We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus to your Saves list
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Hermanus
Reinach, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this hotel and we must say that it was fantastic, wonderful room, very friendly staff, and very good breakfast buffet. Once we will be back in South Africa we will definitely stay again in this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Awarding us a five star is magnificent and the personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff as we usually do,and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
Would love to welcome you back!
Kind Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    131
    40
    14
    9
See reviews for
61
283
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

From the moment we arrived, the service from the staff was exceptional. We were upgraded upon arrival to a suite with a great viewing area. They had recently opened a restaurtant in the Hotel, and the food was so good we ate there two nights in a row...awesome prawns.
Breakfast is in cluded and has a lot of great options including eggs cooked to order.
Location is just a few minutes from town, so it was very quiet.
We were there for the Whale Festival and for the nearby cage diving.
Would definitely stay there if in the area again.

Room Tip: Cattle Baron has some great steaks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. The personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff as we usually do,and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
Would love to welcome you back!
Kind Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Us four girls stayed here for one night whilst driving the garden route. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms were luxurious and spacious, with a balcony in one room and a lovely conservatory in the other. The food was wonderful, with a good variety of menu, and the breakfasts were lovely. The chef even made us pancakes because we were celbrating our 50th birthdays! The jacuzzi was great, and we apologise for the singing in there!! The staff were wonderful and the hotel was amazing. We will definitely return on our next visit.

Room Tip: Our rooms overlooked the pool at the front of the hotel. Definitely recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest

We thoroughly enjoyed your singing:)
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Awarding us a five star is magnificent and the personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff as we usually do,and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
Would love to welcome you back!
Kind Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights, room 502. Partial view of the water, better than most, but there are other rooms with a better view. Cold rainy week, our room heat did not work well, the staff found a stand alone heater, very nice. Breakfast was done well, staff was always there to help. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the center of town. We were there for the whale Festival, so it was nice to be a distance from the noise. We were there with a friend in a wheelchair, they had a room on the first floor and were able to get to the dinning room on the floor above.

Room Tip: Room 501, great view, but it is a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel.
There were terribly cold spells throughout South-Africa at a stage. For the first time in many decades Table Mountain had snowfalls twice this year.
Usually our heating systems and air-conditioning does the trick.
Would love to welcome you back!
Kind Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here one night, while visiting Hermanus, The hotel is located just in front of the beach, a great location! The room was big, nicely decorated, with very comfortable bed and big bathroom. The living room had a sofa and TV as well as dining table. Since we needed to leave early in the morning they prepared a breakfast for us and left sandwiches and fruits on the table in our room for the next morning. They even have a parking place for cars in the back yard. The only downside, they don't have computer for guests but do have free wi-fi. We enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest

We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Awarding us a five star is magnificent and the personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff as we usually do,and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
We actually have two small business centra with FREE WIFI and computer facilities.
Would love to welcome you back!
Kind Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights earlier this month. Very good hotel with stunning views and very helpful staff. Sam goes out of her way to assist with local details. Quality of the rooms are very good, decor is very tasteful the only negative we found was eating in one evening the staff seemed a little dis-organised but the food was excellent. Would certainly return

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Manager at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. The personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff as we usually do,and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.The Restaurant very recently changed ownership - but at this stage runs smoothly and receive many compliments.
Would love to welcome you back!
Kind Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed at the Misty Waves hotel for 5 nights last week for a Workshop. The staff provided great service and excellent meals. Everybody went out of their way to ensure gustes had a great time. Nothing was too much trouble and all the guests agreed that we will be back for more! The views alone is breathtaking and the service to go along with it makes this very good value for money! i cannot wait to take my wife!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeyontravel, Owner at Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest
We sincerely appreciate your fine comments on Misty Waves Hotel. Especially the FIVE stars we received from you:) The personnel , managers and owners totally appreciate this as they constantly try to achieve each and every goal of delivering an outstanding service on every possible level to the satisfaction and expectations of our guests.
We will convey this to all the staff as we usually do,and they will be very appreciative for recognizing their contribution to make your stay a pleasant experience.
Would love to welcome you back! Just contact me directly (Maxie) when booking next in order to arrange a special reception for your wife:) Such as chocolate fondue and floral decoration in the room.
Kind Regards
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus

Address: 21 Marine Drive, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Hermanus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Family Hotel in Hermanus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hermanus
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hermanus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misty Waves Boutique Hotel**** Lie in bed and watch the whales from your ultra luxury suite. Amazing new additions done to the already stunning hotel! Very impressive Penthouse Level Suites like most rooms with magnificent views on the whales in season. The popular Waves Restaurant for buffet breakfasts with stunning sea views and the new WAVES Restaurant for Lunch & Dinners with cosy fireplace. Enjoy the Sun heated pool and whirlpool or the private Jacuzzi! Just a four minute walk to the historic Hermanus Village Centre with craft markets, Whale House Museum, Old Harbour Museum and 30 plus excellent restaurants to choose from. Hotel also arranges a variety of nature experiences such as water rafting, water tubing, shark cage diving, whale watching in season, forest adventures such as tree top sliding, rock climbing and scenic quadbike trips through the Hemel & Aarde with world famous wine estates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Waves Boutique Hermanus
Hotel Misty Waves Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misty Waves Boutique Hotel Hermanus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.