We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to the holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus to your Saves list
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hermanus
Sauchie, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great start to the holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

after an 11 hour flight on an aged BA Jumbo jet with crap seats and arriving 3 hours before check in time in cold wet weather, we were immediately impressed with how the stops were pulled out to get our rooms ready early so we could quickly recover from our trip. We stayed in the annexe and the rooms were huge with everything you could need. Breakfast was excellent and the best of a high standard on our trip. The view from the dining room is superb, and the main building has a fantastic olde worlde charm. Hermanus itself is great so all round this was a great start to the holiday. Every member of staff we encountered was friendly, professional and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    142
    43
    14
    9
See reviews for
66
301
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles, Belgique
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

amazing view, full of charm, huge rooms, bathroom with shower and jacuzzi..... for the price paid, great value ! to recommend
great massage service
quiet, peaceful, breakfast place nice with view on the ocean
helpful personnel
would go again without any hesitation

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Such a lovely place! Amazing views and a beautiful bedroom. We had the Honeymoon Suite on the top floor right next to the Dining Room. Stunning room, complete with a tea pot.... lovely attention to detail, beautifully decorated. Food was delicious in the dining room, both dinner and breakfast and the staff couldn't be more friendly, nothing was a problem. We were made to feel very welcome in the hotel, and the lobby is rather awesome! Wish we could have stayed another couple of days. Don't miss this one on the Garden Route!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel is full of character, the rooms are huge, the bathrooms had all the amenities, but, the balconey with an ocean view was a bigger treat. We enjoyed watching the occassional whale swim by close to shore so that they were clearly visible. Breakfast is served on the top floor and what could be better than sitting at a window table drinking coffee and again watching the whales. Well worth a visit and a stay when travelling from point a to point b

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Coming back to Hermanus again we also came back to Misty Waves. The same fabulous rooms and now with a good dinner restaurant. Always stunning view from the breakfast windows on top of the hotel and possibilities for a morning walk along the cliff path.

However, we suggest that the hotel management upgrade their information folder as it now gives a very negative feeling that guests have a tendency to take along 'whatever' in the room at department. Otherwise as good as always.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annex are almost as good as the ones in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

"Come as a guest, return as a friend" says the notice in the foyer. Misty Waves has ensured that we shall do just that. This was our first visit and we were treated with great indulgence and friendliness. The hotel is beautifully appointed - perhaps a little to Rococo for my taste, but it exudes luxury. The pool was a joy.
The only quibble is the restaurant (which we only ate in only once). On the manager's recommendation we had a seafood platter which was very ordinary and unexciting, and at R360 rather expensive. But there are so many excellent restaurants in the area (Burgundy!) that eating around was no problem.

Room Tip: 505 is a luxury room. Ask for something in the little Heritage section in front of the hotel. Much m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Luxury! Huge room, beautifully furnished, massive bathroom with jacuzzi bath + separate big shower. Also had a large balcony overlooking the pool and across the road to the crashing waves. So restful and great for whale spotting. Everyone very friendly + helpful and hotel only a short walk to the town. Lovely breakfast with an equally superb ocean view. The only place to stay on our next trip.

Room Tip: room 503 - fab room + fab ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The popular Waves Restaurant for buffet breakfasts with stunning sea views and the new WAVES Restaurant for Lunch & Dinners with cosy fireplace. Enjoy the Sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.