now, thank you for pointing it out.

Thank you for pointing out all the positives as well - it is greatly encouraging and rewarding. I agree with you on Marianas - A real gem!

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strand, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We walked in there, had one look, decided this is the place we want to get married. Had coffee with the owners Tarryn and Anton De Kock, and immediately liked them too, and the home made biscuits. The moment we left, we knew this is exactly where we want to get married and the owners organise everything for you. Booked our wedding weekend with them 2 days later and we cant wait to go back and stay, as unfortunately they were fully booked with our 1st visit, although we did get a tour of the premises and rooms. There is a beautiful big tree there waiting for us to stand under it; and do our wedding vows. We really cant wait to go back to Blue Gum Country Estate.

Room Tip: All great, but the Family Rooms are really worthwhile, and Blue Gum Country Estate is child friendly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Luaan, Shaughn and little Mila

Thank you for the sweet and gracious review. It is most kind of you to give us such high praise when you were only here for an hour or two. We are thrilled to be part of your special day next year - there is nothing that warms the heart quite like watching two people in love make a commitment to one another - and I can't think of a better place than our ancient tree (my wife and I tied the knot here too).

We wish you love and happiness until we meet again

Warm Regards

Anton and Tarryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I took advantage of one of those weekend deals and drove to the Blue Gum Country Estate. It is always with some trepidation that you make a booking and hope to arrive at Guest Accommodation that lives up to it's own marketing. In the case of the Blue Gum Country Estate, we were more than satisfied with what we found. From our arrival through manicured gardens and groves to the welcome we received in reception from our host Anton, we knew that this was going to be good. The accommodation excelled with the rooms being much more than rooms and were in fact spacious suites. We had the Elephant room (should have known!) which had it's own private deck with sunloungers and comfortable chairs for relaxing and sundowners with views across the farmlands watching meandering Springbok in the distance. The restaurant rivalled anything we had ever experienced with quality and imagination in the cullinary department (just as well as I'm fussy and eat like a horse!). Nothing was too much trouble for the staff as they catered for the most difficult of patrons being us. There was plenty to do if you wanted to do anything at all. We took our bikes and rode through the farmlands and tracks that pepper the area and took a long walk along the coast at De Kelders to watch the majestic Whales in the bay. Grab a coffee or two in the village of Stanford at Graze or picnic lunch at the Cheese Farm nearby. Would we return? Without question this Lodge passed the test and we would most definately go back. Thanks to our hosts Anton and Taryn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Simon and Margaret

Thank you for the great review, I am happy we lived up to our marketing - which is basically to provide our guests with amazing service, feed them so well they have to go to gym when they get home and to share with them the little piece of heaven we have here in the Overberg.

You are most welcome to return in the future, when you need a breakf from city life

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from an amazing weekend at the Blue Gum Country Estate. From the time we arrived Anton made us feel so welcome. The rooms are amazing - I wish we'd had more time to read the books and relax. Every detail was looked after, down to the chocolates on our pillows after dinner! What a quality stay. Recommended to everyone wanting somewhere off the beaten track that is quiet and peace filled. Food was also incredible as was the staff - we would love to return for a longer stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Jambesi

Thank you for the lovely review, it is most appreciated.

We always try to go the extra mile to make our guests feel extra special. it is those little touches that will stay with you and make for a great memory. We are thrilled you enjoyed the food - our chef is fantastic. I don't get to eat there too often, though, which is unfortunate :)

We hope to see you soon

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on 22-24 September, it is a fabulous place, my 20 month old son loved it too, food great(bit expensive though) but worth it. Good friendly service, i would definately recommend this place over and over again. pity the weather was not too good, but i would like to return when we have better weather to really enjoy this place more. Good Job with this place, decor is perfectly done, i love the lounge areas too. cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Candice

Thank you for the lovely review. One of our main goals is to create an environment that is exciting and safe for kids - so that the parents don't feel they need to constantly be on edge. Having to kids of our own we realise the importance of getting away and how important it is to have a kiddie friendly place to go to.

In terms of decor and interior design, my wife is the one with the designers eye and she appreciates the complement very much!

In terms of food we always aim to get the freshest ingredients as well as local produce from the area and even veggies and herbs grown on our estate and the neighbours farm. Shipping out to the country also increases food costs slightly but we still aim to be competitive in our pricing whilst offering food that is of the highest quality.

We hope to see you again, perhaps in the summer months

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a romantic weekend away and stayed in the Guinea Fowl Honeymoon suite. It was amazing! The service was excellent. I could not have asked for better. Friendly staff, huge clean rooms, everything was just perfect. Did I mention the lovely bathtub in the room (just lovely)...they even set the fireplace for us while we enjoyed our 3 cource dinner (which was devine). I loved the finer details in the deco. They really do make you feel special at Blue Gum and I will definately recommend it to everyone. I sure hope to go back very soon. Thank you Anton and Taryn, you guys are awesome. Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueGumCountryEstate, Owner at Blue Gum Country Estate, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Amiena and Anwar

What a lovely review! It really is most appreciated, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are always aiming to provide the type of service you received and place great importance on cleanliness and hospitality

In terms of the finer details, decor and general running of the estate I cannot take too much credit :). My wife, Tarryn, is the master-mind with the eye for design and detail. She will be happy that a fellow designer noticed these things

We hope to see you again soon

Warm Regards

Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Gum Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Gum Country Estate

Address: Stanford, Hermanus 7210, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Gum Country Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Gum Country Estate is hidden in the valley that ascends towards the small town of Stanford, just outside Hermanus. The estate is a working wine farm and developing vineyard. This magnificent 130 acre piece of paradise is perfect for those seeking an alternative route and destination to the garden route or a relaxing break from the city. The delightful estate, nestled among ancient Blue Gum trees, overlooks the leafy banks of the Klein Rivier and encourages guests to relax in tranquil beauty and endless luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Gum Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Gum Country Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.