We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value-for-money and position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon on Sea Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hermanus
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalon on Sea Guest House
Save
You added Avalon on Sea Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Prices from $75 per room
Ranked #42 of 84 Hermanus B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Value-for-money and position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Excellent value for money, well priced accommodation with perfect view of the sea from the upstairs room - was worth paying a bit extra for the view. Good position, close to town and an easy walk to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    48
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
63
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saanichton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Enjoyed our stop in Hermanus at The Avalon and loved that is was walking distance to town. Our room and bathroom were clean, we enjoyed the breakfast in the morning, had lots of choices. The owner was very helpful in suggesting restaurant options all within walking distance. Would recommend this as a place to stay. Great location, with secure parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Clean tidy guest house. Breakfast good. The owner Harold very pleasant and helpful.. Good location, within walking distance of the town for shops and restaurants. Excellent value for money. Rooms at the front of the house have great sea views.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spelle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed with 2 families and all the rooms on the ground floor were occupied by us, which was relaxing as the kids could easily walk from one room to the other. The rooms are spacious as well as the bathrooms. Our 3 wild boys enjoyed the plunch pool. Here we do not want to miss to thank Harald to give them the freedom as it was a bit noisy and wet! Thanks Harald! Breakfast is very good with cold cuts & eggs. Restaurants are in walking distance and whales can be seen right from the 1st floor!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Room and bathroom where clean. Breakfast was very good and we got offered bacon and eggs in all variances, fresh fruit salad, coffee and cereials. Location is very close to the city and you can view the whales in the bay from your breakfast table. Harald the owner of the place was super helpful and had always an open ear for all kind of enquiries and questions. Safe parking and safe rooms, so to sum it up, we had great 3 days at Hermanus and would come back next time again.
Roland

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Avalon was our second accommodation at our round trip. We had a very good experience here with a good and individual styled breakfast, friendly staff a very nice and helpful owner. Th location is quiet and just 5 minutes walking distance to the center. It is at the coastal road.
However we would recommend this place and would sleep there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had the upstairs room and you cannot imagine a better view. One could be there all year long just waiting for the Whales to visit the bay. Great location, fantastic view, quality breakfast, very friendly hosts !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon on Sea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon on Sea Guest House

Address: 1 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon on Sea Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner-managed Guesthouse, offering comfortable accommodation in Hermanus. Avalon on Sea is located directly on the sea front and is within easy walking distance from the centre of Hermanus with its fine restaurants, craft markets, shops and the world's only Whale Crier. Enjoy the "Park and Walk" life-style by leaving your car in the secure car park and walking the short distance to most of the attractions in Hermanus. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon on Sea Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.